Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Christmas 2016 in Bonaire

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Rooms have high ceilings but are old and have been retrofitted with airconditioners that work well but sit on the hall walkway. Clean, comfortable.
Cons: Have to lug your gear and luggage long distances. all inclusive meals very structured times but variable meal quality. not much to do on Christmas
Location: You HAVE to rent a pickup to get around especially if you are diving. Don't expect much help with luggage either at airport or at hotel.
My wife and I decided to spend Christmas in Bonaire this year at the Plaza Resort. We selected the Plaza because of its proximity to a dive operator, Toucan Diving, that our local dive operator who certified us (Barclay's Skin Divers Paradise) has strong ties with and recommended. The Plaza also has a casino and is fairly close to town. Toucan Diving VERY GOOD clean, shipshape with excellent experience, great layout to shop and facility, good dive boats. Most divers dive out of pickup bed and just go site to site: every 100yards is a new named divesite marked with a yellow rock with a name on it. . we heard some log 16 dives in 7 days which is a bit over the top for us. We did two dives and a lot of snorkeling. Don't forget you have to buy marine park tag to dive $50pp Our best underwater photos came from snorkeling:octopus and fish 20 ft from shoreline in close. Don't miss the Bonaire Donkey Sanctuary or a trip to Lac Bai to sit in the dive bar and watch the windsurfing. Also the huge Cargill salt farming facility with the flamingos is cool.Take some pics on the barren wild north shore and see the ancient indian inscriptions. Coffee sucks for Americans on Bonaire: recommend you bring your own! People very nice. Did not have feeling crime was a big issue. If you are not a diver, you may run out of things to do on Bonaire. Entire north section of island is national park: good for hikers and photos: otherwise skip it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice resort with excellent snorkeling

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The room was great. Air-con worked well, and the place was clean. It did not smell like pesticides or cleaning products, which was great.
Cons: The food was one thing that could be improved upon. Meats were overcooked and salads with mayo- yuck (tuna, egg, crab). No local cuisine like goat.
Location: Small island: downtown shopping and restaurants, snorkeling, diving, seeing flamingoes, and just relaxing! We didn't do one of the many excursions.
The resort was literally 5 minutes from the airport, but you hardly heard airplanes coming or going. Plaza beach had lovely huge rooms with an awesome bathroom - huge bathtub and separate shower. The water was wonderful with amazing snorkeling just a few feet from the beach. Water shoes are a must though because there are a lot of coral lining the beach. This is not a smooth sandy beach, but very pleasant. It was really quiet, until the cruise ships came in, and the resort lets in a group. The food was okay. If you are an American, don't expect pizza, fries, or standard American cuisine. The meats were unfortunately overcooked, except on BBQ night when it was excellent. Know that you have to ask for ice cream for dessert (they don't tell you nor offer it, unless you ask!). It rained quite a bit, but it was rainy season. It rained mostly at night, but a few times it came down hard in the middle of the day. It only lasts a short period. Unfortunately, it did make the mosquitoes pretty bad - and the worst was around the reception/lobby. Downtown is a very quick 5 minute ($10) taxi ride. Unfortunately, it wasn't so easy to get a taxi and we waited sometimes 30 minutes for a taxi to arrive. The back gate or the front reception can call a taxi, which was really nice. We are planning on returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like a dream oasis right at the beach ...

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: Erverything, especially the staff is wonderful!
Location: Snorkeling, Diving, Swimming, Sealife ...
Super nice Hotel, very family friendly, right at the beach, spacious rooms, all wishes (from the kids, too) will be fullfilled. Extraordinary good snorkel and diving spot, with very supportive and friendly staff. Unbelievable good chef de couisine, who magically created the best breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets we ever had. The staff at the food venue was always super friendly and extremly endeavored to fullfill every wish you could possibly have. Every night there was some special event that gave each evening at the beach a certain wonderful, unforgettable touch. This hotel is like a little paradise on an not overpopulated, nice, quite and beauiful island. A superb snorkeltour at with the woodwind crew made the entire vacation even more unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Superb location with good facilities

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Beach and access to snorkelling. Facilities on site were limited but took advantage of scooter hire.
Cons: Service could be a bit sharper in the restaurant although hotel staff were helpful and efficient
Location: Good location for beach access snorkelling.Dive shop offered good diving facilities. Good snorkelling across island but requires independent travel
The resort had beach access with good snorkelling direct from the shore. It was clean and tidy with good facilities. Food was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad and Tobago

Plaza Beach Resort review.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Close to the airport. Town is 15 mins walk away. Not alot of activities for young children. Snorkeling and diving is excellent straight from the beach front. Not normal beach front with nice walk in bathing area. Alot of coral. Hotel staff could be a little friendlier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad and tobago

Posted Jul 20, 2016
It's located 5mins from airport and transportation to and from hotel was easily accessable. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very spacious and clean. This hotel lack facilities for kids and to beach bar is located away from the pool.
5 out of 5
by Kathy from New York

Midtown Paradise

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We had a beautiful suite, with a great view of the city. The bed was very comfortable, and the amenities were superb. The room service prices are absurd, but if you're spending that kind of money on a hotel suite, it's to be expected. I told the lovely gentleman who delivered my food that my BFF and I were having a night away from the kids (we live 15 minutes from NYC. He reappeared 10 minutes later with a complimentary tray of desserts. How thoughtful and lovely. That kind of extra touch means a great deal -- I'll be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dissapointing, it is nasty, old and has bugs

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: The beach is really nice, the staff as well, excluding the cleaner, she didn't do her work. The personnel from the travel office very rude and di not
Cons: Cleanness, food, travel office service.
Location: Nice location,
The room has a disgusting smell, there was a cockroach in the bathtub and the cleaner did not take it away after two days. The cleaner mopped the room and that was all, did not clean the bathroom, very poor cleanness. The food was very regular and limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Nice resort on the beach!

Posted Jan 5, 2016
My husband and I stayed at Plaza Beach Resort in Bonaire for 3 nights. This was our first trip to the island. We enjoyed our stay. The all-inclusive option was very nice. The restaurant had a nice selection of food and the staff was friendly. It did take a little while to get served a drink at the bar, but we were patient. My husband was able to scuba dive for the first time and the snorkeling at the resort was fabulous! I have never seen so many beautiful fish just off the shoreline! I would recommend this hotel. The location is right next to the airport (we walked) and only a 15 minute walk into town. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the masquitos. I was bitten 32 times on my legs during our stay. I sprayed myself with bug spray often but they were very bad in this area. However, I think the masquitos are bad in general right now on Bonaire. My husband and I spoke with other guests staying at nearby hotels and they had the same complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no wifi

Posted Jan 3, 2016
no wifi connection even though advertised all room wifi. all inclusive does not include water, and they give us quota of two at a time. terrible.