Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from france

we left after 4 hours.

Posted May 31, 2017
Driving to and in resort is scary, you are hanging on a cliff in a very very narrow -one car- road a mile in the sky. I am a good driver but couldn't avoid scraping the rocks and ruining the right front end of my rental car as I climbed up the zigzagging 70 degree road from the restaurant -which was closed -back to our unit. I couldn't imagine what would happen if there was another car coming down as we were driving up, it would've been an accident as the road is for one car. NO wifi service period in the unit. We had 2 towels only and NO shampoo . There's is a mini market in the resort which was a joke...,they open limited hours and didn't even sell drinking water or shampoo. the next place to buy anything is 10-15 miles away if you survive driving. There's a tunnel you could walk down the Beech to town but walking back up the cliff will be very tough. We were asked to take out trash before leaving and wash dishes if we use them.!!!?? I dropped the keys in the mailbox and left 4 hours after arriving. I have left 2 hotels in my entire life of traveling after Checking in , this was number 3.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Peaceful location with budget in mind

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Levanto access to Cinque Terre. Great pathways to surrounding villages & Levanto. Pack your hiking shoes or hire a bike from one of the villages.
This accommodation was comfortable. clean and had fantastic ocean views. It was in preparation for winter shut down but we just wanted a quiet and clean place to stay - this place delivered. Access to Cinque Terre / Levanto is good but you must like to walk! Pathways to Bonasolla & Levanto were beautiful. Surrounding villages are great too. Was great value & would recommend - don't expect the Ritz - just enjoy the surroundings, which are stunning. Staff were friendly too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland, new zealand

Dirty and not equiped for an "apartment" status

Posted Sep 29, 2016
The setting was beautiful and accessible. But the resort was run down and we had to buy a lot of things that should of been provided which added more of an expense to our trip. Lots of broken things including toilet seat, etc
4 out of 5
by Robert from Denver, CO

Peaceful with Views

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Hotels
The location was remote, but beautiful and quiet. There is a nice walkway along the coast into Levanto, and it is flat and easy once you get down the hill—but hills are the point of Cinque Terre. The services on the hotel grounds are in good condition, but are somewhat limited especially as to when they're open. There really is no beach, although there is access to the sea, and it is very pretty. The beach at Levanto is only a short (20 min?) walk and it is extensive. The restaurant at the bottom of the hill has a limited menu, but is pleasant. Again, we went into Levanto and found many restaurant options. Sitting on the terrace overlooking the sea in the evening was fantastic. Almost all of the house have a terrace available. This peaceful oasis was a nice change from the hustle/bustle of the typical Italian cities. The access to the ferry and the Cinque Terre is great. You either need your own car to get there, or take a taxi from the train station (about 15-20 Euros in June 2015).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view, but extremely inconvenient.

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: The view
Cons: Shuttle service would be amazing.
Location: Beautiful view, not much nearby
La Francesca, while located in a beautiful spot, should really only be considered if you drove in. Otherwise, the hike in and out of Levanto isn't practical, especially after a full day of activities. We ended up cabbing every night (€15-20 depending on who you get). The facilities themselves were clean, but probably more suited for the '80s. They require that you clean your own dishes or there's a pretty heavy fine. Front staff was very kind though, and helpful. The experience wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't recommend it if that makes sense.
2 out of 5
by Marge from North Carolina

Posted May 26, 2014
My stay was in late May and both pools were closed. Nothing at the so called resort is easily accessible. It takes about 30 minutes or a 15€ taxi drive just to get to Levanto train station. Then you must get on a train in order to get to Monterosso. Not a good location at all.
4 out of 5
by Megan from Vicenza, Italy

Remote and calm

Posted Sep 27, 2013 on Hotels
The La Francesca resort is located in a beautiful area just north of the more-famous Cinque Terre refuge. However... The walk to the nearest train station to get to Cinque Terre proper is 40 minutes, which isn't easy for older folks. The resort itself is an entire section of hillside, but each cabin is old, with 1970s decor. Their restraunt was good, if a bit pricey, but good - the problem is that to pick another place to eat, you'd have to travel quite a ways because the resort is a bit remote from any other restraunts. There really is no service to speak of - they don't have maid service. The cabins are in passable condition - not falling apart, but definitely need a sprucing up. The rooms don't have climate control, so windows must be used - which is nice, but it makes the rooms and beds damp from the ocean air. It was fairly easy to drive to, but I certainly wouldn't recommend taking a train to this resort because you'd have to hoof it quite a ways. Overall, beautiful surroundings, and nice resort - but who goes to Cinque Terre just to stay in one remote place and not visit the rest of the cities? It was very overpriced.
3 out of 5
by Karin from Asker

Resort near Cincque Terre

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels
We wanted to see Cinque Terre, and chose to stay at La Francesca. I would rather have stayed in Bonassola or Levanto for this purpose. La Francesca was a bit off for us. PLUS about La Francesca: Beautiful location, very quiet, great pool area. MINUS about La Francesca: very expensive and poor quality of rooms (it is no more than 3 star). We booked a room With sea view - but too many large trees all over the place, and we could not see the Ocean at all. Strict rules and little flexibility.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels
Pool is always close, if you don't have a car , it's a problem because the personal don't care about you and you Will havé to transport your luggage alone in the mountain . The don't transport you at the train station as they write on there web site.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out of the 60's

Posted Jun 25, 2013
This is not a four star hotel. We slept on a foam mattress. This was not a pleasant place to stay.