Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The hotel is clean, tidy and the room was comfortable. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. I booked breakfast for the 4 days of my stay and must say that it's the best I have ever had. Good food with fantastic choice. The Hotel is within walking distance of the Metro and shopping district which is a bonus. Well done Vila Gala Porto. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast is excellent value at €8 and they provise gluten free bread and cakes on request
3 out of 5
by Vivian

A nice enough place to stay....

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel would have ben quite grand in its hey day! there has been some work done to bring this up to date with a welcoming foyer. rooms are a little dated but very clean as are the bathroom facilities. Breakfast is fine with a good variety and is fair value for money. Location would have ben grand up till the crisis as it appears to have been located amidst a bustling shopping area which has now closed down. there is a major bus station just below and it was a concern that the staff could not tell me which areas the buses serviced. walking distance to the centre of town so great in that regard. just looks a little desolate as it stands today. there is a fair amount of construction in the area so a resurrection is on the horizon which would be great. The pool was great!! Whilst indoor it was large and the views were breathtaking! the staff appear to lack some confidence when dealing with customers though having said that Mario was absolutely lovely upon my checkout!! stored my luggage without issue and was probably the friendliest and most experienced of staff I can across during my stay. all very lovely though! the hotel has its pros & cons but overall i was not dissatisfied staying here and would stay again in Lovely Porto which is a magical place for anyone to visit!! I fell in love with this city!!
4 out of 5
by Mathieu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great stay for a few nights

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
We did not study the map properly! Travelled into the centre by Metro which took a while as we had to change trains. We could and did walk once we discovered it was not too far, a 15 minute walk into the centre. Plenty to do for a short break and you need to explore on foot. Lovely pool in the hotel, the reason we chose the Vila Gale as I wanted an indoor heated pool. Nice breakfast with plenty of variety. The area appears to be a little run down but it is a City, it is quite safe and there is a lot of work going on in the area building and the roads and footpaths being improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel quiet area, near metro.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Clean and good location
Location: Near metro Half hour metro from airport - good
Rooms and bathrooms were good, staff were lovely. Good breakfast buffet. On our last evening we decided to eat at the restaurant for convenience. The only snag was restaurant staff were not overly nice. as vegetarians we faced the usual unfair attitude that restaurants seem to have the world over. If you order meat or fish main you get lot of side veg rice etc along with your main. If you are vegetarian people think you eat a small meal and live on air. We ordered risotto and as expected a bowl of risotto was plonked in front of us. Nothing else. Besides it was so bad we gave up after 2-3 spoonfuls. No questions apologies nothing. My friends ordered fish and had rice and veg along with it! Of course we ate there on our last day just for convenience. On other days we had great meals in lovely restaurants in Porto.
4 out of 5
by Heather

Good hotel. Quite far from sights

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with good size rooms and bar food available. Convenient for metro to airport but quite a walk to scenic part of the city.
5 out of 5
by Marcio

a great option for a hotel near the center

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
it was perfect