Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington

Great hotel close to Appalachian State University.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Location: This is Boone. Lots of interesting restaurants and shops in downtown Boone, a short drive away. And of course hiking, and skiing nearby.
This hotel had a lovely lobby area with lodge-like features such as a large stone fireplace. The room had two queen beds, and a sofa sleeper plus an additional desk and upholstered chair. Although we did not use it, there was also a mini kitchen with microwave, sink and mini-fridge. The breakfast was above average for these types of things with the usual waffle maker as well as warm eggs and biscuits and gravy. They offered snacks and wine the evening but the time did not work for our group to try it. I enjoyed the lemon flavored ice water they have in the lobby for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Nice hotel. Nice & clean facilities. Big breakfast. The eggs were awful though, either carton eggs or microwaved. But the rest of what they offered was good. Nice space for breakfast. We stayed on 2nd floor where the breakfast area was located. You could smell the bacon cooking in the morning. Which I liked. My only real complaint was we stayed on the street side of the hotel & it was a lot of traffic noise all night long.Which seemed to bother me more than my wife. If I stayed again I would stay on the back side of the hotel. But overall it's a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, Va

Nice Hotel in Boone

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Good value for the money. Convenient to downtown Boone. Lots of choices for the free breakfast.
Cons: Can think of anything.
Location: Boone is a great place to shop unique stores down town. We went hiking on the Blue Ridge Parkway and also white water rafting via a local provider.
Second stay at this hotel. It works well with the three of us (Dad, son and daughter) with the 2 queen beds and sofa bed. It is always clean and the staff is always friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boone, nc

Just what we wanted.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The stuff was very friendly, the room was clean and we enjoyed it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty Dirty Noisy HOTEL

Posted Jul 17, 2016
From the moment we pulled up to the hotel the feeling of the place went downhill. Right at the entrance of the hotel were you pull up and unload your car there were about 5 very strange looking people hanging around the doors smoking. We checked in and got to our room. There was a very funny funky musty order In the room. All was good Until about 10:00. We were getting ready for bed and the people above us sounded like they had small kids running back and forth in the room and jumping off the bed. We figured it would stop as it got close to bed time, but at 11pm it was still going! We called the desk to ask if they if they could do something and they said they would call. This continued for quite a while even after the desk called, so they offered to move us the next day to the upper floor. Thee next day we moved our stuff up, but we didn't do anything in the room till later that evening as we had a full day of activities. We had to break out the disinfecting wipes again to wipe down the bathroom as it was gross. The wipes were brown after wiping things off. My daughter got into bed and looked at the sheets and there was BLOOD on them! And the comforter! The sheets hadn't even been changed!! Here it was 11:30 at night and we have to wait for someone to round up clean sheets and come change the bed! The clerk was very nice about it and apologized profusely but it still should have never happened. The next morning I had to ask to speak with a Mgr. and asked to be comped the roo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Overall nice hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Game room (we had children).
One of our rooms developed a water leak. Staff immediately got us another room and gave a discount for that room. Some games in game room didn't work properly and one not at all. Breakfast was great. So was pool. Was close to both Grandfather Mountain and Blowing Rock. Overall enjoyable stay. Beautiful lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Stayed one night

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Good value for a suite.
Cons: Halls are dated but i think they're about to renovate.
Free breakfast very good value. Beds extremely comfortable with linens top quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
The staff was polite and helpful. Our Room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Very nice, better than average for price.

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Great facilities and amenities for a 2.5 star hotel. Also great location too downtown Boone & surrounding activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Larger than average room, bring you own coffee mug

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Location: We drove to Elk Knob State Park to hike to the streams that are the headwaters to the New River.
This hotel offers rooms with 2 queen beds and an extra nook with 2 chairs, a desk and a sofa bed at a very reasonable price. However, at breakfast, the coffee cups and cereal bowls offered are styrofoam, and the utensils are plastic. The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful.