Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
The staff were super helpful and kind. The property is older and as such it's difficult to control the temperature in the room. The breakfast was good. Overall, the stay was just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2016
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salisbury, NC

Nice Hotel, close to Down Town..

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Staff was very helpful..
Cons: Rooms a little updated..
Location: Location was just steps to Downtown Blowing Rock, which made it Great..
The 1st room that we were assigned to was not ready so they[Management] upgraded us to a suite. Very Comfortable room. The stay was very rewarding, will stay at Hillwinds Inn again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

What a gem!

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Cute hotel nestled near local restaurants and breweries all in walking distance. Given the price I was shocked how nice it was and the staff was great. I also liked the rocking chairs outside every room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Blacksburg, VA

Good hotel overall.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Cons: Air conditioning. Central air would be better than a small window unit.
Location: Excellent location near historic town center. It's Blowing Rock, right off the Blue Ridge Parkway, so there are all kinds of things to do.
An old but nice hotel. Excellent free breakfast and far more than continental. Very convenient location. Helpful, courteous staff. Comfortable bed. Keurig style coffee/tea maker with a good selection of coffees and teas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Good location in the town of Blowing Rock

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: The proximity to town Nice breakfast
Cons: Update the room?
Location: Downtown area has the Sixpence tavern and very unique gift shops
The check in and out was very quick and easy The room was clean but had a 'musty' smell maybe from the window A/C unit The room was large with adjoining kitchen and bathroom. The cabin itself is quite old 60's era? And the furnishings are outdated as well. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and there was a good variety of items. We love the quaint town of Blowing Rock and liked the fact that we could walk easily into the downtown area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winterfest 2016

Posted Feb 3, 2016
We chose this hotel because it is pet friendly. We were in town for the Winterfest and the location was perfect. We were able to walk to the shops and restaurants which is great because parking in Blowing Rock can be a challenge. Our room was clean and nicely decorated and a very comfortable bed. Would stay there again and looking forward to our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thomasville NC

Walk to beautiful downtown Blowing Rock!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: They didn't have our reservation we made online with a travel site when we arrived but were able to accommodate us with a cottage. Nice upgrade.
Cons: Check in is only 3:00 to 5:00, would be better if longer hours but they will work with you if coming in later.
Location: Downtown shops and park. Also Tanger Outlets is just down the street.
This was a quick getaway for the weekend. This hotel was within walking distance to downtown. The manager's reception was a nice surprise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You pay for location

Posted Nov 30, 2015
You pay for the location with this hotel which is within easy walking distance of downtown Blowing Rock. The breakfast is just all right and our bathroom wasn't cleaned even after telling the front desk associate after our first night. I would probably give other hotels in the area a look before I booked with this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Rocking chair on front porch.
Location: Great location to downtown.
Short stay with family.....everything was great! Would stay at Hillwinds again when I return to Blowing Rock.