Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winston-Salem, NC

Comfortable and Serene

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Its ambiance was perfect, a rambling old farmhouse arranged to impart a feeling of having arrived at home. Very comfortable, well-furnished room that
Cons: I can't think of a thing!
Location: Valle Crucis is located between Boone and Banner Elk with all of the attractions of these towns and Blowing Rock very nearby.
This is a cozy and comfortable inn, beautifully located near the Mast General Store in Valle Crucis. We visited for an anniversary celebration and found our hosts to be friendly and accommodating, truly going the extra mile to make our stay a wonderful experience. The room was immaculate and the bathroom well-stocked with nice, thick towels. We had a corner room and the view of green meadows and mountains was lovely. Breakfast nearly defies description except to say it was delicious and very plentiful! We would stay there again and hope to do so!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Fantastic Personal Service in a Warm and Cozy

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The innkeeper was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast service rivalled that of a hotel!
The Taylor House Inn made a spur of the moment trip become very memorial. I was a great location to stay. It was close to everything (within a short drive), but it was private enough so that you could really enjoy being out in the mountains. The room was very large and comfortable with a huge king size bed. The breakfast was served with such flair each morning is was almost like being at a fine restaurant. The entire house was still decorated for Christmas and each room had a special touch. It was just beautiful to look at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Expecting More

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The setting of this B and B is very lovely. There is a valley across the road which had deer running around in it every morning.
Cons: The condition of the room and the overall grounds need to be improved. Dead plants and rotten pumpkins were in the garden area and repairs are needed
Location: Boone and Banner Elk are not far, which was great for us. There is hiking, restaurants, shopping, and lovely things to do for a long weekend.
This B and B was very highly rated so we took a chance to stay there instead of a traditional hotel. For the price, we were expecting more in every way than what we received. The room had several issues. It was not as described on the web site, since we were right next to another room with a very thin wall and the room next door had a dog. Then the shower backed up and we were unable to use it for the entire first day. The heat was not set correctly, so the first night we were freezing only to be roasted out at 5:00 a.m. when a second heater came on. We could not control the heat as the settings were in the other room and we did not have access. The breakfast was mediocre and was not served until 9:00, which was not what was presented to us from Orbitz. That was really late for us as we wanted to get our and enjoy the area each day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nc

2 night stay in cottage

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Hiking, local restaurants, billiards, gem 'mining'.
Peaceful, restful environment. Excellent innkeepers. Very clean and pretty room. Well prepared breakfasts. Spotty wifi in cottage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami,Fl.

Excellent location in Valle Crucis NC

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location and B&B charm
Cons: none
Location: Mast General store down the street.
Amazing B&B in Valle Crucis NC. Close to all things to do in this area. Beautiful home and wonderful host. The breakfast was first class. I will recommend to anyone visiting this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, United States of America

Skip the hotels - Stay here!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Setting, the grounds and the area around the inn are just about perfect, I would love to see it draped in snow this winter
Location: Boone and Blowing Rock for those looking for meals and shopping, The Blue Ridge Parkway for scenic vistas and hiking
On the National Register of Historical Places, this beautiful old inn is found in a perfect setting and the grounds are well maintained and have very nice touches here and there to increase the attractiveness what is naturally gorgeous. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. No TV (thanks, we appreciate not hearing it, a nice break from the election coverage and ads) but there is internet if you just HAVE to work or check your social media.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
We were very disappointed in this B&B. This is the only B&B that we stayed at that did not have a TV and we have stayed at quite a few. TV is nice for the weather and local news, things to do, etc. Yes, we have a cell phone but it's not our best friend. No managers reception where people would get together for maybe an hour in the evening just to meet and greet and ask the innkeepers about the house and area, etc. The only time we saw the innkeepers were when we had a question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, Nc

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The house was beautiful. Inside the inn, the furnishings were nice. Great front porch. Free wifi. There is little cell service.
Cons: Cell reception was non existent making it dificult to find things to do, however as mentioned above the inn offers free wifi
Location: In a beautiful valley. It's on a rather busy 2 lane highway. So there is quite a bit of traffic. Boone and blowing rock are 20-30 minutes away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Lastminute
This accommodation was very ok for our needs. The owners were very helpful, recommended a lovely local restaurant for dinner and provided a delicious cooked breakfast. The location was perfect for our needs - our drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Inn was very nice, rooms and bathrooms were clean,

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Close to attractions without being in the center of tourists and traffic.
Cons: Internet connection in rooms was unstable but was available in the common areas.
Location: Close to Boone, Beech Mountain, and Tweetsie Railroad.
Rooms were cozy and comfortable. The Inn is well maintained, with common areas available for relaxing.