Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold and needs updating

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
The Victory chimes room was terrible. It was noisy and very cold and drafty. So uncomfortable we decided not to stay the night. The inn does not have reserved parking you have to wait for the pub to close then try to grab a spot in front.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Could be so much better

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Orbitz
This is more a B&B with an quasi absentee owner. Well managed this could be a nice property. The pros: - location. - large room with a large bathroom. - comfortable bed (although ours was very high and could be difficult for some people to climb in). The cons: - no office that you can go to to deal with any issue; you have to email the owner to get him to respond; when you call the number indicated on the guest information booklet you get an answering machine and our call was not returned; - steep staircase which may make it difficult for people who have trouble climbing stairs. - no microwave (but the owner installed one in a common area after we spoke to him) and small fridge which, strangely, sits on the floor rather than on a table. No coffee machine in the room but there is one in a common area. - Orbitz' and Expedia's information was not correct (they said breakfast was included when it apparently was not but the owner gave us credit for it). - heater and fridge were very noisy. - Direct TV did not function properly. - cleaning lady threw away things she should not have dealt with but left dirty towel lying on the floor outside the room. - furniture seems like things found at a flee market and thrown together in a room Overall, we stayed in similarly or even lower priced but much nicer and better equipped inns during our trip in Maine. This could be a much nicer place if it were better managed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Bathroom
Cons: More or brighter lights in room.
Location: Walking distance to shops.
Inn was not as charming as photos showed. Entry was dingy and stairway carpet was stained and smelly. Room was very dark and need more lighting. Bathroom was very pleasant, large and towels were fluffy. Staff very outgoing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and a good value

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The inn is vintage and charming. The kitchen & other area were being renovated as the inn is recently under new ownership, so the dining room was not available. But coffee was available in the small lobby. We were told the dining room will open in early Nov. We stayed on the third floor in the Heritage room which we enjoyed. It had a love seat and occasional chair for relaxing and books on the shelves, as wll as a TV. Other rooms we saw looked spacious. We will check it out on our next trip to Boothbay Harbor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Do not stay here

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: A young man gave us an excellent suggestion of where to have dinner.
Cons: Bed, plllows, tv, ambiance,breakfast, had coffee and only one cup, no common room available, and of course a functioning toilet would have been great
Location: Weleft the next day
No one to greet us, just an envelope with incorrect instructions, dreadful bed and plillows, no breakfast and never told prior to visit, tiny awful tv, toilet had to be rechained on arrival and ran every time it was flushed during our stay. Overall awful and couldn't wait to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, MA

Very close to downtown. Easy parking. Nice room

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: clean and quiet
Cons: some updating would be good
The room could use some updating. The door to the bathroom could only be closed using the old hook and eye so the door latch didn't work. Kind of cheesy for a B and B. Breakfast was very good. The place is very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vintage Inn feel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the area and enjoyed walking all over the town. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed as that was why we initially picked Thistle Inn. Our room was very nice and the bathroom amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola

Walking distance to docks and shopping.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, food was good.
Location: Close to downtown and shopping. Very walkable.
Brenda and Max were both nice, helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Dark rich coffe and juice. We were in the loft room and it was updated and spacious. The angles of the roof took some getting used to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Hartford, CT

This place needs help

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Good location in town. Good breakfast. Inn not in good condition. Especially grounds. Third floor rooms cramped.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So Disappointing

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at this Inn many times and I was looking forward to the same kind of stay service and room that I had before. Unfortunately this Inn has fallen into a state of disrepair. The bed in our room had either no box spring or no mattress. It was so hard that it was hard to tell which was missing. We were switched to another room - better but the toilet paper holder and a towel rack was about to fall off. The owner did come to try to fix it but we were there so he said he'd come back. He never did. The restaurant and bar were closed - a huge disappointment. Brenda did try to make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately she was not the owner and had little to work with. I hope that this Inn returns to the beautiful, clean, comforting place I remember. Unfortunately I can't recommend it to anyone at this point. For the price and the condition it is in, it certainly wasn't worth it.