Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Bathroom
Cons: More or brighter lights in room.
Location: Walking distance to shops.
Inn was not as charming as photos showed. Entry was dingy and stairway carpet was stained and smelly. Room was very dark and need more lighting. Bathroom was very pleasant, large and towels were fluffy. Staff very outgoing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and a good value

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The inn is vintage and charming. The kitchen & other area were being renovated as the inn is recently under new ownership, so the dining room was not available. But coffee was available in the small lobby. We were told the dining room will open in early Nov. We stayed on the third floor in the Heritage room which we enjoyed. It had a love seat and occasional chair for relaxing and books on the shelves, as wll as a TV. Other rooms we saw looked spacious. We will check it out on our next trip to Boothbay Harbor.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Do not stay here

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: A young man gave us an excellent suggestion of where to have dinner.
Cons: Bed, plllows, tv, ambiance,breakfast, had coffee and only one cup, no common room available, and of course a functioning toilet would have been great
Location: Weleft the next day
No one to greet us, just an envelope with incorrect instructions, dreadful bed and plillows, no breakfast and never told prior to visit, tiny awful tv, toilet had to be rechained on arrival and ran every time it was flushed during our stay. Overall awful and couldn't wait to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, MA

Very close to downtown. Easy parking. Nice room

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: clean and quiet
Cons: some updating would be good
The room could use some updating. The door to the bathroom could only be closed using the old hook and eye so the door latch didn't work. Kind of cheesy for a B and B. Breakfast was very good. The place is very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vintage Inn feel

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the area and enjoyed walking all over the town. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed as that was why we initially picked Thistle Inn. Our room was very nice and the bathroom amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola

Walking distance to docks and shopping.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, food was good.
Location: Close to downtown and shopping. Very walkable.
Brenda and Max were both nice, helpful and friendly. Good breakfast. Dark rich coffe and juice. We were in the loft room and it was updated and spacious. The angles of the roof took some getting used to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Hartford, CT

This place needs help

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Good location in town. Good breakfast. Inn not in good condition. Especially grounds. Third floor rooms cramped.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So Disappointing

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
I've stayed at this Inn many times and I was looking forward to the same kind of stay service and room that I had before. Unfortunately this Inn has fallen into a state of disrepair. The bed in our room had either no box spring or no mattress. It was so hard that it was hard to tell which was missing. We were switched to another room - better but the toilet paper holder and a towel rack was about to fall off. The owner did come to try to fix it but we were there so he said he'd come back. He never did. The restaurant and bar were closed - a huge disappointment. Brenda did try to make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately she was not the owner and had little to work with. I hope that this Inn returns to the beautiful, clean, comforting place I remember. Unfortunately I can't recommend it to anyone at this point. For the price and the condition it is in, it certainly wasn't worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mediocre Inn within walking distance of Booth Bay

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Bed, sheets, towels. Housekeeper was pleasant.
Cons: Need new rugs and better upkeep of area near the back entrance. Need more pleasant staff to meet visitors on arrival
Location: Good location 2-3 blocks from Booth Bay Harbor. Good Chinese restaurant is very close.
The Inn had no reception. We rang the bell several times and waited. Eventually, an unidentified person came out of the kitchen and gave us our keys. The rugs in the hallway and bedroom were very worn. The door to our room was right next to the main door and I was concerned that it might be noisy but it turned our that the rooms were pretty air tight except for someone who was knocking loudly on the outer door in the middle of the night. The bed was comfortable as were the sheets and towels. The shower had poor air pressure. There was all kinds of debris around the back entrance to the Inn. The pancakes for breakfast were good but slightly burnt. The restaurant was not open.
4 out of 5
by Havah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels