Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: The setting
Cons: Room needs to be refurbished. ~10 years old and it shows. Airport transportation should be reasonable or free.
We really enjoyed this hotel. The setting could not have been any better. Overwater bungalow with panoramic views was everything as described on website. The bungalow itself is a little dated. At 10 years old it needs refreshing especially for the price of the room. We found this hotel to be the most expensive on our month long vacation to the South Pacific. The boat transportation from the airport to the hotel was more than $270 for the round trip. The ride lasted 12-15 minutes. We thought this was unnecessary and extremely high for a service provided by the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Stéphane Massarini , Hotel Management
Dear Rita, Ia Ora na from Bora Bora ! We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home. Thank you for such a rewarding review, it is delightful to read how much you enjoyed your time with us at InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa. We are thrilled to know you found the location excellent. We are facing the majestic Mount Otemanu and we think it is a great privilege to have such a view. We also appreciate your feedback about the airport transfer. Our resort is located on a motu (small island) and the only possibility to access the hotel is by boat. In Bora Bora the shuttles are made by suppliers which charge the service to the guests. Also, we would rather take care of our guest upon their arrival than let them go to the resort via the main island. This way, we are sure we provide the best arrival experience possible. Thank you again for sharing your memories and recommendations with us, we look forward to welcoming you again soon in our resort. Mauruuru roa, Stéphane Massarini, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience staying at hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Staff friendliness
Cons: Room air circulation, i.e. coolness, but I heard from the locals that a short time prior to my arrival, the hotel a/c system broke.
Location: Scuba diving and jet ski available on-site (fee) and hotel provides other water activities equipment (no fee).
The hotel is located outside of the mainland and requires a boat ride to and from. I really didn't mind this since I enjoyed being secluded. For the most part, it's a free boat ride that runs on a schedule, execpt around dinner time which will cost a fee. The boat will take you to the sister hotel (Le Moana) and outside of Le Moana there's an AVIS car rental, so you can rent a small car and drive around the island if you wanted. When you get to the main road for Le Moana, there's a convenience store a short walk away to get your knick-knacks. The expedia excursion I've done, picked me up directly from the hotel dock. Look for the happy hour time to drink up. If you are looking for recommendation on staying on mainland or ouside of it, I definitely preferred the outter islands. We happened to walk to the other side of the hotel where we could see the waves, you can't see that with staying on the mainland since the sorrounding water is very calm. Also, if you are traveling as a family, I would recommend staying mainland since there's a shuttle boat that will take you there for free and the boat rides can get costly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Stéphane Massarini, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora We would like to extend our most sincere thanks and appreciation for sharing such nice feedback about our Resort and our dear associates ! Your global appreciation is detailed and will certainly help the Expedia community. We are so honoured to receive such praises and acknowledgements. It is truly rewarding when our Guests recognize our commitments to offer high quality of service. We trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again to this beautiful island paradise of ours. Mauru'uru roa, Stéphane Massarini, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

95% good. 5% bad.

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great place, but boat taxi to main island should be free at all times like other Bora Bora hotels offer. Also $137 one way boat taxi to airport way too expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jeffrey, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora Thank you for your fantastic review regarding your stay at the InterContinental® Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa. We are really proud and happy to learn we managed to meet your expectations in all terms. Thank you again, we are looking forward to welcoming you again : as we say : "Good things always happen in threes". Mauru'uru roa, Stéphane Massarini, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Dimitrios

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dimitrios, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora Thank you for the 5-star review! We believe that we have the best team in the business, and we are delighted that you agree. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and received outstanding service. There is no better reward for us than to read such a review. Thank you very much for your trust, we are proud to have reached your expectations. We are grateful for your support and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Mauru'uru roa, Stéphane Massarini, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonyme, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora Thank you for the 5-star review! We believe that we have the best team in the business, and we are delighted that you agree. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and received outstanding service. We trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again to this beautiful island paradise of ours. Mauru'uru roa, Stéphane Massarini, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing location

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Bora Bora is a stunning location and the hotel is a perfectly located with an amazing view of main island and crystal clear waters
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heaven on earth.

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
The resort is paradise! The bungalows are huge and glorious. The only let down was the quality of the beach bbq, it was underwelming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, 'Ia Ora na from Bora Bora Thank you for the 5-star review! We believe that we have the best team in the business, and we are delighted that you agree. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and received outstanding service. We are grateful for your support and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you again. Mauru'uru roa, Stéphane Massarini, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible location and the "huts" were amazing.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: The facilities, the location, the rooms.
Cons: The restaurants seemed like they needed more staff and the food could be improved.
Location: We did a 4 hour snorkeling trip and tour around the island in a private boat - best experience ever!
Bora Bora is an amazing place and the Intercontinental is in the best location on the island. The staff and service fell short. The meals are very expensive but the food and service in the restaurants didn't live up to expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Stephane Massarini General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Ia Orana from Bora Bora Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. All of us are delighted to learn that you have fully appreciated all the aspects of your stay and we heartily welcome your nice compliments as a fantastic reward. We feel sorry that you did not appreciate the quality of our menus which are highly appreciated by our European clientele and majority of our international guests . Your comments will be debriefed shortly with the head of department concerned and is receiving my personal care. We trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again to this beautiful island paradise of ours. Stephane Massarini, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

paradise

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Our stay was like a dream, the hotel was more better than we expected, i highly recommend for everyone :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Stéphane Massarini, General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Kamo and Stephy, Ia Orana from Bora Bora Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on this platform. We are so pleased to read your stay at the InterContinental Bora Bora Resort and Thalasso Spa has exceeded your expectations. It is also delightfull to see that you had a fantastic romantic dinner. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in a near future Mauruuru roa, Stéphane Massarini, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mel

Best hotel ever before

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Wotif
Great hotel location and very nice staff in hotel, service are also very good.