Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Amazing Bungalows....but that is it!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: I loved the overwater bungalow & the view!
Cons: The staff! They need to train them that customer service/satisfaction is most important.
Location: The location is perfect! Amazing view of the mountain and about a 30 minute boat ride to the main island.
My first impression of this resort was "wow! we are in heaven"! The bungalows are amazing!!! The only annoying thing was you have to put your keycard in to keep the electricity on (make sure you get an extra). Other then that, which isn't a big deal the room was perfect and cleaned everyday. My complaints start with the staff. I couldn't believe how rude there were. They all acted like you were inconvieniencing them. At one point we asked for some ice and she just flat said no. We asked to make a dinner reservation somewhere and they said no. There were 2 bartenders at Miki Miki that were amazing, 1 girl at the activities desk, and the wedding coordinator that were very nice to deal with. Outside of that, it was awful! We would actually wait for Miki Miki to open to avoid the rude staff at the other places. There wasn't any English channels on the TV and not much to do. Overall we were pretty bored the whole time. Everything was extremely overpriced too! $24 for a hot dog! And that was a cheap meal. They even charge you for water! Nothing here is free. You pay to use the phone, you pay for the airport shuttle, the main island shuttle, everything! I couldn't believe the prices, but Bora Bora is known to be expensive. The excursions are all super expensive too! Nothing here isn't overwhelmingly expensive! When we got our bill there were extra charges on there. Specifically a turlte donation, they just add what they want on there. So make sure you double check your bill
5 out of 5
by Todd from New York NY

outstanding - pricey, but a nice treat if you can

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
final leg of our honeymoon, amazing views. Even the stormy rainy windy days were gorgeous. the local wildlife was enchanting, little crabs, fish, eels, bi-valves of all sorts, corals. wonderful staff, comfortable surroundings, and exotically picturesque. Stick to the seafood, always - eat other stuff when you get back. Bring plenty of booze from LAX, good Rhum mixes well with the local juices. OH! and a good well-insulated tumbler!!!
5 out of 5
by Tia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel!

Posted Jun 14, 2016
My husband and I had such an amazing time! Everyone at Le Meridien was friendly, attentive helpful and warm :)
4 out of 5
by Stephanie from Jacksonville Beach, FL

Le Meridien Bora Bora Spectacular Views

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
We were here for 2 nights, the hotel staff were extraordinary, the views were some of the best of all the motus, and the atmosphere was great. The only draw back was that the food was average to below average. Everything else was 5 stars!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kona, HI


Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Spotless rooms. Also, the staff was excellent. Everyone was friendly and made you feel like you were a "special" guest.
Cons: No improvements needed!
Location: The location was breathtaking! There were many options regarding special tours, etc. and the hotel made your reservations very efficiently.
The Le Meridien is a fantastic resort. You're greeted upon your arrival and escorted to a room where you're served a cold drink and a cold cloth to refresh you from your travels. The over the water bungalows were even better than advertised!! Beautifully decorated with a tropical style bathroom, a glass floor to watch the fish swim by. The bed surrounded by a wrap around curtain was pure bliss. A ladder leading down from the bungalow to the water was fantastic. Worth every penny!
3 out of 5
by Angel from Miami

Bora bora getaway

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel had a great location. The view of the mountain was amazing. But the overall hotel is pretty run down and needs to be restored; especially the pool bar area and guest areas. Rooms were nice. Service overall was nice but if you could spend a couple more dollars and stay at the st Regis or the intercontinental. Both were ten times better and definitely worth the difference. Le Meridien is definitely not a 700 dollar or regular price of 1100 dollar hotel that they claim to be. Hope they make it better as it definitely has potential with its location and views are great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benton, Arkansas


Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Like everything on a remote island, be prepared to pay a hefty sum for your food.
If you cannot be in a good mood staying in Bora Bora then you just can't be happy. Overall, a great experience. The staff were attentive and helpful, the rooms were exotic, the food was better than expected, and the location is absolutely stunning. If you are walking into this deal looking for reasons why this shouldn't be a 5-star hotel then you will probably find a few. However, if you go into this excited about taking a (usually) much needed vacation to a lux remote island mostly reserved for celebrities then you will enjoy yourself thoroughly. This is a once in a life-time type vacation and life is short. Spend your time enjoying it rather than complaining like I see typically on this website. Don't let the 'nay-sayers' fool you, or scare you out of going to Bora Bora and more specifically staying at this resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Too hot to handle

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: - staff are fantastic, especially in the restaurant areas. - food is very high quality and delicious - the location has magnificent views
Cons: - king bed was actually two twin beds pushed together, this created a gap; beds were also hard - need a-la carte breakfast, not only $50USDpp buffet
Location: Pretty isolated as it is on an island, boat transfers to the main island aren't cheap at roundtrip of $40pp
This is a stunning resort, which I would love to give a 5 star rating BUT can't due to the lack of air-conditioning. For some this is not a deal-breaker; for us, being in a room that topped 27 degrees Celsius (even overnight) was stifling and prevented us from being able to relax, cool off, and sleep well, and contributed to feeling nauseous, dizzy and generally unwell. We were reluctant to open the doors and windows given the mosquitos (rooms are equipped with mosquito netting around the beds, and mosquito repellant – given the Zika outbreak in Tahiti several years ago, we wanted to minimize exposure). We spoke to the hotel who sent the maintenance man on several occasions to fix the A/C, with no success. Additionally we asked for a fan, only to be told there weren't any on the resort. After complaining more, we were offered another bungalow which, unfortunately, suffered from the same issue. We were not the only couple to encounter this problem—the couple staying next to us also moved rooms, which we overheard was also due to a lack of A/C. We were told that A/C rarely worked in French Polynesia due to the tropical climate and extreme heat, and that the bungalows are over the water & receive “reflected heat” from the lagoon. Unfortunately, we had just spent 4 days in an over-water bungalow in Moorea (which was 5 degrees warmer), and had fantastic A/C at that hotel. It was only when I threatened to check out that (miraculously) a fan appeared.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sac, ca

Great snorkeling

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The remodeled units are great!
Cons: Food was expensive and with limited selections.
Location: Shopping, snorkeling.
The newly updated rooms are fabulous. During our stay we were required to switch to an older unit due to construction issues in the new area. The old unit was dated with some minor annoyances. Restuarant and food choices were very limited due to construction issues. Getting back and forth to the main island gets expensive. Might be 5 star after construction is complete.