Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was in Paradise.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Went to the resort for honeymoon that I've waited for a year after the wedding. It was great! Staff was nice and friendly and welcome gift was awesome including huge fresh coconut. Room was great Except a few minor problems like one of the sliding doors to the bathroom was difficult to be moved and the other one was too flimsy. Also, A/C was good ONLY in the room as there were open windows with a screen in toilette & shower room so bathroom/sliding doors had to be closed all the time. Bathroom will be moist and damp due to this. Food was great! I heard complaints about food but personally it was way higher than my expectation. Seafood and entertainment were amazing. Location was perfect (if you like a quiet location and like to snorkel). If you Canoe for 5 minutes around the island, you can find the snorkel hotspot right away. Or you can walk or snorkel there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, Hotel Management
Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hyattsville, United States of America

Excellent Vacation

Posted Nov 22, 2016
This place I will call paradise, if you can afford it and don't mind too long of a flight. Then this is one of the best places in the world that I was blessed to visit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, Hotel Management
Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Detached and private.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
As per description, this hotel is on a small island 5 minute boat ride from main island. Swimming, eating and relaxing is about all you can do at this hotel without going across the lagoon. Bungalows are roomy enough and functional but showing it's age.While we were there(9/17/2016 -9/22/2016), it was windy everyday and water was very choppy. Hotel is located on windward side of the lagoon and I think it's windy most of the time. Small corals are everywhere and can be uncomfortable to walk in the water without proper footwear. The wind and choppy water does detract from full enjoyment of Bora Bora experience. Breakfast buffet is very limited and it's worth the boat ride across the lagoon to sister hotel Marara to eat. If I were to go back, I would choose a different hotel with better location and facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Iaorana from Bora Bora. Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback during your stay at sofitel Private Island. We were very delighted to host you and thank you again for all the positive points you have mentionned in your comment. We are very sorry that you did encounter some conveniences, your opinion is very important as it allows us to improve our guests' experience. Thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you back for a "Magnifique séjour". Mauruuru.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect Place for Honeymoon

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Overall the Private Island was exactly what my wife and I needed after the wedding. The staff treated us unbelievably well and were very helpful and attentive. The beach and bungalow was also perfect for our honeymoon getaway. The restaurant was really good however I will say that they tend to be understaffed for dinner and at the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your great comment and for sharing your experience at Sofitel Private Island, we want to make this place So special because it is a So special place to be. Few people have the chance in life to experience such a magnifique Private Island and we are happy that you could join this very exclusive "club". Maururu maitai and come back soon !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

paradise

Posted Jul 26, 2016
friendly staff, good food, nice rooms, lots of amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Iaorana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort !
5 out of 5
by Aaron from Sacramento, CA

Perfect Stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Sofitel was our third overwater bungalow of the week in our trip through French Polynesia, and in some ways it was the best. Thought the bungalows are small, they are well designed, and beautifully decorated. The outdoors space and the swim platform were well thought out as well. We were extremely pleased with the food on the private island, and would highly recommend ordering room service for breakfast, because the spread is fantastic. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived to the staff blowing a conch shell while the porter played the ukulele. The name "private island" really means private. It was nice to not see other people for a while, and if you needed to go ashore, it was fast and easy (and free) to get a boat to the main island. We loved our time here, and will not hesitate to go back on future trips. I don't know what you get at the St. Regis or Four Seasons for 3 times the money, but it couldn't possibly be worth the money by comparison.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Iaorana and thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island ! We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! Thank you for your amazing description of our little piece of Paradise ! Maururu !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

A Must stay for Bora-Bora

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: The staff was awesome, especially Tati and Clementine in the restaurant. They would make sure you are satisfied with your dining experience.
Cons: I would suggest a beach waiter who would also service the water bungalow patios. That would put this joint over the top.
Location: You have plenty to do, or just nothing at all. The choice is yours.
The Sofitel Private Island hotel was magnificent. It is a bit pricey but if you're traveling for a special occasion, it's well worth it. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The water around the hotel comes in three shades of blue, it was something off of a postcard. So serene and relaxing, it was truly paradise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your Magnifique experience with us ! We are very delighted that you have found your Paradise in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island. All our teams (particularly Tita & Clementine) would like to thank you for such a fantastic feedback. Maururu maitai and come back soon !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Absolutely the most amazing place on Earth!

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Everything was great. 2 beer, 2 water, 2 sparkling water, 2 cola, and 2 fruit juice restocked in your mini bar every day. Free activity rentals also
Cons: The food could be better, but it was perfectly fine
Location: Within walking distance of 3 other hotel restaurants, another 4 or 5 indy restaurants, and a grocery store. And the Coral gardens behind are great!
The Sofitel Private Island is amazing. Actual 5 star staff, service, rooms, grounds, etc, and the best part is the private and free shuttle during the day whenever you want to get to the main Island. This is a huge bonus as I believe many of the larger resorts charge extra for boat trips, or only do them a few times a day. Free SUP, Kayak, and snorkel gear as well, plus within walking distance of 3 other hotel restaurants, another 4 or 5 independent restaurants, and a grocery store. All help to keep your costs down in a very expensive place to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Iaorana from your Private Island in Bora Bora ! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us, we were very delighted that you had a good stay and to have hosted you. Your feedback is very important for us as it allows to improve our guests' experience with all the considerations of your remarks. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Seclusion

Posted Jun 8, 2016
I highly recommend staying at the private island and bouncing back and forth with the Sofitel Morana. Amenities and privacy a hard to beat combo.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Iaorana from Sofitel Bora bora Private Island ! Thank you for sharing your experience !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Breathtaking place with royal treatment

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Stay at the private island it was such a wonderful experience. The staff greets you upon free boat transfer from the airport with music and welcome drinks and immediately make you feel very welcome. The overwater bungalows are everything we ever dreamed of, and seemed to be just as good as more expensive options at other resorts. The room has snorkel equipment stocked and ready for you and kayaks are out on the beach ready to take whenever you want. The coral gardens with good snorkeling is just a few minute paddle away. The island is quiet and romantic and has a nice restaurant and small bar, but if you want a little more action, there is always a boat to the Marara resort where you can use their pool, restaurants, bar or have access to the town or restaurants with a short taxi ride. Booking activities from the Private Island staff is easy and everyone is so helpful and friendly. Bora Bora was our dream honeymoon location and Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island make it just as magical as we could ever imagine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Iaorana from your Private Island ! Thank you so much for your Magnifique comment ! We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you back in the future. Mauruuru !