Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A 2 star in a very central position

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Central position, cleanliness and friendliness.
Cons: The whole hotel needs to be upgraded to more a modern standard-ie. more than one plug socket in my double room, for instance.
Location: Shopping, Opera House, trams , Cite du Vin- Bordeaux tourism.
This hotel is very clean, simple, and in a central position, surrounded by expensive shops, yards away from tram line B. The staff, whilst being very friendly, and helpful, speak almost no English. The buffet, at E 8, extra, is sufficient. I think that it is pitched at provincial French, and businessmen, who just need a quick, inexpensive, overnight stay. There is no lift, just a staircase which leads up to the first two floors, which, also, seems to double as the emergency exit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great hotel for budget minded traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Bed is ok not great.
Location: Easy to walk to cathedral and museums. Numerous restaurants and shops nearby.
Hotel proprieters were welcoming. Room had all that I needed. The location was convenient to many attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Small hotel with great value breakfast

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The location, staff and breakfast were amazing and great value for money.
Cons: There was a noisy neighbour my last night, but I couldn't tell if they were outside or elsewhere in the building.
Location: Very centrally located in Bordeaux, this hotel is walking distance to the shopping arcades, tram line, restaurants, cafes and a supermarket.
I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel de France, the hotel is very well located and the staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast provided was the best value breakfast I found across all of France and the room was neat and tidy. Rooms are up 2 or 3 flights of stairs, so you need to be fit and healthy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster

Great!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Great little hotel in the perfect location! Would highly recommend. It's not fancy but it's all you need to enjoy your stay in Bordeaux.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay. Room at front was a little noisy until quite late but overall pretty good.
5 out of 5
by Jocelyne L.

Hotel de France

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was very central, easy access. Yves was always there to help & available for any questions.
3 out of 5
by Kathleen

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
the staff are incredibly helpful and attentive.
5 out of 5
by Kimberley

Brilliant

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Brilliant central hotel, owners very friendly and room spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend for exploring Bordeaux Central.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for the city sights

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
No fire exits only exit was stairs to the front desk down a spiral staircase.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris, France

Centrally located convenient hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: location, location, location and cleaness and simpleness
Cons: remove the desk and make a room feel more spacious. breakfast was kind of ok.... could be better?
as it is centrally located I could easily walk to many places, then come back, have a bit of nap then go out again. I took two different winery tours so the meeting point was always at the central touring information office, which was about 5 mins walk. It was great. Very convenient BUT the room was very small. My room had two single beds but I could not have any place to do push ups and crunches on the floor, it was that small. all in all, it was tidy and clean, simple, nothing special but had everything I needed, and great location so I could definitely use it again. If you don't expect anything fancy, then highly recommended.