Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunderland UK

Below Expectations

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Kitchen facilities.
Location: Little to do nearby. Use tram/bus for access to facilities.
I fell out of love with this hotel the moment I learnt that my 'chambre fumeur' was in fact a 'chambre non-fumeur', that to open a bottle of wine would require a trip to Reception to remove the cork, and that the absence of a work-surface would prevent me from preparing even a very simple meal; and so, overall, that the reasons for my choice of hotel had been almost completely neutralised. In the interest of balance, the living/sleeping area and the bathroom were very clean and offered room for storage (unlike the wholly inadequately equipped 'kitchen') and the telly worked - essential when your opportunity to take a glass of Bordeaux rouge and a Benson & Hedges has been somewhat curtailed. Location is deceptively good - transport is excellent, at least for access to the town centre and environs: The tramstop is 3 minutes away and if you buy a btc (Bordeaux Transports en Commune) "Tickarte" - 12euros for a 7-day one - you have unlimited use of buses; use the 'Lianne 1' for getting to/from the airport after you've got your 'Tickarte' from the Relay shops on the upper level of the airport). You don't have to go the great 'Mériadeck' complex (3 tramstops away) to get you provisions (perhaps the bigger apartments offer adequate cooking facilities?) you can get basic foodstuffs just round the corner opposite the tramstop, as long as you are willing to pay twice what it would cost at Asda or Tesco - and bear in mind shopping for food in France is always relatively expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from us

Clean hotel/apartment but extra charges are ridicu

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Spacious clean room/studio apartment
Cons: Update the rooms, remove ridiculous extra charges
Location: Bus stop nearby, cafe near building, grocery store nearby
Clean hotel/apartment, spacious and well equipped but the extra charges are ridiculous. 5 euros per hour before 3 o'clock checkin even if room is ready. Also I wanted to change to a room not facing the traffic and graveyard but they wanted 8 euros for a room not facing the street/graveyard. It's not like the other side was facing a beautiful pool or courtyard so I'm confused why they wanted 8 euros. Besides that the apartment was good. so I give it a rating of 3 for the unnecessary charges.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DK

Reasonable barebones apartment easy to centre

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The apartments are ok. We however had a fridge that never worked over 4 days - negated benefit of apartment over hotel - and never managed to get their unusual wireless system to work so internet connectivity was low. Also in the common area trying to connect required crazy password and involved a "process" every time. There is no French charm to the place - not that it should be expected in a chain. The staff was very nice, particularly on the phone before arrival. If you did a long stay for work, it does have lots of storage and the AC worked well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Nice location with good connection to centrum of city, very practical is small kitchen on the room. Hotel should be clearer about internet rates and prepare better connection system to internet (you have to register nearly each connection). I as non french speaking person received guest conditions in french to sign.
2 out of 5
by Travel Nut from Canada

Good location but not very clean.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Location is great: very close to metro-train station, convenience stores, restaurants. Only 20 min. walk to get to historic downtown.
Cons: Management... posted signs, lackadaisical cleaning staff point to poor management involvement, training efforts.
Location: Best feature of this hotel (see comment above).
Although our entire 1-week stay was prepaid, at check-in we were presented with a full-length lease document to sign before getting the key... very off-putting. Obviously guests will not spend 30 min. reading before signing, and if the lease is unacceptable, what's the solution since they already have the money? If a lease acceptance is required, lease conditions should already be made available before the room is booked. The room was not clean: spider webs along the kitchenette ceiling, floors dirty in the corners, old chewing gum on the side of the sofa, etc. Room was cleaned once as per lease conditions, but we had to re-wipe sink area as a gritty film was left (no rinsing away of abrasive cleaner). Cleaning personnel leaves all dirty sheets, vacuum cleaner, etc. randomly spread all over hallways forcing you to walk through piles of dirty bedding and wrestle your luggage around vacuum and containers to get to and from elevators. Numerous signs in hallways and rooms mostly informing of additional fees if you do not clean up kitchen well enough before you leave and if you lose you key (65 euros for the latter). Management's attitude is abundantly clear from the lack of service they give vs. the service they expect from the paying customer. We had a suite with separate bedroom and the double bed was comfortable. But the sofa/trundle bed in the living room was very uncomfortable when used as a sofa.... the arms and back are just flat hard surfaces, no padding.
2 out of 5
by glenys from nz

Disappointing

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable. The room was clean
Cons: Proper wireless access, tea towels etc provided so you can wash up after a meal
Location: Lots to see and do in the city centre but nothing locally. There appeared to be some small cafes and restaurants not too far away
While some staff were helpful others were not. Wireless access is paid for and the modems may or may not work. In our case they did not and there were insufficient available for the guests to hire. We chose an apartment so we could shop at the market and prepare some fresh, local food. The kitchen was ok but once we had eaten there was no brushes or cloths to wash the dishes and no tea towel to dry them. The hotel is about 2 km from the city centre but the tram is frequent and just a few minutes walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Functional and comfortable

Posted Feb 9, 2014
This was a decent studio apartment within walking distance of the city centre and with the tram very closeby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michael from kent uk

Good self catering apartment

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Clean, comfortable and good staff
Cons: Wireless wifi needed
Location: Plenty of restaurants in the nearby centre, with quite attractive buildings and cathedral.
The Appart City apartments are located near the tram line A which goes into the centre so access is easy. The hotel was warm clean and comfortable with good facilities and very helpful English speaking staff. The apartment had a large bathroom and excellent shower and had a small kitchen area with a hob, microwave fridge and dishwasher. There is a supermarket round the corner so catering for yourself is easy. My only complaints were the bedroom area was cramped with the bed down but fine when it was folded back as a sofa bed. The second whinge is that only wired internet was available. It was free and worked well but not easy for phone or iPad.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A-M

Good for access to tram for sightseeing

Posted Aug 11, 2013
The room looks a little tired although remained clean. Nice location for getting the tram into town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jia from London, United Kingdom

Very good hotel for families

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: A good TV and air-conditioning.
Cons: Beware that the Internet connection is by cable.
Location: Centrally-located.
I got a room with twin beds. The room and the fittings are all good. It's just that it's slightly untidy in the corners and overall, maybe because of frequent use. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay.