Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with excellent staff!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Great hotel, great location, & even got to see Gordon Ramsey!! The food at the hotel in his restaurant was magically delicious!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from i

I broke my shoulder and lot of bruises over myBody

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Does not have requirments you expect to have in high standard hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely disrespectful, cold, and overpriced.

Posted Oct 9, 2015
I was on my honeymoon with my wife and we stayed in three different European cities and we couldn't find anything grand about our experience at the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux. The staff at the Grand Hotel de Bordeaux were rude and disrespectful to my wife, the concierge failed to fulfill our reservations or wakeup calls 4 out of 5 times, we were never welcomed when returning to the hotel after a long day, the hotel restaurant nearly forgot we were sitting at one of their tables and the food was the worst food we had on our honeymoon. To make matters worse, the hotel staff did not believe we were on our honeymoon replying, "people tell us that all the time," when we told them the occasion. All other hotels gave us a bottle of wine and some kind of personal note or gift. We received zero recognition from the hotel. To be fair, the Spa at the hotel is exceptional, and it was heavily used to escape the nightmare that was the hotel staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by johan Gouraud, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at InterContinental Bordeaux Le Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grand Hotel de Bordeaux & Spa, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. However I am able to read which are your complains more precisely in the way to address the problems and prevent any future occurrences. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Johan Gouraud Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel in great location

Posted Oct 4, 2015
The Grand Hotel is a classy upscale hotel in central Bordeaux. It has everything and spares nothing to make you happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2016 by Johan Gouraud, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Johan Gouraud Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Perfect location, lovely staff, valet parking

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Great central location. The staff were absolutely lovely, including concierge, reception, spa, restaurant. Valet parking service was invaluable (£35). Spa was well worth the extra £50 for two. Mini bar and buffet breakfast quite expensive (bottle of water €6 and buffet €38) but at least there was one and evening meals and lunches were good value. My daughter and I had a twin room with a seating area. The bedroom was only just big enough for the beds and the lighting in the bedroom was difficult to read by as very dim. And we had internally facing windows. So (at €315 a night) probably not the best room in the hotel (number 431)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel opposite the Grand Theatre

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Very central and close to the trams. Luxurious interior. Lovely being able to dine outside on the terrace and watch the world go by.
Cons: Different menus for lunch and dinner
Location: Very central and within walking distance of so many interesting sights.
we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have only one criticism - lunch and dinner menu was identical. However, the food was excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Average, not 5 star

Posted Aug 14, 2015
The hotel was beautiful, however there are lots of things they can do to make it feel more 5 star. Hotel staff are not very welcoming. Took forever for them to retrieve our car. The rooms are too dim and dark. In room dining menu has very few options. Michelin star restaurant was closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

elegance in Bordeaux

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: style, ambience, comfort
Cons: 10 euros for tea is a bit steep
Location: Don't use your gps. Bordeaux is a pedestrian city. gps tells you to go the wrong way down one way streets. Picture driving your car in a shopping mall
The room was beautiful and cleverly arranged. It seemed bigger than it was because the minibar was tucked into a small nook. Very attractive. The bathroom and toilet were separate, as you often see in nicer hotels with bigger rooms. The room decorations were ornate but inventive. Diana Vreeland would have approved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable City Center Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Location and decor.
Cons: The restaurant is about to be revised, I believe.
Location: Bordeaux is an interesting city and the open top bus tour was a good way to see it. Also, good part or whole day tours to vineyards.
We were driving to this Hotel and, while we could see it, it was very difficult to get to. Much of the City center has been pedestrianized and we faced numerous bollards before working out there was a Hotel button to lower one bollard into the ground! Our room was comfortable but a very unusual shape without space for our baggage for 17 days. The Hotel is very good for sightseeing and the concierge and bell hops were extremely helpful and fluent in English. The restaurant was good but the menu was limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great, but...

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Notwithstanding the above, we very much enjoyed staying at the hotel, enjoyed the Bordeaux outdoor restaurant, and found the staff very accommodating.
Cons: Coordination of hotel services. If the rooftop bar is open or closed, everyone should know. Think about the consequences of loud deliveries, etc.
We stayed in the hotel for 6 nights. Overall a great experience and would return, with one caveat: Our room faced the alley beside the hotel. Every morning at 6:00 a.m. or earlier, deliveries into the side entrance of the hotel would start, lasting up to 90 minutes. Unfortunately, the alley is paved with cobble stones and the delivery carts have the small hard rubber wheels that made the whole process a rattling, noisy, metallic intrusion. The hotel needs to come up with a better solution. Normally, this would not have been such an issue because the windows are locked and they are quite good at sound proofing. However, the air conditioning went out for 2 or 3 nights and so the hotel had to dispatch the key to open the windows so we could be comfortable. But no-one thought of the 2nd order consequences of the deliveries. After the A/C was fixed, by then we were extra sensitive to the rolling carts and they continued to be a problem. We were also unhappy to note that the roof bar was sometimes closed. One time we went up there to be told by a spa worker that it was closed. We mentioned it later to the concierge who told us that it had been open. Again, there was a lack of solid coordination.