Ratings based on 247 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room was very well appointed and comfortable.

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel perfectly served my needs, which was to provide a bed for the night in a peaceful location. I did not have breakfast, so cannot comment on it.
5 out of 5
by stephane from paris

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from faal

6 days in Bordeaux

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The location was not too bad. But 17 euro for breakfast is very expensive. No pool contrary to what's on website
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roomy (for France). Poor wifi

Posted May 19, 2016
Fair hotel. Not as incredible as previous Mercure stays (such as Ternes in Paris). A bit overpriced for the location (this is not particularly close to any tram station - 10 min walk at least). Room generally clean and roomy (for France). Wifi is horrible - outgoing data is basically nil, making it impossible to Skype/Facetime with loved ones at home, or even send emails with attachments greater than 500kb !!
4 out of 5
by Gerald from USA

smelly and noisy

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
First night at the hotel I was greeted with what was a horrible odor on the room. I thought it was sewer gas. It was not. I finally figured out that it was coming from the ventilation ducts. I shut the air conditioner off and slept with the windows open. I told the staff about this and it was fixed immediately. There was no smell after this. They did not seem to be a bit surprised about this smell coming from the vents, which means it is a common occurrence. Every morning I was awakened by the city trash collection of the hotels garbage. It was extremely noisy, including the sounds of trash being dumped, hydraulic lifts operating, workmen yelling and screaming, etc. I was staying in the old section, which is right above where the garbage is collected. This would explain the smell in the room, etc. I would recommend you ask not to stay in the old section/wing of this hotel.
5 out of 5
by chris from Chicago

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel. wasn't extremely close to anything, but a little walk gets you to where you can get food, shopping, etc. Nice room, comfortable bed. Exceptional hotel service. I had a packaged that was delivered a few days after my stay and the staff have taken care of getting it to me instead of refusing the package like many other hotels have. only complaint is no 24hr restaurant.
3 out of 5
by Barbara from Cours de Pile

Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is so-so. Room was comfortable, but I think for central Bordeaux it should be updated. Restaurant not great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Out dated, dirty and had bugs in the room

Posted Aug 23, 2015
First, the good. The rooms were fairly large, the parking was easy and seemed very secure and the lobby is huge and interestingly decorated. The staff was very very helpful and friendly. The resteraunt was pretty good and certainly the best part of our stay. The biggest problem was that out bed had bugs in it. I don't think they were bedbugs but it was gross anyway. We told the front desk and they promptly got us another room but we really couldn't get comfortable after that. we couldnt really sleep and ended up bolting out of there early am and driving to the b&b that were staying in. The room was very outdated, and didn't seem clean but that could have just been because the stuff was so old (carpet had stains and worn spots etc.) one last thing, the pillows were really crappy and thin. We have stayed at Marcure hotels before and have not had any trouble. This was probably just an anomaly and they did respond quickly but we were too grossed out to sleep. I wil never stay there again and should have insisted on getting money back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2015 by Sophie ROBERT, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Bordeaux Château Chartrons. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We had a hot water problem for few rooms on morning. For wifi, nobody tell us problem, so I will verify it with my technical staff. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Regards
3 out of 5
by Susan from Lancashire

Beautiful Bordeaux

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
Our visit was to visit family. We were all booked into this hotel. Everything was lovely and clean, just one thing on the negative; when we arrived we were just given room keys and no instructions on where are room were or how to use the lift. The breakfast was over priced as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Sophie ROBERT, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. For another stay, you can also choose the express en Co served at the bar for 8 euros. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,