Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Have to drive far from Egil but vslue to drive.

Posted May 31, 2017
Nice place so should come early. Have to drive far from Egil but vslue to drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, NH USA

Idyllic hideaway

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Welcoming feel, spotlessly clean, quiet, beautiful.
Cons: I can't think of a thing!
Location: Puffins!
What a wonderful find! Spotless rooms, spotless shared bathrooms. Window overlooking a bay full of sea ducks and oystercatchers. Hot tubs and saunas downstairs, excellent breakfast (including homemade jam, marmalade and spice bread baked by the warm and hospitable hostess.) Right around the corner (5 km) from a puffin colony. It's a tiny, quiet town, and the road to get here is a bit harrowing, but SO worth it!
5 out of 5
by Adrienne

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location far away from anything so you can see the northern lights easily. When we arrived, we did not realize that there were no restaurants or stores in the tiny town, not to mention actually a single person. Somehow we thankfully to ran into a nice gentleman while we were wandering around in the dark who happened to own the little "store" next to where the restaurant would have been. We were able to buy some cup of soup but something was better than nothing. During season or summer, it is probably more alive but not in October. Pros: Sweet lady runs the building and we were able to do our laundry. It's so remote that you can see the northern lights easily if they are out. There is a community kitchen that you can use so bring food to cook and the breakfast included in the stay is very tasty. Cons: It is so remote that if it's not in season, you will swear that you're the only one for miles and miles and miles. There is a town about 30/40 mins away that you go through when you get off the main road. I would advise you stay here if you have a fear of driving on cliffs without guardrails. Still, DO only drive here during the day or when it is light out. I was ghost white by the time we finally arrived and then realized we had to do it all again the next morning. It was gorgeous once we got there but not sure I would do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2017
The guesthouse itself is really nice - one of the nicest hotels/guest houses that we've stayed out during our trip. It has a really nice view of the water and the spa is a huge plus. However, as a warning to the town, there is NOTHING in the area! It's in a town of 80 people, with a grocery store open 2 hours a day and (at the time) no open restaurants! And also, I'd highly recommend against staying here in the winter. You have to drive over an icy mountain and we were legitimately scared of dying. You won't see any puffins in the winter either.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
AMAZING HIDDEN GEM! Loved our stay. Very helpful and kind member of staff, very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Remote but worth the visit.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
We arrived to a very small village with very few amenities. However the guesthouse and wonderful woman in charge were very helpful. We enjoyed a very relaxing evening and recharged for the next part of our journey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Off-Season Peace and Quiet

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: The solitude of the location.
Cons: Not much. Better signs/lighting for night-time arrivals!
Location: Off-season, the village seems virtually unpopulated, which was a great little experience. Enjoy the natural beauty of the area, walk the tiny village.
First, a minor warning that the road to the hotel is quite steep in spots and it was a slightly uncomfortable drive at night (I'm an experienced, confident driver, but with no lights at night the turns on the gravel roads were un-nerving). But it was completely worth it! I had the place to myself expect for a couple on the lower floor (I was there in late-September), so everything was quiet. The setting is wonderful, the small, picturesque village with its tidy church, sod house, cafe, and modest houses. The breakfast was standard breads, cheeses, sliced eggs, etc. in generous quantities and good quality. Coffee was most welcome! In the evening I watched a faint trail of the Northern Lights with a cup of tea on the deck while the waves rocked the pebble beach. Later, I was hugely pleased that I happened to lookout of my window and see huge streaks of the green lights dancing from one horizon to the other. Watching them while standing outside of the hotel in the chilly night was one of the best experiences of my life. Well worth the drive and the cost! I would love to go back during the proper season for bird-watching. (And the drive out wasn't bad at all in daylight.)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

outstanding - do not miss!

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
absolutely beautiful property in a quiet and breathtaking town! property overlooks the water and the owners are lovely! We enjoyed every minute!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well kept Guesthouse in remote location

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night on our way around Iceland. Property and personnel were fine. And we were happy with the accommodations. The town had little to offer other than being remote and having some local hiking. One final note - it is either a very difficult - or a very exciting trip (depending on your perspective) to get there by car over the mountains!