Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Tahir from Farnborough

Rila Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, room size
Cons: Food, WIFI
It's our 4th time staying in Rila Hotel. 2 min walk to the Lift chair, restaurants and 24/7 clinic. Need to say that they have improved most of their facilities. Last year the pool was colder than outside (around +3C). This year we have enjoyed the pool most of the time. Clean, large area, and hot! The food quality has improved too, but not a great choice. On the other hand there are a lot of places to eat across the road. I would suggest Bulgari. Brilliant food, great waitresses, affordable prices (although there are pretty the same everywhere). The room are a bit outdated, but large enough. Try to get a room looking to the slopes, brilliant view! The hotel has got its own Ski Depe, so I would advice NOT to go to Boro Sport Ski Depo 2 on your first day if you are staying in Rila. You will waste half of your day queuing in order to rent the Ski equipment. The wifi is free but only in the hotel Lobby - really weak signal, especially in the evenings!!! But overall its a nice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
2 out of 5
by Laura from Serbia

NOT a non-smoking hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels
While the staff assured me that this was a non-smoking hotel, the guests definitely did not adhere to the rules. I could smell smoke coming in through my room vents EVERY DAY of this vacation. I have small children and allergies, and was very disappointed about this. The staff was at a complete loss as to how to handle the situation. I will not be staying there again.
2 out of 5
by Pawel

Communist style resort trying to rebrand itself

Posted Jan 4, 2014
The hotel would be just ok if it was rated 3 stars and charged around $60 per night. As is it falls very short of 4 star quality and the room prices are outrageously inadequate of the standard. The rooms haven't been repaired from the old times and so there is a pervasive ciggatette odor everywhere (Bulgarians are chain smokers even now).
4 out of 5
by Megi from Sofia

Close to lifts

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels
The studio was clean, but not very big. There wasn't any kitchen utensils, only glasses, so if you want to cook something you just can't. The location of the hotel is very good, it's close to two of the lifts. The hotel is a good choose if you want to rest in the mountain or skiing in the winter.
3 out of 5
by Erik from Stavanger

Good Budget Hotel...not really a 4 star though

Posted Mar 12, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is reasonably nice, but the amenities is a bit misleading. When booking a room, you really only have as much comfortable bed space as you do beds. We asked for a double plus a cot and got two twins plus a fold out chair. Comfortable for three university students out to ski and party, but a bit less comfortable for a family. The internet in the hotel is in the lobby only and subject to the number of people trying to access. The swimming pool and spa items are nice. In general, this is good for a budget ski trip, but without some rennovations, do not let the 4 star rating trick you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dmitriy

Удобное расположение в красивом месте.

Posted Jan 11, 2013 on Hotels
Очень удобное расположение в близости к склону и ряду подъемников. Красивый вид из окна. Хорошая Инфраструктура отеля. Относительно недорогие цены. Нет лоска новизны, но это не раздражает. Завтраки вполне сносные. Вернутся можно еще раз.
1 out of 5
by Tanya

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

Good value for family

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Basic but comfortable. Big beds with additional bunk bed. Generous complimentary buffet breakfast.