Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Nice view at night, fantastic outside shower

Posted Sep 18, 2017
My experience was fantastic, the people are welcoming and kind
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Striking Ambiance

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at this original hotel/lodge after visiting Pilanesberg National Park. The historical decor and statues were quite a surprise. The room was comfortable and morning breakfast was great. The staff were friendly. The only downside is that the front desk double invoiced in addition to the prepaid Hotels.com fee - be careful.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Awesome but can improve

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Although we were in one of the Royal rooms, I wish the bed was a large double instead of the 2 combined singles. The breakfast is good
3 out of 5
by Jacqui

Lovely place but needs an upgrade

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful location. Was my 2nd time there. First was better. Bed needs to be upgraded a bit saggy. The noise levels from fellow guests and staff in the early morning was dreadful so a sleep in wasn't possible. Sadly will not be a third visit from me.
2 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
The staff is very friendly. The rooms are very outdated. Woke up to ants crawling over us every night. No wifi and TV reception was poor. The breakfast buffet was very good. Definitely won't be staying there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth considering

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great location for Pilanesberg National Park. This is an old establishment that has basic rooms, basic food and inconsistent service. However, there is some historic value and the price is very reasonable for the area, so it is worth considering if budget is a factor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX USA

Central spot to Sun City and Pilansberg

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The price was good and location central to Pilansberg park
Location: You are close to Sun City and Pilansberg game park
The lodge has a very friendly staff with a nice buffet breakfast. There is a walking trail to see some of the animals and a number of statues located around the property. The lodge does have large travel groups from overseas and should not be considered a small lodge.
4 out of 5
by Samantha from Huddersfield

Lovely lodge, perfect for romantic stay

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Had a lovely time at Kedar. We had booked a super deluxe room but when we arrived they didn't have any left, plus the payment details had not gone through so they thought we still had to pay for the booking. After this was all sorted out (by a very nice lady called Ballysing (sp) and her duty manager) we had a lovely room and a fabulous stay at Kedar. Proximity to Pilanesberg was great, and the food at the lodge was nice. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by FG from south aftica

Nice place, especially if you are into history

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel during August 2016 for 4 nights. My first impression was a bit dissapointing, as the hotel has an overwelmingly historical theme, which was not evident from the website. Everywhereyou look there areguns, swords, helmets and medals from the boer war. The room was not exactly as nice as it seemed from the website either. The biggest negative was actually the noises from the main road which runs very close to the rooms. We were woken every morning at 5 am by the sounds of big trucks driving by. The staff also played cheesy american pop music way too loud in the restaurant. Having said that, once we got used to the place, we noticed a couple of redeeming features. The staff was generally very helpfull and friendly. The food and service in the restaurant and pub was very good. The service in the rooms was good. Overall I would say it was worth the money we spent. The venue is situated very close to Sun City and the Pilanesberg nature reserve..
4 out of 5
by Simo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels