Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX USA

Central spot to Sun City and Pilansberg

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The price was good and location central to Pilansberg park
Location: You are close to Sun City and Pilansberg game park
The lodge has a very friendly staff with a nice buffet breakfast. There is a walking trail to see some of the animals and a number of statues located around the property. The lodge does have large travel groups from overseas and should not be considered a small lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

A comfortable bit of history

Posted Oct 30, 2015
An interesting museum like property. Comfortable with lovely gardens. The food was ok. Pilanesburg is just 25 km away. If visiting the region then I recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida, USA

an historical gem in a superb setting

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: The setting was superb with history of the Boer War Period everywhere around.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Location is close to Rustenburg and also to Sun City and the Pilanesberg National Park.
A rustic appeal and cottage style in the bush 20 minutes from Sun City and the Pilanesberg. Excellent facilities, wonderful staff and steeped in history all around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Lovely lodge, 20 mins drive from Pilanesberg

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Comfort, setting, staff- there is nothing we didnt like about the hotel.
Cons: It is a bush hotel, so be prepared to encounter animals- (As a family we found this to be super exciting and added to the charm)
Location: Pilanesberg was the draw for us- we saw the big 5 and much more!
Lovely hotel- we arrived early from the UK and were allowed to check in very swiftly despite the official check-in time not being for many hours- The room was clean, beds comfy, staff attentive, pool lovely, and the added hippo walkway was also a big hit. We found it to be excellent value for money and would recommend it to all our friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Unusual hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Location near Pilanesberg Friendly staff Good value for money
Cons: Our room 202 a bit dated
Location: Drive around Pilanesberg Park Close to Sun City
W/End break really enjoyable great experience.Food very good staff friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, England

First rate relaxation in the country

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Everything was of a high quality from the rooms to the meals provided and the attitude of the staff.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: Location was very quiet and felt secure. Convenient for Sun City and Pilansberg safari park. On site game drives & Paul Kruger farm tours available.
Arrived late afternoon after a hot drive to be greeted with cool flannels and complimentary cold drinks. After an easy and efficient check in we were shown to our room and shown where evening meals and breakfast would be served. Room was well equipped and comfortable and food was very good throughout our stay. The hotel staff were friendly, attentive and extremely helpful at all times. We intend to come back next time we are in South Africa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great lodge near sun city

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Rooms, staff, spa, breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near sun city
One night stay before trip to sun city. Staff great, room big and lovely. Great breakfast, nice bar and cafe. Great spa massage. Highly recommend for a short stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Quality of lodge and staff, and amazing value given the rates.
Cons: The onsite game drive wasn't very extensive or as long as advertised, but a nice ride around the farm anyway.
Location: Sun City and Pilanesberg National Park. Pilanesberg is an ancient volcano crater, home to a wide variety of wildlife.
My stay was only intended as a stopover on my way to a different destination, but really liked the property so much that I extended my stay. Beautiful property, fantastic staff, spacious and comfortable rooms, and lots of interesting historical memorabilia and such around the property. The food was really good in the onsite pub, with a particularly friendly and attentive staff that worked there. The wildlife onsite is not extensive, but charming nevertheless. Close to Sun City and Pilanesberg National Park, which was a surprisingly nice national park and very easy to self-drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coquitlam bc Canada

Nice hotel close to nature and park

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Great location and friendly staff! Lots of animals on the premises,very good restaurant and great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

History in the bush

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: All the display-info and history about the wars.
Cons: Just lovely the way it is
Location: Sun City is 30 mins away.
Staff so helpful, wonderful rooms. There is much much to see and learn at this hotel. Wow so much history. We just loved this hotel in the bush. Wild buck walking in the gardens. The road to get to the hotel is not very nice and I didn't like the area. Once in the grounds of the hotel you feel very safe there is security gates and it's all fenced off.