Lobby Sitting Area

Reviews of Bedford Plaza Hotel - Boston

2.5 out of 5
Bedford Plaza Hotel - Boston
340 Great Road, Bedford, MA

Overall score and ratings

3.4
Rating 5 - Excellent. 170 out of 725 reviews
5 - Excellent 23%
Rating 4 - Good. 209 out of 725 reviews
4 - Good 29%
Rating 3 - Okay. 168 out of 725 reviews
3 - Okay 23%
Rating 2 - Poor. 77 out of 725 reviews
2 - Poor 11%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 101 out of 725 reviews
1 - Terrible 14%

3.4/5

Cleanliness

3.7/5

Staff & service

3.3/5

Amenities

3.2/5

Property conditions & facilities

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Want to improve a lot
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
Bad staff
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2021

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was value for money.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review, Please come again soon.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Over all horrible and would never stay here again
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Rooms were dusty beds had hair from prior guests in them. Not what advertisement states
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. We will address the issues you have mentioned here.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service
Near historical sites.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room was dirty and the rest of the property was run down. The parking garage was full so we had to park across the street in a lot I wasn't even sure we were supposed to park in and then had to worry if my car was going to be there in the morning. A completely unsatisfying stay
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. We will address the issues you have mentioned here.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Very old . Rooms smells because of old carpet
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Not a place I would want to stay again. Stains on towels and pillows. Carpets were dirty, just and overall unclean place. Thin walls. Had to move to a different room in the middle of the night because the room next to us was so loud.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
convenient
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review, Please come again soon.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness
Let's start with dislikes... the hotel looks sketchy along with their additional parking area. Cops were in that parking lot both nights however we moved our car to the parking garage. This place is a converted motel to hotel. Hotel elevator was filthy and the 1st room we were given the tv didn't work so we asked to be moved or see if he could fix tv. He moved us with no issues. The 2nd room bath towels along with bathroom had hair everywhere. We requested clean towels and he delivered. I went to Walmart and bought bathroom bleach cleaner and gave the bathroom a scrub. Bed were clean and the front desk worker did his best to accommodate but hotel seemed understaffed because that poor guy was everywhere. My suggestion is to improve cleaning and lower price. Plus was that is was fairly quiet and close to food and some stores. Check out Minuteman Diner.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. We will address the issues you have mentioned here.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Parking was ok. Property was run down and rooms were so so. Not 3 star, 2 at best.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review, Please come again soon.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Waited 15 mins for check in. No one around. Fire alarm went on in mid night. No safety
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Not terrible for what you pay for. There’s a lot of things in walking distance which was nice. The staff was friendly as well.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I didn’t care for the hotel. Nobody’s was there until afternoon to check me in nobody’s was there at checkout to give me a receipt.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. We use email for this purpose.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
I asked for the trash to be taken out or if they could give ne a trash
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. We will address the issues you have mentioned here.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The inside of the hotel looks nice indoor pool that is like ice water lol parking is a little fishy you can use the garage though isnt the easiest to access. My room had a BLOODY PILLOW it was gross water made running noise all night it was AWFUL!!!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Reservation was rejected by the hotel. Please refund
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The front desk staff were super welcoming and willing to hold a conversation with you. It was a good deal on a nice hotel room compared to others in Boston. A nice experience.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
The walls were thin, guests (many of whom seemed semi-permanent residents?) were quite loud and so was the ice machine! There was some mixup with the check-in process that took over half an hour to resolve, and the woman working the counter had a very...casual attitude. It was an acceptable bed for the night for the cheapest price in the area but kinda creepy and not somewhere I'd be quick to recommend.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The stalls around the hotel, easy access to needs.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Only i have one channel i can't see more channels
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. We will address the issues you have mentioned here.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The quietness and friendly staffs
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Quiet and safe, easy parking
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Honestly I read the reviews for this property and immediately turned around. It didn't sound safe or clean. I just wanted a nice vacation for my family but I don't think this would have been the right choice.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from sal on Nov 6, 2021
Thank you for your review. We will address the issues you have mentioned here.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Good value for the money
It's definitely getting a little worn around the edges and could use some renovation, but it's an excellent value for the money. Given that there weren't many of us, I wish they'd spaced us out a bit better; nothing beats being on the end of a hallway and still having someone talking loudly outside your room at 11:45 PM. Still, the rooms were spacious and comfortable and I would definitely go back.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
I NEVER STAYED HERE. I HAD A DEATH IN MY FAMILY
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 17 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
The hotel was clean but needs some maintenance. The bathroom faucet had no water pressure. The toilet now seat was cracked. It is not a boutique hotel. The room itself was like a motel. However the test is rt and inner atrium looked very nice.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Potential
I really liked the layout of the hotel and the desk clerk was very friendly. I would also note that the clerk indicated he had read my requests, albeit minor in nature, and he had checked those things prior to my check-in. It just made me feel like they were on top of things. Also, parking underground was super convenient and the room was plenty comfortable. However, the room could definitely have been cleaner, especially in all the corners. In fairness, I suspect much of the lack of cleanliness is due to the age of the hotel. I think they could really improve the cleanliness and the overall appearance by doing some renovations. The hotel has potential, but it DOES need some work. Also, things that stick in my mind include the fact that the sink had next to no water pressure, and also one of my towels was horribly stained and I don't want to say here what it looked like... just use your imagination. So my review is meant to be sort of "middle of the road," but I also wanted to point out that the hotel could easily be improved.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
OK service, site needs work
Location is a bit worn looking and the entrance is confusing but the staff were nice as was room. Hotel itself could use a face-lift though.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
The fact that at 6:30 am on Saturday someone pulled the fire alarm and woke us all up No fire. When we arrived in the room the tv wouldn't work and we didn't have it untill 2 pm on Saturday
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Clean but dated
Rooms were clean but very dated. You can tell renovations have been attenpted on a budget. The outside leaves alot to be desired.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
dfh
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
We had an issue with a guest and the overall hotel wasn’t great and not in a great area. Indoor pool was cold no heater.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
First impressions of the place was "WOW!" It was beautiful and the pool area was nice. I had 2 beds in the room that were both super comfy, and the pillows too. As I looked deeper you could see the cleaning was lazy. There were planet fitness stickers all over a bunch of the stuff, wrappers behind the nightstand, there was a plug that was completely open with no plastics to cover the wires when they knew we had a 2 year old with us. The bathroom walls and door were dirty, the shower had hair in it, the mini fridges freezer was iced over and it was so cold it froze all my drinks I put inside. I went to the front desk to ask for more coffee and creamers and she just didn't have any and had me go find a housekeeper. The ice bucket had BURN HOLES from like a cigarette. I needed a bowl for the 2 year old and they didn't have any even though they used to serve breakfast (which was also disappointing to find out) and all we had in the room was paper cups for coffee. The coffee was really good as it was a Starbucks brand. The thing I was most excited about was the beautiful pool. As soon as I stuck my foot in it was freezing to the point we couldn't even use it. My niece would have screamed if I tried to put her in it was that cold and its almost impossible to explain to a 2 year old why they can't go swimming. We used the exercise room which was nice except it asked you to wipe down the equipment and had nothing in it. The room also had a big burn in the carpet from the iron.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
it was clean, there was a pool.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Amenities
The front person called my ID fake when checking in because PA drivers license say “not for real ID purposes”. I’m checking into a hotel and not boarding a plane in which real ID’s are used. So my ID is real but can’t be used to board a plane... he said he couldn’t get it to scan. I used to work at a liquor store and if they have 2 barcodes sometimes you have to cover one so the scanner will register the correct barcode. He did not do that. He let me check in by providing a card with my name but if you are going to call someone’s valid ID fake have some reasoning to it besides the real ID part that is for boarding a plane... there are pamphlets that can be ordered to distinguish ID’s. The liquor stores have never had an issue scanning my ID so it must be the man or their scanner.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The glass door entrance was shattered.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021