Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Good location in Boston

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Good location, clean and safe. I knew when I booked that there was a remodel going on, but it really did affect my overall perception of the hotel. We had to use the stairs during one day due to painting around the elevator. No staff member ever offered help with my luggage or even opened the door for us. The concierge did not arrive until 3 each day; however, the front desk personnel was helpful. I'm not sure I would stay there again but it was not a bad hotel, just not the quality I expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Diane B., Hotel Management
We are disappointed to hear your feedback Kandi. Our team is working hard to ensure that our renovations impact our guests in the least amount possible, and the experience you described is not up to our high standards. We will most certainly review together and ensure that we are better in the future. Thank you for taking the time to let us know. We do hope you will give us another chance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Not so Great Stay during Renovation

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The location. Could be a very nice hotel as it is not too large. Our room had a very large, comfortable bath.
Cons: Give free papers during renovation Improve breakfast
Location: Easy access to mass transit. Walking distance to lots of historic sites. Hop On/Off bus stop close by.
Mid July and hotels in downtown Boston were fully booked or close to it -- this one included. The price was decent/OK. An abutting building is under renovation. Workers were on scafolding virtually right outside our window making lots of noise beginning at 7 a.m. The hotel itself is being renovated. The first floor looks a mess. A second story lobby is spartan at best. No newspapers were available in the hotel. You had to go down the block to a Starbucks. The staff did not know where to go for papers. The breakfast was pretty weak. Hard, cold croissants and muffins, tasteless chicken sausage, dry scrambled eggs and no variety over a three day stay. There was nothing special about this hotel. The staff were pleasant and wanted to be helpful, but need training in what constitutes really good service. Right now with the tight market, they do not really have to improve to keep business. The location is terrific for business or sightseeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Diane B., Hotel Management
We are disappointed to read your feedback Paul. The team is working hard to ensure that our improvements do not negatively impact our guests' experience, but it sounds like we need a bit of fine tuning. We are proud of our location, but want people to remember us for great service AND location and will use your comments to ensure this happens. Thank you for taking the time to help us improve.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waldorf, MD

The heart of the city

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Close to everything! The blackout blinds were handy, especially with the morning sun. Enjoyed the modern decor.
Cons: Opaque curtain between window and bathroom - the sheers allowed view into the bathroom while other guest in room. Need cell plug-ins near bedsides.
Location: Historical sites, parks, shopping, restaurants (loved Union Oyster House!), and the waterfront (aquarium and whale watching)
The hotel is within walking distance to many favorite Boston locations. Loved the valet service - car was available whenever desired! Some of the city noises (sirens) were noticed, but not bothersome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Diane B., Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Diane. It is an honor to be located so close to the amazing features of downtown Boston. Your feedback about the bathroom curtain and cell phone charging are extremely valuable to us and we will most certainly keep them in mind as we continue to look at how to improve our guest experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location but uncomfortable room for now

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Was a wonderful location. Friendly and helpful staff. Complimentary coffee and ice tea in the lobby. The hotel is under renovation but we heard no noise at night. I am assuming my room would be updated. It was a bit tired looking but clean. It was oddly designed which made it uncomfortable. The room had the "peak a boo" shower/bath (glass shower wall that exposed bathroom to the room) which a surprise. It had a shear curtain one could draw across the wall. The bathroom had no counter space-just a ledge to put your items on. The shower was huge but the shower floor was slippery when wet. No hooks or bars close or in shower to hang towels. The room contained No coffee maker and ice available only on request. No luggage rack to put a bag and limited counter space in the room. No closet available for the customer. The room contained a small closet that was stuffed with expensive snacks and beverages to purchase. Hopefully the hotel will have a more live able room design to go with their excellent and friendly staff and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Diane B., Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share this valuable feedback. We take the experience of our guests seriously and will certainly look into how we may incorporate your suggestions as we continue to evolve.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Updated hotel, excellent staff, easy check-in/out

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Staff/Location; check-in and check-out was FAST and no-fuss
Cons: attention to detail
Location: Awesome location; downtown facing State Street; across the street from metro station; walking distance to tourist attraction and multiple restaurants
Nice place. Small lobby. Didn't see/try any amenities. Had some trouble with the thermostat, but it was resolved quickly. Did not have bath towels in room upon arrival, but front desk sent some up quickly. Staff was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Boring, so overpriced, so over-rated

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Central location
Cons: Everything!!!! It is a joke to call it a hotel - it's an absurdly expensive place to have a sleep.
Supposedly 5 star but with facilities a country bed-and-breakfast would easily better. Far too expensive for what it delivered. No bar!!!! No restaurant!!!! No lounge area!!!!! No way would I ever go there again. Bland, uninteresting, just boring. Their website contravenes the trades description act in every possible way. My recommendation: find somewhere better, cheaper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Zentral gelegenes, aber überteuertes Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: zentrale Lage mitten im alten Zentrum von Boston, modernes Innendesign, sauber
Cons: extrem teuer, keinerlei Leistungen inklusiv (selbst die Wasserflasche im Zimmer kostet $8), keine Kaffemaschine, Personal wenig aufmerksam
Location: Das Hotel liegt direkt im Zentrum am Old State House und dem Freedom Trail. Die meisten Sehenswürdigkeiten liegen unmittelbar in Fußnähe.
Positiv ist die zentrale Lage mitten im alten Zentrum von Boston. Das Hotel ist offenbar innen ziemlich neu und in modernem Design sehr ansprechend gestaltet. Negativ zu nennen ist: - extrem teuer - keinerlei Leistungen inklusiv (selbst die Wasserflasche im Zimmer kostet $8), keine Kaffemaschine - Personal lässig ("How you doin', Buddy?" ist die einzig gebräuchliche Anrede) - kein Late Check Out (bzw. nur für den halben Zimmerpreis) - mein Zimmer war hellhörig - sowohl die Straße als auch das Baby nebenan waren deutlich zu hören
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Exceptional hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
We arrived early and since our room was ready they let us check in. The valet parked our car then I realized I left something in the car so he graciously went and got our car after he JUST parked it. That was so nice of him! Room was clean, comfortable and as my kids said, "a bit fancy." Snacks and drinks in room were tempting but a bit pricey. Some street noise at night, but we booked this hotel knowing it was in downtown, near everything, and that was to be expected. We checked out early and they held our bags for us the rest of the day while we explored Boston.
4 out of 5
by Albert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels