Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great location & design

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, overall feel.
Cons: It would have been nice to have the on-site restaurant up and running, but I believe it was closed due to going through management changes.
Location: The Quincy Market is right around the corner, the North end is a short walk away with Paul Revere's house, and plenty more.
We loved being within walking distance of nearly everything we wanted to see. For things a little further out, we were right by a pick-up for an all-day tour trolley. The hotel staff was friendly, attentive, and calm. The overall vibe of the hotel was chill, modern, and clean. You can tell it is in an older building, but they've done a great job at making the interior modern but not clashing. The shower - top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Had a great stay, nice room and a perfect location. Just wish the bar was open!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North of Boston

Great location

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Lot of space in the room.
Cons: The hotel needs a restaurant and bar, so because don't right now they should maybe comp something else for the inconvenience.
Location: location was perfect, next to all the places we like to go.
Disappointed there was no hotel restaurant and bar, had to pay for parking too ,other than that the room was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel in great location

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The hotel's design is very modern and it was kept very clean. The bed in my room was a little on the firm shade but overall very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent and I particularly loved that you could see straight through to the room! (Very cool) The complimentary wifi was very fast and reliable and they also offered a 24 hour fitness centre (even though I didn't go there myself) but appreciated the option. The location was ideal and very close to the subway station coming from the airport (literally across the road) Really enjoyed my stay. Would highly reccomend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hartford, CT

Nice boutique hotel near Faneuil Hall.

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: In addition to the interior design and location, I very much liked our room with a view overlooking the harbor and the jets landing at Logan Airport.
Cons: The restaurant. Breakfast was cold, with limited options and overpriced.
Location: Convenient to Faneuil Hall, Boston Common, Beacon Hill and NE Aquarium. Grab a cocktail at Oceanaire and dinner at Hillstone nearby.
The Ames is a conveniently located and nicely designed hotel near Faneuil Hall, Boston Common, Beacon Hill and NE Aquarium. Check-in was very easy, and the gentleman behind the front desk very friendly and professional. I particularly liked the interior design of this hotel. With the exception of a crying newborn in a room adjacent or above ours, the hotel was very quiet. Our room was well-designed, with a view to Boston Harbor and to the jets landing at Logan Airport. You still got the view from the glass-enclosed shower. (For privacy, there is a curtain that you can pull so nobody can see into the bathroom and shower.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Nice hotel, but where's the bar and restaurant?

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and the rooms were really nice and comfortable.
Cons: Open the restaurant and bar.
The hotel staff and room comfort were excellent. The hotel staff told us that they were under new management and because of that, they restaurant and bar were not open. That would have been nice to know before hand, but it still wasn't a deal killer. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to Fanuel Hall and many other restaurants, pubs and coffee shops. If you find yourself in the area, check out Koy. Great restaurant with a spin on Korean fustion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Boutique Hotel Downtown.

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Was a wonderful stay. Will definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Pleased with my stay at Ames Boston!

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Very nice room, clean, great 'extras' provided, beautiful view.
Cons: Restaurant service was lacking. Server was not very attentive.
Location: Easy access to walk to anything in downtown Boston. Was here on Business; so did not get to explore.
My overall experience was great! The hotel staff was very pleasant, the room was very clean and comfortable. My only negative was the restaurant service and food. I had dinner one night and the staff was not very attentive and my food was just okay. I also had breakfast the next morning, which was not great either. The eggs and sausage was cold and the coffee pot was empty at 8:30am. There was only one person working the restaurant and she disappeared for 10 minutes; I could not even get my bill. So, the service was once again lacking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Awesome !!

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Very pleasant surprise ! Convenient clean would stay there again anytime !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Access to downtown

Posted Nov 19, 2015
We had n excellent stay - the hotel is very well situated - on the historic trail - hop on hop off bus lines.