Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beacon Hill Gem

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The location, the cleanliness, the decor.
Cons: Not important, but it would be great if they left a pamphlet about the Hotel in the guest rooms. History of the Hotel, why my room was named Zach's.
Location: There is a fantastic old pharmacy one block away. I also recommend the bakery Tatte and the nut and chocolate shop Fastachi nearby.
The Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro was a lovely small boutique Hotel located in the historic Beacon Hill area of Boston, just off the Boston Commons. The location was perfect, located in the middle of wonderful little shops, restaurants and cafes. My room was small, but very clean with pressed linens and Beekman products in the bathroom that smelled wonderful. I only stayed one night, but slept great. The Bistro looked very popular too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location in Beacon Hill

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff Bar/restaurant on premises Terrace Comfortable room
Excellent experience from start to finish! I love this location which is walkable to the Charles River Esplanade, the Public Garden, Newbury Street and many other places in the city. Great neighborhood feel and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent bistro hotel close to Boston Common

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Helpful friendly staff who appeared genuinely concerned about the welfare of their guests. Convenient location and comfortable.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms
Location: Central location and easy access to public transport.
I visited for a few days for a conference. The hotel and Bistro staff were excellent. Always friendly and extremely helpful. Great attention to detail. My room was small but perfectly adequate. It was at the front and top of the building so pretty quiet even though on the main road. It might be noisier on lower floors. Very good faciliities the only thing I would have expected were tea and coffee making facilities. I would stay again if I visit Boston. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic-great service & attention to detail

Posted Apr 5, 2016
This is a fantastic hotel just next to Boston Common. Stayed for 4 nights for a conference. The hotel layout is quirky, in an old Boston terrace block. The room was clean and comfortable (although the heating system needs an update!) and the service in the hotel and restaurant was second to none. We ate in the restaurant twice in the evening and once at lunch-all options we tried were delicious! A fantastic find-couldn't recommend it highly enough!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland ME

The worst hotel management imaginable.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
This establishment misrepresented itself on Expedia in every way except the restaurant. Extremely small rooms virtually clostrophbic. I offetef to pay a penalty because of the 7 day cancelation policy. The manager and owner seemed amused when repeating no exceptions. I offered to pay half the three days I booked but they refused and charged my card the full amount plus tax for an unused room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Great character hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Character, stylish décor, friendly staff, good food.
Cons: Very little
Location: Easy access to Freedom Trail
Very conveniently located hotel in attractive location with major attractions nearby or easily accessed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Excellent Boutique hotel

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Location, staff and food
Cons: Slightly more storage space in the bedroom.
Location: Very close to Boston Common and in easy walking distance to all central Boston's attractions, historic and modern.
Excellent boutique hotel in historic Charles street Boston. Clean comfortable room, welcoming staff with an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area and recommendations for things to do & see. The restaurant offers good mid priced meals.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Great location next to Common and Public Gardens

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location is wonderful, rooms are clean and staff is efficient.
Cons: The automatic 18% gratuity added for the "complimentary" breakfast was inappropriate. We chose not to have breakfast here.
Location: Boston Common, Freedom Trail, Public Garden, Newbury Street, Public Library, T station all within easy walking distance.
We stayed here for a quick overnight getaway. The room was clean and acceptable. We were supposed to have a Charles St. view; which, if we leaned against the window we could technically see the street but not what we were expecting (our view was at the side of the hotel and faced a brick wall). This hotel has a great location, rooftop terrace and a small bar in the lobby. We checked out the terrace but didn't use the bar. There is also a Bistro downstairs that we also did not use. Be aware that there is an 18% gratuity automatically added to your bill if you eat the "complimentary" breakfast. We felt this was inappropriate, if you say a meal is "complimentary" then you should account for that in your pricing, so we chose to grab a quick breakfast at the Thinking Cup coffee shop on Newbury st. (there's also one across the common on Tremont St.). Overall a decent place, one of many choices in Boston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay! Convenient.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: It's location to the T, Boston Common, and other area attractions.
I had stayed at the hotel so that I would be close to Boston Common for a 5K race. The hotel was close to the T and the area around the hotel had a nice vibe. Wish I had stayed a day longer since the hotel was so convenient to everything. My room was a bit on the small side, but it had everything I needed so it was actually perfect for my needs. The food was very good and the hotel staff were helpful. I've already made reservations for my next visit in June!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Very noisy, couldn't,t sleep

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast. Also nice restaurant with very good food.
Cons: Need to install better windows that are more sound proof and also quieter heating cooling units.
Location: Lots of cafés and shops nearby. Walk to the public garden, common, historic beacon hill, art museums, upscale indoor shopping mall, freedom trail,
Would have been a great place to stay except for the noise all night long and especially early morning from trucks making deliveries and going by. The hotel was remodeled but they didn't,t install better, more sound proof windows. They also didn't,t update the heating cooling system which is very noisy all night long.