Ratings based on 1,742 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great experience

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Hotel needs many upgrades in room facilities and common areas. Cleanliness was not at a level where you can feel comfortable. I won't recommend or go back there
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from RI

Needs updating & cleaning. Not handicap accessible

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Bathroom shower was gross. Toilet leaked when flushing. Carpeting at entrance and throughout hotel was disgusting. Almost got stuck in the elevator. Overpriced!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not for Business Class traveller

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: WiFi access. Bathroom renos. New bedding.
Location: Great location. Reason I chose the place.
WiFi advertised - not accessible in many rooms. Not a place for business travelers. Bathtub was disgusting. No headboard on bed - just dirty wall with a dirty hand print. Not for business travelers (but advertised as a "Convention Center").
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Close to public transportation and stores

Posted May 27, 2017
The room we had was very small, with awkward access to the bathroom. Staff helped to change to a better room. Facilities inside room were dated and rusted, unlike other hotels, hence the reason of my rating although the price was cheaper than neighboring hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, worth the money, nice room & staff

Posted May 21, 2017
I couldn't ask for more. It was a nice stay. Great location, worth the money, nice room & staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, run down dirty hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location-right near Copley Square and accross from John Hancock
Cons: A good cleaning, fresh paint, new rugs, a new laundry service, new furniture, access to ice, new tubs, sinks
Location: Things to do: Copley Sq Mall, Newbury St, South End. Go to Douzo for excellent sushi
Awesome location in downtown Boston (Back Bay) but hotel needs some major work and attitude adjustment. I like and stay in many older, historic hotels-this one is just plain run down, dirty and unkempt. While the lobby is ok and the area where you get off the elevator is somewhat modern, the rest is not only in need of renovation,but a good cleaning! Seriously, can you not put a fresh coat of paint in the drab hallways where you clearly removed some type of boarder along the wall years ago? Every corner has dust and debris both in the elevator and my room. Chips on furniture or tile I can overlook in an older hotel, but there is no excuse for dirt rings in the bathtub and sink. All of the linens, from the towels to the bedding was wrinkly and disheveled-towels looked like they had just been refolded-kinda. Even the cards that talk about the environment were dog-eared and tired. I am usually not one to complain, but this hotel really stood out as shabby and beyond sub-par.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but kind of grungy

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: So so much
The entrance is out of the way and sort of hidden, so it was hard to find. But it is in a good location right by Copley Place and a couple of transit stations. For the price, I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but I honestly didn't feel like it was even worth the price. Like I cringed at the outdated and grungy bathroom and didn't really feel comfortable using the shower. I had business in Boston and was only there for one night so the hotel served its purpose, but I don't recommend it for people who actually want a nice hotel. The bed wasn't really comfortable and the wifi signal was terrible, which is inconvenient for a businessperson.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good location, but in need of redecoration.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Location is good. Bed was comfy.
Cons: Clean the air vents, I'm sure all that dust can't be good for asthmatics!
This hotel is in a good location in Back Bay and is probably the cheapest in the area, but you get what you pay for. It's in serious need of updating. The wifi connectivity in my room was poor and kept dropping out. There's no breakfast facilities, so you have to go and hunt round Copley Sq. The most disappointing aspect was the cleanliness - there's no excuse for the caked-on dust on the air vent covers in the room and bathroom, cleaners just need to wipe them with a damp cloth occasionally! The room also smelt musty like it was a smoking room (which it isn't as it's a non-smoking hotel).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Reasonably priced no amenities

Posted May 17, 2017
Hotel very reasonably priced, great location at Copley Sq (not so near Boston Common, so name is a bit misleading) and walkable to many places. Informative and pleasant reception people. No amenities other than some coffee in room and comp USA Today. Rooms a bit vest up but serviceable. Was there during unseasonably chilly May and there was no heat. No wifi in room. Didn't have shampoo. Two adults, I stayed in a very lumpy sofa bed. But overall, fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff, bed was comfortable , hotel was quiet and room had a nice view. Room had easy to use amenities such as plenty of coffee, luggage rack
Cons: There was no heat - I asked about this and they immediately sent a heater that provided plenty of heat.desk clerk shld have communicated prob.@checkin
Location: Great restauraunts close by - main library and lots of shopping
Hotel staff should have mentioned there was no heat in rooms. I was soaking wet from the rain and spent some time adjusting the thermostat waiting for heat that was never to come. Hotel staff indicated the rain was unexpected and it was unseasonably cold.they did immediately provide a fantastic space heater and it made a world of difference. Hotel was in a good location and was near plenty of good restaurants.