Ratings based on 1,512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Old fashioned hotel close to the commons.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: It had character.
Cons: Bathrooms should have fans.
Location: Downtown Boston - near Boston Common and the Freedom Trail. Plenty of sightseeing and history.
Building had a lot of character. The rooms were small but very clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México

Hotel muy bien ubicado

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Hotel muy bien ubicado, viejo pero para llegar a dormir está perfecto. El personal muy amable y todo muy limpio.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Old building but clean. Staff was super nice. 2 minute walk to the train station and Back Bay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst 5 minutes of my life

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Tear it down and start over.
We checked in and out within 5 minutes. The staff was unpleasant with tattoos everywhere. The room was small with weave or public hair (couldn't tell which) in the sink. Just gross.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Good location but a really crappy hotel. After reading all of the reviews, I was freaking out about staying there. I only needed it for a night so it was do-able but I will not be staying there again or booking without checking what others have to say first next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel in center city

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: AAA
Cons: update furniture but its really not that important
Location: Trinity Church, the Boston Museum, shopping, legal seafood etc
This hotel has a great location in the center of the city and only a few steps to the subway. (Orange Line) It is an older hotel and the rooms are small but it is neat and clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was great and recommended a fantastic restaurant and they were great on helping with maps and directions. Given their price in comparison to the newer fancier hotels, they are a real value
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Great location good price

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Very enjoyable and close to many great restaurants
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB CANADA

Nice location, that's about it!

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Best bang for the buck but not a nice hotel. It's pretty bad when Best Western's and Motel 8's blow this place out of the water. The rooms are not very clean and they're very run down. Definitely bareable but not worth $300+ a night. Hotels are incredibly overpriced in general in Boston; expect to pay some cash regardless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

The Hotel was a lot older than I first thought.

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: It was close to the office I was visiting ... that's about it.
Cons: CLEAN EVERYTHING FROM HEAD TO TOE ... REPLACE THE CARPET ... CLEAN THE DRAINS, THE WATER WOULD NOT DRAIN IN MY TUB ... IT WAS JUST GROSS ....
Location: I WAS THERE FOR BUSINESS, ALL I DID WAS SLEEP, GET UP AND LEAVE
Just not what I excepted. The hotel seemed a little "Seedy" I will not stay here again. I didn't feel safe and the hotel had a very dirty feel to it. I found hair on the bathroom floor and noting is more gross than that. The TV's must have been 20 years old. I'm very sorry but, I just would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I guess for the price for a downtown hotel it's a deal being under $200.00 but, I just didn't like it for my purposes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Giant roaches on the bed.

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Giant roaches on the bed. Gross. Had to check out early because it was so disgusting.