Ratings based on 2,520 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Clean and good in general

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Good in general, my room was OK but there was a little inclination to one side. I can live with that. It has a good location and many stores around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent OH

Convenient location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: For me, location was important.
Cons: Room was so small that there was no chair to sit in to read the paper
Location: Several excellent restaurants nearby and convenient location to walk (or taxi) to MIT. Boston U. starts across the street!
Room was clean and well kept. Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfasts were tasty with very reasonable prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good historical hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We loved it. But know when getting a historical hotel you will have a smaller room and fewer amenities. But the perfect place to stay if you want to explore Boston. Right next to a T stop and not a long ridelay from any of Boston historical stops. The staff there is amazing too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Clean, bright, excellent staff. great restaurant for breakfast every morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Decent if you wish to be near Boston University. Parking is uncessarily too expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, NY

Wonderful Location!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The staff was the best Thank you to Steven, the desk clerk and the maintenance man who jiggled the hairdryer and made it work for me!
Cons: I tried to watch the Today Show and that NBC station was not available. We weren't in Boston to watch TV, though, so I didn't care.
Location: You name it, it's there. Restaurants, shopping, museums, bars, book stores, colleges, subway and buses, easy to park. FENWAY PARK!!!!!!
So close to everything: Fenway's Big green Wall, BU, Kenmore Square, the T stop on the green line, parking behind the hotel, movie theater, Newbury St., an easy walk to the Boston Gardens and Quincy Market! Loved it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G.

NO HOT WATER for showering

Posted Feb 19, 2017
My son and I stayed at this hotel. There was NO hot water when showering. I took a freezing cold shower for two minutes because it was unbearable. I was told only a small portion would be refunded when the entire night should have been compensated. The hotel did not offer the amenities they said they had. The hotel is very old but I expected hot water. I was very dissatisfied as the price I paid was not cheap.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The staff was excellent, attentive and accommodating
The room was a place to hang your hat. BUT the staff was professional and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great lovation for BU!!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Staff was great/friendly, breakfast at the restaurant was really yummy, location was perfect! Room was nice, big and warm but pull out sofa was rough. Love the history of the hotel! Hoping to go back again soon! The staff was so awesome with dealing with our group and we were thankful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Buckminster

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Very nice hotel. It's rarely affordable (under $300/night}, but when it is I grab it.