Ratings based on 2,553 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Excellent hotel, fine location

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location, room spacious, clean. Efficient & helpful staff
Cons: Room service ! Also a buffet breakfast. Need someone to help when you have extra pieces of luggage !
Stayed here with family very recently. Is a fine hotel; had a very well furnished room, very spaaaacious ! Great location -- to get around Boston. Dampener was that they had no breakfast buffet as in most places. Nor did they have any kind of room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Posted May 10, 2017
Close to restaurants, shops and Boston U ( my son's school ).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for Fenway Park

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Fenway park
Overall great experience. Right across the street to Fenway Park as that was key since we were only there for the game. Room small, but clean. Our air-conditioning did not work and there were no fans or other rooms to put us in. They did give us a 25% discount on the stay to accommodate. Would stay again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Don't stay here

Posted May 5, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for one night. The room has Venetian blinds that barely block the light so come 6 am it's quite bright. Plus, the highway noise. Then there was no hot water, so I took a very cold shower. When I checked out the person at the desk asked me "How was your stay?" and instead of just saying nothing, I thought I would respond honestly, the thing managers always say "oh we wish you had told us...." so I said "Not good." She said "Oh, I'm sorry to hear that." and then proceeded to check me out. She didn't ask - because she didn't care - anything about what the problems might have been. If she's that disinterested, why should I bother? Anyway it was very rude after an unpleasant experience. Other weird things are the path to the elevator in the lobby which kind of places you in a weird corner/hallway where there's no room for more than one person to stand and wait without blocking the entire pathway to the back rooms and beyond. Just not thoughtful design of the space.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
There were several double charges to my account. Ex: Car parking was charged double for one day, issue was resolved after I found the parking fee unreasonably high. Staff indicated it was a mistake but i would not have noticed it but for the high fee. Please be aware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool Place, lots of character

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: It is not like a chain, it has an ambiance
Cons: I could tell that former occupants of our room smoked cigarettes.
Location: Boston University, Fenway Park, Berklee School of Music, The Charles River, Newberry Street,
I read several negative reviews of hotel and that gave me pause but I decided to give it a try due to location. I really found hotel to be clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that the fixtures were unusual (style was like the 50s)--the hotel also has a personality: narrow stairwells...a tiny elevator....dramatic carpets. The TVs worked well, the water was hot, and everything was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area very close to Fenway Park

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location
The front desk staff was pleasant. Room was very comfortable. Conveniently located to restaurants and Fenway Park. This was our first visit to Fenway Park and we were very pleased with how close it actually was. My granddaughters thought the accommodations were awesome, as each one had their own bed and the room was very large. We only spent one night but the over all experience was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Location location location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We wanted to be close to Fenway and this was perfect. Fenway is literally across the street. There is a T stop a couple minutes walk away to easily get to the rest of Boston for sightseeing. On site restaurant good for breakfast before heading out for the day. Very quaint and beautiful old hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel convenient to the subway

Posted Apr 12, 2017
historic building and it shows. the rooms are very clean and pleasant smelling. did not explore any other part of hotel other tthen our room. we choose this hotel because it was close to the subway and price comparison to other hotels with similar location the "T".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Buckminster was Great

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Fenway and mass transit.
Cons: the stairway up to my room was narrow; however, the elevator is a viable option.
Location: Fenway Park and mass transit to go into downtown Boston are only a couple of blocks away.
The staff was nice and the room was clean. This hotel is only a couple of blocks from Fenway Park. If you're going to a sox game, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is also a couple of blocks from the Kenmore stop on the green line of the subway. If you want to go into downtown Boston, it is about 5 - 10 minutes on the subway. I would stay at this hotel again.