Ratings based on 2,533 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017
There were several double charges to my account. Ex: Car parking was charged double for one day, issue was resolved after I found the parking fee unreasonably high. Staff indicated it was a mistake but i would not have noticed it but for the high fee. Please be aware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool Place, lots of character

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: It is not like a chain, it has an ambiance
Cons: I could tell that former occupants of our room smoked cigarettes.
Location: Boston University, Fenway Park, Berklee School of Music, The Charles River, Newberry Street,
I read several negative reviews of hotel and that gave me pause but I decided to give it a try due to location. I really found hotel to be clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that the fixtures were unusual (style was like the 50s)--the hotel also has a personality: narrow stairwells...a tiny elevator....dramatic carpets. The TVs worked well, the water was hot, and everything was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area very close to Fenway Park

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Location
The front desk staff was pleasant. Room was very comfortable. Conveniently located to restaurants and Fenway Park. This was our first visit to Fenway Park and we were very pleased with how close it actually was. My granddaughters thought the accommodations were awesome, as each one had their own bed and the room was very large. We only spent one night but the over all experience was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Location location location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
We wanted to be close to Fenway and this was perfect. Fenway is literally across the street. There is a T stop a couple minutes walk away to easily get to the rest of Boston for sightseeing. On site restaurant good for breakfast before heading out for the day. Very quaint and beautiful old hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel convenient to the subway

Posted Apr 12, 2017
historic building and it shows. the rooms are very clean and pleasant smelling. did not explore any other part of hotel other tthen our room. we choose this hotel because it was close to the subway and price comparison to other hotels with similar location the "T".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Buckminster was Great

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Fenway and mass transit.
Cons: the stairway up to my room was narrow; however, the elevator is a viable option.
Location: Fenway Park and mass transit to go into downtown Boston are only a couple of blocks away.
The staff was nice and the room was clean. This hotel is only a couple of blocks from Fenway Park. If you're going to a sox game, this is a great place to stay. The hotel is also a couple of blocks from the Kenmore stop on the green line of the subway. If you want to go into downtown Boston, it is about 5 - 10 minutes on the subway. I would stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Rooms are out dated but you can't beat how close it is to Fenway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Clean and good in general

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Good in general, my room was OK but there was a little inclination to one side. I can live with that. It has a good location and many stores around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent OH

Convenient location

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: For me, location was important.
Cons: Room was so small that there was no chair to sit in to read the paper
Location: Several excellent restaurants nearby and convenient location to walk (or taxi) to MIT. Boston U. starts across the street!
Room was clean and well kept. Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfasts were tasty with very reasonable prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good historical hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We loved it. But know when getting a historical hotel you will have a smaller room and fewer amenities. But the perfect place to stay if you want to explore Boston. Right next to a T stop and not a long ridelay from any of Boston historical stops. The staff there is amazing too!