Ratings based on 1,102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Clean, quiet to outside noise
Cons: Cost, some amenities
Location: It's close to the Charles River which was lovely to walk along and easy to get to
We were only staying here one night for an event so I can't give a detailed review, but I was disappointed in the cost (with taxes, $422 for really less than 24 hours) and the one thing I desperately needed -- as we were getting up at 3:30 am for an all-day walking event -- was coffee, and there was no coffee cup in the room. Also the invoice wasn't there when I was ready to check out, and I couldn't check out via the TV, and calling down understandably took a long time because no one was there at that time of morning. Otherwise the room was small but clean and had everything I needed, the hotel restaurant and Starbucks was very nice, and the staff I interacted with was warm and pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2015 by Alan S. GM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, So sorry to hear that your stay with us was not perfect. I'll be sure to check with our housekeepers to ensure they are resupplying the coffee cups in the condiment boxes. Hope your walking event went well, you certainly did get an early start. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2015
I had a late arrival and early departure. My room was dusty and smelly. To add insult to injury, there was not hot water. At checkout, the front desk clerk politely told me that there was no way for her to compensate me since I'd booked through Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but not worth the price

Posted Sep 7, 2015
The location is good however the price of the room was a little expensive for what you get. The rooms were quite small. They were clean, but felt a little dated and run down. The bathroom was too small to fit the sink, and there was no exhaust fan, so the bathroom felt a little unfinished. Parking is very very expensive - $40 that covers a 24 hour period but an extra $10 every time you leave the lot. There's also no breakfast included in the price. The beds are comfortable and large. And the view is pretty good if you're facing Boston.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location, comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, amenities.
Cons: Room décor and layout
Location: Lots of restaurants by the water for a nice meal. Conveniently located to MGH, Charles River and T. Lots of places for a quick bite.
The hotel is in a great location for me. I've stayed here several times while traveling to Boston for business. Its RIGHT on the red line, with a Starbucks in the lobby and surrounded by restaurants that you can grab a quick bite or a nice dinner. I love the location and the conveniences it affords for business travelers. The rooms are mostly comfortable although the desks aren't really functional, I spent most of one day working from the room and did so from the bed because I couldn't spread out on the desk. There wasn't enough room to put my laptop and papers out and the coffee maker is placed on the desk as there is nowhere else for it. It looks to me like the hotel is about to be redone. The lobby is very modern and matches some of the newer Marriotts I've stayed at while the rooms still look like 1990 Marriots. Additionally, the hotel was booked on my last trip so I ended up in a room that didn't match my request. Additionally, I met my boss in the lobby or what I thought was the lobby for 20 minutes to talk and we were stalked by a waiter who said we were in the bar area and were supposed to order if we were to sit there. It was the only vacant spot with a table that we could meet which made it a bit awkward. That said, I will definitely stay here again. The staff is great and the location can't be beat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dismal view

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: courteous staff
Cons: I'll probably think twice about buying rooms through Expedia
Location: good location
While we were in town for our daughter's wedding, our room, near the Charles River, had a full and depressing view of the mechanical units on the adjacent office building gravel roof. Oh, and the bottled water near the vanity had a $4.50 price tag on it which was a constant reminder about overpricing in the market place. Lesson learned.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Nice hotel, with great location and views.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Perfect location - metro right outside. Our view from the top floor, corner room, was stunning.
Cons: $45 for parking and no free wifi. Also, requested 2 beds (on Expedia, in a call to the hotel, and at the desk) and still got a king and sofa bed.
Location: Good restaurants nearby and close to kayak rentals on the Charles. Easy access to other parts of town, as the metro was right outside the lobby.
We wanted something between Boston and Cambridge, and this hotel's location was great. We were there for three nights of our vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 16, 2015
Waited 30 min for valet to park my car, HORRIBLE room. Uncomfortable bed. Insufficient bedding. Totally dissapointing for a Marriott. Left the very next morning to another hotel.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shalimar, FL

Great Location in Kendall Square!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: Classy lobby , fast elevators, good business center, well-equipped gym and good room size.
Cons: Mattress was too soft. Air conditioning was slightly inadequate and didn't quite keep the room cool enough. Lack of free Wi-Fi is disappointing.
Location: Perfect location with proximity to MIT and Harvard and the Red Line T literally right outside the front door.
Very nice hotel with excellent service. Fast check-in, spectacular view of Boston from room.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Convenient location, close to MIT.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Rooms, staff, pool, location
Cons: Internet access in the rooms. Some play area for little kids would be a plus.
Location: We had a busy trip for our daughter dissertation defense, so not much time for other attractions.
We are quite happy with the hotel, it was clean, comfortable and the staff was friendly. It was also convenient for us location. We would rate it 5, if it had free internet access in the rooms. In our modern time it is becoming a necessity, and many hotels around the world are already including this service.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Good Central Location

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: location, friendliness of staff
Cons: Free internet in room!
Location: great pizza a block away at Za's
Right across from metro! Easy to get almost anywhere in Boston