Ratings based on 1,202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Excellent hotel with 1 exception

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Location absolutely. Rooms were very good, noise not a factor. Service was very good with all staff.
Cons: Food and beverage prices as mentioned.
Location: Most all historic landmarks are easily in walking distance. North End (famous for Italian food) is also very walkable.
Thought this was an excellent hotel and superb location for the water, downtown, & North End. Stayed in Boston many times, usually in Back Bay but will stay here in future. I'm a long-time, satisfied Marriott customer. Only negative was the prices in bar and restaurant - way too much $ for the wines, beer & alcohol they offered. I'm not unfamiliar with Marriott pricing but even for them, they were high. Food prices pretty pricey as well for the menu offerings (didn't spend a dime on food or beverage). Luckily, there's a LOT of better priced options at an abundance of restaurants and bars nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great location for Boston sightseeing

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast menu was limited and expensive
Location: Next door to trolley, duck, aquarium, water tax, Faneuil hall and Quincy market. Easy walking distance to most other attractions e.g Boston tea party
Family of 4 3 adults and one 12 year old. Double room, 2 double beds, adequate space for a 5 day trip. Great location, ideal for eating out, didn't eat in the hotel at all, prices and choice out with were better. Friendly staff, clean room and easy drop off for our hire car when we arrived along with water taxi back to the airport when we left made it a good choice. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad from the word welcome!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The location was great, close to everything!
I was so excited to take my wife to Boston for her birthday ( she is from Florida and has only lived with me in ct for 10 years but never visited Boston) So we made the 2.5 hr drive on a great fall day excited to see our room on the Harbor as described from Expedia. We get to the Hotel and where greeted kindly. We approached the front desk and where told they could not find us in the computer I explained kindly sometimes people mess up our last name It is correctly spelled El Zenny but some enter it as Elzenny and it halts us from being found in a search...He checked and said "nope not here" then I said how about my first name ? He looked again and said still cant find you ( I look at my wife with embarrassment and see her face beat red as well.. At this point we where both shaken up...The front desk now asked us if we had the correct day or maybe we are at the wrong hotel...I am now frantically searching for my email showing the reservation....( so embarrassed as many other people are now looking on) I end up finding the reservation number, he finds us in the computer and explaines the software they use does not understand a split last name.. Is it that uncommon? He told me they put the El with my first name and the Zenny alone as my last.. Now he tells me "we know you wanted a view but the only king we have left is on the main lobby floor above the main rd...or we can have 2 single size bed with a bay view....ok That does not sound like a $400.00 plus dollar room to me!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Hotel is on the water and yet close to many attractions. Would return..staff friendly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Fabulous hotel in a great location!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location!! Location!! Location!!
Cons: Lower the parking fee.
Location: Right on the water with many boat tours. So many restaurants & pastries in the North End. So much History. Near Quincy Market, 2 parks & the Aquarium!
We arrived early to spend the day in Boston before our evening show. We wanted to leave our bags so we could have lunch in the North End and our room was ready 5 hours before normal check in! The room was great! The location was near everything and right on the water. We watched the boats go in and out. It was so relaxing. The food and pastries were everywhere. Perfect hotel, perfect show, perfect day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Did not like having to pay for wi-fi. Otherwise very satisfied
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

clean and close

Posted Sep 7, 2016
perfect location for walking out front doors to wharf area, Quincy market, the aquarium. Out back door to Hanover street for great Italian dinner and desserts! parked car in harbor garage and didn't need it until we left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Good place to stay if you're in town for one night

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location! I could walk to every great tourist and local destination in about 5-15 minutes.
Cons: Free wifi, cleaner showers and added ventilation to the bathroom.
Location: Lots of restaurants within 5 minutes but the ones that shine around at least 10 minutes away. I would skip the cabs and just walk if its nice weather.
The great thing about this hotel is that its right in the center of everything. I took a two day, one night trip here with my girlfriend and i'm glad that's as long as we could stay. The staff is great. Very friendly, kind and smiles all around. The condition of the hotel itself seems very nice. The room I was given (320) was only ok. The lining of the bathroom tiles had red and pink discoloration. There was no ventilation to pull away moisture after a shower or the smell from dropping a number 2. The latter was bad since it was my first trip with the girlfriend. Room 320 is located right outside the entrance to the gym. This is good if you're in the mood to hit the gym and pool. Not so good if you want to get some quite time. You hear people going in and out frequently as we did. While not the worst, definitely wasn't the most pleasant. You have to pay for wifi, which to me was awful since every other hotel i've ever stayed in generally offers it for free.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Lage, ordentliches Hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Das Hotel ist prima gelegen und auch ziemlich OK, allerdings ist der Preis von über EUR 500 für eine Nacht absolut nicht angemessen. Da gibt es in Boston bessere Optionen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleased

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Much more than I expected. Enjoyed the updated room. Beautiful lobby and staff was beyond nice. Best location with everything so close. We will definitely book our vaca at this hotel again next time.