Ratings based on 1,665 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Staff was very nice and quick to give us a different room when ours wasn't accommodating . Great location and walking distance to near by attractions . I would definitely stay there again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutherglen, Australua.

Location, location!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Very handy location for downtown Boston. Close to transport and good places to eat. The Trophy room that adjoins the hotel is very hospitable with great cocktails. Room cosey for twin share but if travelling on a budget, ideal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Well positioned hotel to explore the city. Hotel was clean , needed a mini fridge in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evansville IN

Small But Comfortable

Posted Jul 20, 2017
My boyfriend and I stayed in Boston for the first time this past week. When we arrived at 1 am we were able to check in immediately without any issue. Our room was very clean, no complaints. Our room was freezing and that's the way we liked it, although this could be adjusted. The room itself was a little small but for 2 adults we didn't mind at all, still plenty of room for us. The bathroom is a little cramped but it worked and didn't affect our stay. We parked our car at the Clarendon parking garage, althougher we paid 45 dollars for 3 nights (with the hotels discount), this is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to do in Boston including Fenway, Quincy Market and our Duck Tour. However we did take an Uber to Samuel Adams which worked flawlessly. We ate dinner in the attached bar, The Trophy Room on our last night, the food was delicious! (I recommend the Fettuccine if it's on the menu). Overall we had a very good stay, I would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

My Second Stay Here

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location, price, comfort, cleanliness.
Cons: Not sure it could be improved but a larger space in bathroom would be nice....especially a space for holding grooming supplies.
Location: The South End....and Tremont Street, 2 blocks away, are filled with many bars, restaurants, and shops from reasonable to expensive.
This boutiquey type hotel is located in the South End....an excellent neighborhood for walking, shopping, bars and restaurants....and close to many interesting areas. I stayed here several years ago and really like the area so returned with my partner this trip. The staff are wonderful, and there is a very nice bar, primarily gay-oriented, located on the first floor....and a restaurant as well. Free coffee is available in the lobby 24 hours/day. The rooms are small, as you would expect in this type of hotel, but they are clean, well-furnished with excellent bed. No closet but good amount of hanging space for your clothes. Bathroom very small, but very spacious walk in shower. Prices excellent for Boston. Did not have a car this time but I know parking is available at a fee. Staff are very helpful if you need assistance with anything....and they let us store our luggage after checkout since our flight was not for 7 hours after checkout time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable but not amazing

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Cons: The hotel felt like it needed fresh air. Better ventilation
Location: It is an easy walk to Boston Commons and Cheers. It is next to the humane society. It provides a great opportunity for pet lovers.
I was very comfortable at this hotel, and typically I am totally grossed out by hotels. It felt clean. The bathroom was very nice. Very comfortable beds. I didn't give it 5 stars because 1. the room had a bit of an odor - kind of a stale smell. 2. the doors SLAM shut. I was woken up throughout the night every time someone in my hall left or entered their room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The best part was the trophy room. We were in a rush to get to the Red Sox game so had to eat there and the food was phenomenal! My only complaint was that I asked about parking when we checked in and a spot was offered to us across the street which was convenient but it was not explained to us that we would have to pay for it. They charged us $30 at check out 😕
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slightly off-beat

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Location, cost, aesthetics.
Location: Boston!
Slightly off-beat with the co-located Trophy Room on the 1st floor, but great location, good rooms, and very helpful staff. Our room was small, but quite suitable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Small hotel, good location.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Location was great, staff was pleasing and efficient and the restaurant next door was excellent.
Cons: The rooms and bathrooms are very small. The water in the shower pooled close to the lip of the shower floor and leaked out onto the bathroom floor.
Location: Great restaurant next door, 2-block walk to the Back Bay station, nice neighborhood with a youthful bent to it.
For the price, overall it was a good experience. The hotel was just a quick walk to the Back Bay station. The restaurant next door had excellent food and a good wait staff. The room was small and could use some updating and the bathroom was tiny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

nice value for the money in boston

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Boston is difficult to get a hotel room in and they are expensive when compared with even cities like New York, this was in a nice neighborhood and didn't cost $500 a night