Ratings based on 1,444 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonably priced hotel in Back Bay

Posted Feb 8, 2016
We got a great deal here because the hotel isn't right in downtown. The orange line T stop is 2 blocks away so it took no time to get anywhere in the city. The room was very clean, a little small, but perfect for 2 of us. Beds were really comfortable. The heater made a HORRIBLE sound all night but that was the only downside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Good location, very thin walls, and my bad luck.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: It was decorated nicely and the front desk staff was pleasant at check-in.
Cons: They could do a little sound proofing and respond to complaints in a more courteous way.
Location: Easy walk to Tremont.
The hotel is nice, in a good area, and would have been wonderful if not for the screaming domestic dispute a few rooms down at 2:30 am. I phoned the front desk after a half hour and was told "Yah, someone already called." and then hung up. Twenty minutes later someone from the front desk finally knocked on the door and 5 minutes after that the woman began yelling again. Not the fault of the hotel but they handled my complaint poorly and took too long to respond. I think you can expect this kind of thing on a weekend in a hotel with a bar below it. This all ended about 3:30 and then YEAH, my next door neighbor's alarm went off at 4:45 am and IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS IN MY ROOM. It took 3 cycles for him/her to finally turn the alarm off and then they turned on the television which also sounded as if it was in my room. There is no sound proofing between rooms, NONE. I am lucky the only thing going on in the next room was the tv. Do yourself a favor, pay a little extra and get a decent night's sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Would never return!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
I'M really not a picky person, nor am I a complainer, I'M generally pretty content. This place however is truly " complain worthy". First of all it's the smallest hotel room I have ever been in. I had to step outside the bathroom to towel off because I didn't have room to move around in there. (and I'm small) Upon arrival we were greeted with a smell of fresh paint! I was already sick and inhaling chemicals all night did not help at all! I called the front desk to see if we could switch rooms but the front desk guy who we just saw sitting down there, refused to pick up the phone no matter how many times I called. We ended up having to sleep with the windows open, in the dead of winter. To top it off the lights on the sides of our bed did not even work. When you walked in and out of the hotel the people at the front desk all look surly as if to say " please don't ask me for help" the most unhelpful front desk I've ever experienced. Although I will end with one good thing. I left my sweater in the room and when I returned the housekeeper had saved it for me. Also it is clean. No iron.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2016
I had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is very close to the Back Bay station. Even the downtown is walking distance from the hotel. The staff are very helpful with your requests. The room was small, but very clean and had everything that I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient quiet hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: It was comfortable, and warm. It was very elegantly designed.
Cons: The internet connection was poor.
It's a very nice hotel. The room was well done and comfortable. The room and bathroom were elegant. My only issue was that the internet was very slow and spotty connection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Charming. Great location. Wonderful staff. Definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Not as pictured

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: The photos beforehand that duped me into thinking this place was nice.
Cons: Cleanliness, bedding, soundproofing, maintenance, and updating everything.
Checked in to find the room dirty, stains on pillows, dust on all surfaces and very small. Could clearly hear conversation in next room. Declined another room; my wife and I were in town to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary. After seeing this hotel, knew it was not how we wanted to kick off the next 10 years. Front desk person could not help me with any refund; I spoke with the hotel's manager, who would only authorize a refund for one night, and was told to then contact Expedia's customer service. Expedia then had to contact the hotel to hear the scoop from the manager, I suppose, and was still only able to refund one night, though the customer service rep was helpful and offered a coupon for a future Expedia purchase.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2016
The room was small. But it is very clean. The service was excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
good location, small room, unprofessional housekeeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great location, great deal!

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Great location, great staff.
Cons: Bathroom was teeny, but that wasn't a huge deal.
Location: The hotel is in the South End (Arlington area). Super close to Back Bay so there's lots of shopping and great restaurants.
My husband and I stayed here over the weekend while attending a conference. The South End/Back Bay location was awesome and close to public transportation. Our room was pretty tiny, but perfectly suited us since we didn't need to spend much time hanging out there. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and there were some great little coffee shops and restaurants within walking distance. The room was a steal and I would absolutely stay here again!