Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Experience

Posted Oct 25, 2012
Beautiful hotel in a gorgeous part of Boston. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We could not have had a nicer time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Queretaro, Mexico

A gem

Posted Oct 14, 2012
Great Victorian style! Amazingly furnished and super cozy
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Cons: Lack of management
Location: Easy access to all areas of Boston. Close to T
Select Registry quality is slipping at this inn. We felt more like boarders than guests; we never learned any of the staff's names during our 6 day visit. No introductions to our hosts. Who were our hosts? Refrigerator quit, carpets torn, basic amenities had to be requested, breakfast requests not filled properly. Seemed to need proper management. Desk help did assist with reservations and directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allan from Mezimbite Forest Centre, Mozambique

discreet personal service

Posted Oct 3, 2012
Pros: Great service, warm and genuine, and detailed and very discreet.
Cons: the coffee was miserable, but you can always bring your own
Location: easy walk to all the things one wants, good restaurants close by, public transport is easy, but it is a little to well hidden.
I was a little nervous at booking such small place, could it provide the same treat as a big name chain, after all I live and work in the bush, and wanted an urban luxury as a break from my norm. More nervous when the taxi driver couldn't find it. But that all changed when opening the door. Great service, warm and genuine, and detailed and very discreet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve from Portsmouth, England

A great B&B for a city break.

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Pros: Breakfast in the room every morning - we could have it at our time, eat at our pace watching TV/reading the paper, whatever we wanted.
Cons: I can't think of anything bad about this B&B.
An excellent hotel with loads of character in a lovely part of Boston - 5 mins from 'Charles/MGH' T-Station on the red Line (we bought a 7 day link pass for 15$ each and made full use of it) and 7 mins from Boston Common. Charles St had plenty of diners and restaurants to choose from Room was comfortable with everything you might need including full tea and coffee making facilities, fridge with free bottled water and fizzy pop, a full selection of cutlery and plates for breakfast in the room or an evening take-out should you choose to have one, TV, radio, free Wi-Fi and a good en-suite with plenty of towels, dressing gowns and a hairdryer. Our en-suite in the Ralph Waldo Emerson room had a jacuzzi bath and shower. Breakfast was in the room every morning at a time of your choice and included toast, croissant, pastries, juice, yoghurt, cereal, eggs and daily paper. Just don't forget to fill out your choice on the menu provided for every day of your stay. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable who were only too happy to help. They were a good source of advice and recommendations and helped me check in for the flight back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sally

Great Escape

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Pros: The quality of the amenities.
Cons: Not much variety in the breakfast menu.
Location: Perfect, walking distance to the attractions and the subway.
A wonderful location with a great atmosphere. Great for adults/couples who want access to the city with the calmness of a bed and breakfast. Loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Holly from Seattle

My favorite place!

Posted Apr 6, 2012
Pros: The rooms look like you are staying in a royal palace.
Cons: I really have no complaints
Location: The location is perfect. It's right on Charles Street.
This is a really special and unique place. The staff is amazing. They bring you breakfast to your room every morning. The room was the most beautiful one I have ever stayed in complete with a working fireplace. I felt like a princess. Things that other hotels charge you for like water, snacks and fruit are free and there are real dishes and silverware. After having been on the road traveling for work for 3 weeks, it was an oasis. I actually felt like I was staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. I would go back in a heartbeat. And it looked exactly like the photos on the website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Cape Cod, MA, USA

Just Marvelous

Posted Mar 24, 2012
Pros: Comfort.
We were thorougly pleased with the Inn...the location and quality!!! We will be back.
3 out of 5
by Mary & Tony from Hansville WA

Not impressed. Internet photos way better than actual. Cigarette butts on ground outside entry.

Posted Oct 14, 2009
First impression online was that this was a "boutique hotel" on Beacon Hill in Boston. Looked quite nice. As we approached the entry, the first thing I noticed was cigarette butts on the brick pavement outside entry. This turned out to be only an adequate B&B, not worth anywhere near the price charged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very helpful staff

Posted May 7, 2009
Wonderful location. Room was beautiful and comfortable. Excellent breakfast delivered to the room right on time each morning. We won't stay anywhere else in Boston.