Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2016
I did not stay. I checked in and left without a refund. The reservation was made quickly without checking facts. I was traveling alone and the hotel had a Bates Hotel feeling to me. I scare easily and have just probably watched too many movies. The front door was not secured. The door to my room closed with a gap large enough to see out of. My room was street level, right next to the (unsecured) main entrance. If you are used to larger, standard hotels, this is not the place for you. Neighborhood seemed good, but it was dark and hard to see building numbers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Ok for one night.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Location. Parking price very reasonable.
Cons: Blinds should be installed in the windows. Hallways need to be cleaned of tenants belongings.
Location: Easy walk to back bay area.
Price is reasonable and parking charge of $15 per night in Boston was a bonus. Appears to be somewhat of a rooming house. Hallway contained tenants mail, packages etc. Room was located on first floor street level and was very noisy. plastic mini blinds for window treatments with no curtains. With early morning sun shining in eyes and street noise there was no chance of sleeping past 8 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Forest Hills, NY

Cute hotel, great location

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Cons: My one suggestion is sound/light blocking curtains. The white blinds let a lot of light in in the morning, and it was a bit loud in the morning also
My husband and I stayed here for just one night, and it was perfect. The hotel itself is several brownstones and they converted some of the apartments into hotel rooms. It was really cute and homey feeling, on a tree lined block of brownstones. The staff was super accommodating and even parked our car for us. ($15 parking in Boston?? What a steal!). It's centrally located and was in walking distance of anywhere we wanted to go. Definitely recommended!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location!

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Main double bed was comfortable. Good location. Pleasant helpful staff.
Cons: New sofa bed and rug in lounge.
Location: Good location near Prudential Centre and Back Bay Station.
Booked apartment for 3 adults. Could do with updating as state of lounge a bit shabby! Opened up sofa bed on first night and it was impossible to use it as was completely inadequate as a bed as it had no support. Sofa/bed looks well used and shabby. Contacted office person who came up to check out sofa bed and it transpired that we weren't the first people to complain. Then we asked if there was another flat that our son could use and was told that there was but we would have to pay full price for it!!! The best that could be offered was a spare mattress on the floor which we had to accept as there was no other option. Poor show considering price paid for apartment!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, great little secret in Boston.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
The room,which I stayrd in for an evening, was a little efficiency. [It] even had a covered porch.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing like the pictures!

Posted Jan 22, 2016
My fiancée and I decided to take an overnight trip into Boston and by the pictures this seemed like a beautiful stay... Well unfortunately we were wrong. When we first arrived the gentleman at the front desk was VERY NICE! He informed us that the Copley house gave us a room upgrade because they had open rooms, not knowing our other room had a joined bathroom with another room ( not on the website be careful when you book!) When we got into our room it was very disappointing! The walls were stained and chiped, the furniture was very worn out, the rug was dangerous to step on with bare feet, and to make it worse the couch smelt like horrible body odor. The room was extremely hot! I called the front desk (had to use my own phone because the phone in the room didn't work) they said they controlled the heat and to turn on the AC via remote. Well the remote was missing so they suggested to just open a window... Didn't feel comfortable opening a window because none of them contained screens. Unfortunately this was just all around a very bad stay.. I suggest going somewhere else!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Posted Jan 17, 2016
I came for a weekend in Boston with my boyfriend and we originally booked a queen budget room. Check in was lovely and the front desk made it easy and quick to settle our room charges and furthermore, show us to our building. Upon walking into our room, we were a bit surprised at how small the room actually was. We had chosen the room option right in the middle of size and price options when booking, so this was a bit disheartening, but we settled in nonetheless. During the first night, I turned the kitchenette sink on and it just wouldn't turn off and started to make a bit of a mess so we called down to the office and explained and someone was at our door in minutes. He was very helpful and understanding, and although my boyfriend had already gone under the sink to turn the water supply off, the young man from the office immediately informed us that the room right next door was empty and that we could move our bags in - which is exactly what we did. We were so pleased with the new (upgraded) room. It was so much more spacious and the kitchen and bathroom were much more updated. We ended up having a really great time for the rest of our stay. Copley house was in a great area on a beautiful street and although we purchased the $15 a night parking pass, we easily walked everywhere we needed to over our long weekend. I would stay here again, but definitely spend the extra $10/night for the bigger room option than whatever you're initially planning. It will be worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn WA

Great Location

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Comfortable stay, beds are super comfy
Cons: I would love to stay here if I were coming back however I will be returning with elderly parents which may prove to be challenging.
Location: Five Horses Tavern :)
Room was very cold but the hotel responded. Nice comfy beds and we were pleased with the location to everything. Would not recommend this hotel if you need accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great Hotel GreatValue

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Have a blender in the kitched
Location: it is close to museums, restaurants and not too far away from boston south station, great location!
This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed: - Room had a small kitchen very well equipped: Frying pans, pots, cutlery, cook ware, a small electric oven, stove, microwave, sink, etc. - The room was big and clean. - The view was awesome. - Bathroom was very clean. - The price was super cheap - Internet speed was above 25Mbps - The flat tv was good quality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice studio with good location,

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The quality of the roms and the kitchenet
Location: Walking distance to Moll and good restaurants
We discovered that Coplay House has several buildings in the same district. We had to carry our suitcases to a building 600ft further then one of our rooms was situated at the 4th floor without elevator.. Then we found that the studio with kitchenet was very nice and comfortable. We paid for a parking place just behind the building: very convenient. The rate was good for the quality of the rooms. No breakfast was availble.