Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to the standard of a usual Fairmont

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Refurb, small simple services like free drinking water.
Location: Plenty to do nearby, great location.
Unfortunately the room we had was right next to some construction work that kept us up all night for the first night. The automatic temperature gauge didn't seem to be working either which was not ideal, on a very cold night. We were very thirsty and were suprised to find no drinking water available (or clearly labled)- just a very expensive, overpriced bottle of bottled water. Symptomatic of the management of the hotel in general (for example room service prices add a 20% to the listed price for service and almost $5 for delivery- it's like they want you to over spend). Overall room condition was old, in desperate need of a refurb. Expect more from a Fairmont. Having said that the staff were fine, very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chgo.

Another great stay at the Fairmont Copley.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Great hotel in a convenient location! Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. We love the Oak Room for great food and excellent ambience! We love the gold floor service, food and comfort! This is our home base in Boston!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello T&D, thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Fairmont Copley Plaza. We are delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to visit OAK Long Bar + Kitchen as well as experience our Fairmont Gold Floor. Fairmont Gold offers a premier level of service along with complimentary breakfast, WIFI, and evening hors d'oeuvres - we are delighted to hear you were able to experience this during your travels. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back, soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Smart updates to an old classic

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Have stayed here dozens of times but this was first visit in 5 years. The location, history and service have always been the main attraction, and are now supplemented by updated and more comfortable rooms (ours was a "Junior Suite") and rooftop health club. Brunch and cocktails in the Oak bar were excellent. The easy walking distance to great shopping and restaurants plus valet parking and location directly adjacent to Mass pike exit make this the perfect spot for a weekend in Boston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hi Tim, thank you for sharing your 5-star experience with fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear that from arrival to departure your experience exceeded expectations. If you like to stay fit when traveling next time you visit be sure to ask our front desk team about our complimentary yoga sessions for hotel guests on Saturday morning! Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back, soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to shopping and museums.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Only one night stay. Greeted with smiles and enthusiasm. Invited to hotel dog party but went to ISGM instead. Lobby beautiful, Oak Room nice (but expensive for breakfast!). Beds super-comfy, rooms quiet - no neighbor noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your visit exceeded expectations from the guestroom ambiance to our associates. We appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast pricing, we will be sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate team. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you again, soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoy

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Room was great. Staff were very friendly and competent.
Cons: Wifi charge.
Location: Liked the Globe. Which tore me away from O'Connor's in the Park, but not for long. The price of your pint? Clearly you are neither Irish or competent.
I usually stay at the Park Plaza. i like everything about this hotel except the nickel and dime you to death with the wifi, the narrow hallways, the pay much more attention to the people who walk through the door as opposed to those who are actually staying there. You need a better and moderately cheaper restaurant with a cheaper tap beer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portsmouth, nh

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Charm and location
Location: Shopping close by. Boston public library across the street. T stops easy access. Architectural delight!
Wonderful historic hotel! The staff could not have been more accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello Bubby, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that your visit exceeded expectations! Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back, soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Over priced

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Location: The location was great. Lots of shopping and restaurants (which you'll need since dining at the hotel is very expensive).
The rooms were small, the view horrible and there was a price tag on everything in the room except the bed, but you already paid for that so I guess they couldn't charge you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stately historic hotel in a fabulous location!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: The lobby is gorgeous and we loved the resident dogs greeting us. The location at Copley is close to the beautiful BPL and the Prudential and the T.
Cons: All staff was courteous except for a young woman at the front desk who was curt and never smiled or greeted me. She seemed annoyed my key didn't work.
Location: Right across from the beautiful, historic BPL, churches, and easy walk to to the Prudential Center and the Public Gardens and the Common.
Excellent hotel and I was in awe of the architecture and crystal chandeliers. We were able to walk all over Boston and enjoy viewing the Christmas lights throughout the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your 5-star review with fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear that you loved our location and you were able to meet our canine ambassadors. However, we are sorry to hear your experience with each of our team members did not exceed expectations, this is certainly not acceptable. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate teams for review. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Everything was wonderful. We decided to treat ourselves to a Thanksgiving Eve night away since we were having Thanksgiving dinner at the Oak Bar. We loved the ability to text anything that we needed. The only complaint we had was with the coffee station. All four coffee pods were decaf, no regular, and when I turned over one of the coffee cups, it was dirty. We would absolutely come back. The Fairmont Copley is a historic gem of elegance and class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us during your Thanksgiving celebrations. However, we are sorry to hear of the inconveniences you faced with your coffee station. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate teams. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Truly beautiful building with real history.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: It's history and glamour
Cons: Free internet access.
Location: Good central location, walking distance to shops and attractions
Lovely hotel with a mixture of 1920's glamour with a modern twist, good food and service but menu a little limited. Bar really buzzing and packed every evening with great atmosphere, and log fires giving it a cosy feeling with central location. We loved the easy atmosphere but were disappointed with the Internet charge thinking it expensive and a little outdated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hi Maria, thank you for sharing your review with fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Next time you visit ask our concierge team about the complimentary historic tours featuring the public space in the hotel. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back, soon.