Ratings based on 1,219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Everything was wonderful. We decided to treat ourselves to a Thanksgiving Eve night away since we were having Thanksgiving dinner at the Oak Bar. We loved the ability to text anything that we needed. The only complaint we had was with the coffee station. All four coffee pods were decaf, no regular, and when I turned over one of the coffee cups, it was dirty. We would absolutely come back. The Fairmont Copley is a historic gem of elegance and class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us during your Thanksgiving celebrations. However, we are sorry to hear of the inconveniences you faced with your coffee station. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate teams. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back, soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Truly beautiful building with real history.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: It's history and glamour
Cons: Free internet access.
Location: Good central location, walking distance to shops and attractions
Lovely hotel with a mixture of 1920's glamour with a modern twist, good food and service but menu a little limited. Bar really buzzing and packed every evening with great atmosphere, and log fires giving it a cosy feeling with central location. We loved the easy atmosphere but were disappointed with the Internet charge thinking it expensive and a little outdated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hi Maria, thank you for sharing your review with fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Next time you visit ask our concierge team about the complimentary historic tours featuring the public space in the hotel. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back, soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston Backbay

Great location but very mediocre in comparison

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Compared to other 4-5 star hotels in the same neighborhood, The Fairmont, shows many signs of being old and tattered after you leave the opulently renovated lobby and 1st floor bar. Our room (107) and all others on the south side of the hotel are up against a parking garage offering virtually no view whatsoever. Things were clean and the staff was pleasant but the real estate is old and tattered and isn't equal to that of the Taj, The Lenox, the Mandarin, or others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello Dean, thank you for reviewing your recent visit. We are happy to hear that the ambiance of the lobby and OAK Long Bar + Kitchen. However, we are sorry to hear that the rest of your experience did not exceed expectations. If you have time, please reach out as we would like to hear about you visit in more depth. Thank you again for your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Nice location, great historical hotel, fun bar (the oak room), parking is expansive however, $51 a night, and they do not offer car wash service. All rest is great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your 5-star stay with fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear that the location, ambiance, and OAK Long Bar + Kitchen exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation on offering car wash services, we will be sure to pass this along to our team. Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Employee MAKES weekend for visitors!!!!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Centrally located to Newbury Street shops as well as the Back Bay.
Was at the Fairmont Copley Square for a wedding and a one night stay. The young lady at the desk (Stephanie) was extremely courteous and helpful. Made our stay exceptional from the get go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello Don, thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We are delighted to hear that the location as well as Stephanie made your trip to Boston a memorable one. We will be sure to pass along your kind words as we know she would be delighted to hear. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again, soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, United States of America

Great for All Purposes

Posted Oct 22, 2016
I went for business, by t brought my wife. This was the perfect hotel for both. The Oak Long Bar is a great place to meet and entertain clients. The hotel is well known and easy to get to. For my wife, it was posh, elegant and wonderfully located. It kind of feels like the Plaza, but in Boston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Great Location and beautiful hotel. From the moment we entered we were impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your 5-star review. We are delighted to hear that from arrival to departure your visit exceeded expectations. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to our team as I am sure they would be delighted to hear they assisted in making your visit a memorable one. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

tired condition... staff one mistake after another

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Locations is central to great shopping, eating and entertainment
check in mistakes cost us an hour on a busy night... checked us into an occupied room... after correcting mistake, sent us to a room number that literally does not exist... staff were unpleasant (front desk, bell people, and valets)... rooms small but quite clean... hallways and hotel public areas worn down / tired
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel. However, we are sorry to learn of the issues you faced during check-in. We will be sure to pass along your feedback to the appropriate department for review and to ensure situations such as these do not arise in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooms, excellent service.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Central to many of Boston's attractions.
Loved it! Should we ever return to Boston, we will probably stay here again. Staff was knowledgeable about local attractions, food was excellent, and bar service was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that from arrival to departure your visit exceeded expectations! Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back, soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Old world hotel centrally located in the city

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: It is a grand old hotel with superb service and food and well located in the city
Cons: currently renovating the facility which it needs given it's age
Location: shopping, site seeing
In town for a couple of meetings and needed a convenient hotel location for meetings and for free time for shopping
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Hi David, thank you for the 5-star review. We are delighted to hear that you loved the location and that OAK Long Bar + Kitchen exceeded expectations. Next time you visit be sure to try the rosemary hearth baked bread, it is perfect for sharing (or not). Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again, soon.