Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Lovely location and beautiful building.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Loved the hotel building. Arrived quite late and the staff member I encountered was very nice and was expecting me by name, which I appreciated. The room was nice. I was expecting slightly better decor and finish for a 5 star but wasn't unhappy. The bathroom shower cubicle wasn't so well designed but all the amenities were there so it was fine. Some of the decor a little tired around the edges and the bed, while the linen was nice, wasn't the most comfy hotel bed I've slept in. Overall, a nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Exceptionalism at its Finest

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. We arrived at 8am even though check in wasn't until 3pm and they gave us a room regardless. They let us check out late because we had a late flight as well. The room was exceptional - clean and comfortable - with a gas fireplace, stock bar, and other wonderful amenities. We will stay here again without a doubt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Intimate sexy vibe....

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is very intimate. Very personal for a romantic getaway. The room was cozy and comfortable. Staff was accommodating and very friendly. Def a different vibe then a commercial hotel setting. We will be back for our next romantic getaway..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff very friendly; great room service.

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Birthday celebration-Valrohna chocolate cake; car service superior.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in a great, if noisy, location

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is great and the staff were extremely professional and welcoming. Near Boston Common, great walking and shopping nearby. I recommend bringing earplugs as some of the rooms are over a loading dock of some kind.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, okay services

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
Just a couple of glitches kept it from being a great stay. Construction just outside the street (not the hotel's fault, of course) led to an uncomfortable and awkward arrival with the police officers on duty actively yelling at unknowing guests (like us) who tried to pull into a very small area for valet parking. (Don't you just love starting a romantic weekend with friction from law enforcement?). Seemingly within the hotel's control, however, was the fire alarm that went off in our room at about 4am requiring everyone on my floor to evacuate the room and go down to the lobby just to be told it was a false alarm. For a hotel of this caliber I would expect at least an apology, at most a fruit platter, at being woken upon from a sound sleep, dragging our pyjama-clad bodies down the staircase, and out through a rainy alley just to get back inside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
The room was perfect, unfortunately there was very loud road construction outside our window.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like a private hotel, great location

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
I have been staying here since they opened in the late nineties. Property is well maintained/up to date and location is perfect. This is a high-end "private" hotel. Great alternative to cookie-cutter mass market hotels.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels