Ratings based on 2,090 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Good location/request a high floor room for views

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff is/was exceptional
Location: A stone's throw from great shopping/dining/barhopping/people-watching on Tremont & Newbury Streets
Very nice staff differentiates this Hilton from other area properties. While the hotel itself sits at a funny block angle that is rather dark, if you request a room on a high floor, you will be provided with excellent city and/or Cambridge views. Hotel has a great business/leisure center for Platinum Honors members as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel near Berklee College

Posted Feb 1, 2016
The hotel is located in Back Bay and is close to the college, restaurants and shopping on Newbury Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Boston. Sincerely, Dominique Marty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great Location But View is Gone

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Location, pool.
Location: Across from the Prudential Center and Prudential Center Mall and very near Copley Plaza. Numerous restaurants and shops within walking distance.
We have stayed at the Hilton Back Bay many times, but not in the past year. Imagine our surprise when our room with a "panoramic" view, faced a newly constructed building which completely obscured any view at all. This, of course, is not the fault of the staff, but be aware that the side of the building facing the Christian Science plaza is completely blocked. The only view you will have is the inside of a neighbor's condo. Otherwise, service was great, as usual, and the staff very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We apologize that part of your Panoramic view was obstructed. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back with a room facing the Charles River – It is spectacular! Warm Regards, Dominique Marty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Folsom, CA

Convenient, nicely located, safe hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Room - very nice, clean and comfortable. Front desk personnel - helpful and friendly. Proximity to Northeastern Univ, shopping, subway big plus.
Cons: I didn't think the workers there really know their surroundings well in being helpful for a person from out of the area. A map of area would be good.
Location: The Green 'T', Prudential Bldg Shopping Mall, Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks (outside the hotel), Reflecting Pool all within a 5 minute walking distance.
Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. This hotel is flanked by two major streets - Mass Ave. and Huntington. As a result, there are many eateries and shops available in this area. The best thing is that the subway, Green Line, is only a few minutes walk away. From there, you can always access the other subway lines. The Prudential Building is a great landmark is trying to get back to the hotel. Inside this building there is a hugh, two-story mall. There is also a great supermarket nearby for every day items as well on the go food. Would definitely stay here again if given a chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review! I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Boston. Sincerely, Dominique Marty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney australia

Awesome staff, room and service

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Calvin and the staff were amazing, fantastic spot and amazing breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your experience at the Back Bay Hilton. I appreciate you taking the time to compliment our staff and restaurant! I am fortunate to have a great team that focuses on taking care of our guests, and I thank you for noting it. I look forward to welcoming you back to Boston. – Dominique Marty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Great location!

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Very close to metro station, shopping and eating. Spacious and quiet rooms. breakfast is expensive but there is an Starbucks inside the hotel, and a mall in front the hotel with options. I will return. Thanks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenient location that we offer our guests. We look forward to your return! Sincerely, Dominique Marty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Room reeked of cigarette smoke when we arrived. I tried to call the front desk to ask for a different room, but nobody answered the phone. I had to return to the front desk with my bags to get another room. The exit "arm" of the hotel's garage didn't work. My husband had to get out of the car and find the doorman to open the exit so we could pull out our car. Later we were told by another guest that the exit arm hadn't worked for several days. I would not stay here again. I would give the hotel a maximum of 3 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We value guest feedback as we are constantly looking for ways to improve. Your comments have been reviewed by our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Engineering so that we may avoid these problems in the future. We hope you will reconsider your choice to stay with us again so that we can give you the stay that you deserve. Sincerely, Dominique Marty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Beds were uncomfortable. Should be replaced. Everything else was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that your comfort was interrupted during your stay with us. I have reviewed your comment regarding the mattress to our Director of Housekeeping. We hope to welcome you back in the future and exceed your expectations! Sincerely, Dominique Marty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
The staff was pleasant. The room was sufficient, but allowed in noise from the hallway, the rooms next door, and through a vent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Your kind words about our staff are much appreciated. We always appreciate hearing from our Guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods, we regret that noise was disruptive to you. I apologize that you're comfort was interrupted by other Guests and I have shared your review with our security team. I do hope the next time you return to Boston you consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Dominique Marty
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Philly, PA

Convenient hotel across from the Prudential Shops

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: I like the location and it was close to the T.
Cons: The lobby could have more going on. It was pretty boring looking and didn't make me want to hang out there.
Location: It's right next to the Science Christian center, the Prudential mall which means the cheesecake factory is nearby, and Newbury St.
They were able to accommodate me for early check-in and late checkout. There isn't much happening in the lobby and they only have free Wi-Fi there. I stayed there for only one night. I enjoyed the fitness room, pool, and hot tub all to myself. The reason I chose this hotel is for those amenities. It was also conveniently across from the Prudential shops. I would cross through the Hotel across the street to get to the stores and restaurants. My room was pretty big and the bed was really comfortable. I had gotten the standard king room and it was perfect for a one night stay.