Ratings based on 1,013 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel to stay at with kids. Great for Adults

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
Traveling for work and chose this hotel due to it's proximity to a job site. Brought along my wife and two kids to do the tourist thing while I was working. This hotel is not a great hotel for kids. No pool, no area outside to run around, but there is a movie theater next door. For adults it is perfect. Very quiet hotel. Incredibly friendly staff and a very well stocked bar on first floor. There is a Whole Foods right next door. Very good restaurants within are within a mile. Free hotel shuttle takes you to Harvard Square with last pickup from Harvard Square at 9:30pm. Traffic circle out front is a BEAST in the Morning & Afternoon Rush Hour traffic! Don't drive anywhere unless you have to. There is a major train & bus hub within a mile's walk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
Location is not optimal, freepoint is almost a mile away from the closest train station (even though there is a free shuttle service that departs every 30 mins from the hotel). Restaurant is also very slow to deliver orders because they have a small staff. However the rooms are clean, the design of the hotel is cool and modern, there are functional eating options nearby and the reception staff is efficient.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
I booked a King bed online and after checking into my room, I found out the staff member had assigned us a room with 2 double beds. I called the front desk to notify them of the mistake, and they said they didn't have any king rooms available. Not only did they overbook the room that I had reserved, but they didn't tell me that at check in. They just put us in a different room with no explanation. Very poor customer service for an overpriced room. Do not recommend booking as the staff does not respect their guests and compensate them when the hotel makes a mistake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Really great stay!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: I loved the decor of the rooms, the bathroom was awesome, the lobby was very nice.
Cons: Nothing. We had a great experience.
Location: There is a Starbucks in the building and a Dunkin' Donuts right around the corner. There is a Whole Foods, Panera, and movie theatre.
We had a great stay at Hotel Tria. It is very clean and newly remodeled. There is a pool table in the lobby and the kids loved that. There is a Starbucks in the lobby and I loved that! Overall, a really nice place to stay - lots around for shopping and food and convenient location to our destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with new, light, airy touches

Posted May 10, 2017
Easy walk to Harvard Square and good food in the hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Odd things

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the location in Cambridge where I needed to be each day during my visit.
During the night of arrival - and during a dead sleep - and after forgetting to engage the physical bar to prevent the door from opening - I was startled awake by my room door opening. I yelled out. The person at the door said that she thought the room was empty. I allowed otherwise. She apologized and left. I supposed she was hotel staff, but in retrospect, it could have been another guest who was also given my room. Unrelated, during a previous stay, my room was equipped with a microwave, but not on this trip. I asked at the desk, and was told that microwaves are now provided only upon request. I had to request twice before getting one, but I did receive one in the end. Construction/remodeling appears to be ongoing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Nice hotel in convenient location

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Convenience, and comfortable rooms.
Cons: I would reinstate the complimentary breakfast.
Location: Harvard Square, and some good restaurants close by.
The hotel has been renovated so the interior has been updated and the furnishings were nice. The lobby bar is good. Parking cost 16 dollars a night. Also, under previous management, there was a complimentary breakfast. Now breakfast is a la carte. There is a good Starbucks next to the hotel and two Dunkin' Donuts pretty close, so there were plenty of options for breakfast. Hotel still has a regular shuttle to Harvard Square which made staying there very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near everything!

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Hotel was finishing up renovations that have drastically improved the facility. Lobby still being worked on but rooms are tastefully renovated with nice design details. Work out room was updated and had new equipment. Hotel is located near shopping center and whole foods, a few restaurants. I would book again...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice overall

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The housekeeper needs to attend before 4Pm. I had a kids with cough so "Private" message was on the door till 4:10 to find out housekeepers are gone for the day. Had trash and bed was unmade. The front was lady was nice enough to come and collect trash. Just remembered to have room cleaned by 4pm
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Failed remodel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Cons: Dump the goofy couch and bring back the work desk. Put a good easy chair/recliner in every room
Hotel was recently remodeled from Hotel Tria to Freepoint -- in the process they discarded the work desk and chair in the rooms, and left a big hole where a good easy chair should be. Your only recourse is to sit on the bed, or attempt to sit on the ridiculous designer couch (i.e.: no back support) the installed in place of a good work desk. Total failure ...