Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dormitory hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Reminded me of my student years. Small but very comfortable, building with history and lots of character. No elevator though. Breakfast had lots of choices, laundry available downstairs, internet access. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Parking was tight, but they had extra lot down the street. We had fun
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scituate, MA

It was more like a rooming house than a B&B.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: It was fairly close to Harvard Square if you cut through Harvard Yard....but be careful at night if traveling alone.
Cons: Lower the price and widen the parking. At check-in give guests a heads-up on what the real situation is with parking.
Location: We were in Cambridge for a show at Passim's (famous Club), in Harvard Square. There is a heavy student presence. There is little parking.
I was underwhelmed by this over-priced B&B that felt more like a rooming house. I think it was staffed by college kids or maybe grad students who were nice but not offering any extra hospitality. Anyway, they were non-challant about the parking situation, even when we called to tell them we were stuck in traffic and needed to know about parking as we (later) noticed the the web site stated there was "limited parking" and what did that mean... Unless you have a scooter or clown car, don't expect an easy-in, easy-out of the parking area. Most people needed help from others directing them through the narrow drive & small parking spots that also had cars parked along the side. Only a place in Cambridge could get away with this.... The room was clean but small. The complimentary coffee was somewhere in the basement, my wife finally found it (thought she was lost). I'd give this a "3" out of "5" on a good day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to Harvard.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Room was very clean. Breakfast great. Very nice B&B
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Good choice when Harvard is the destination

Posted Sep 8, 2016
No frills, budget friendly choice in safe location. Staff need a lesson in customer service, and housekeeping/ maintenance in commons areas needs attention, but for the price it is a good deal. Free parking & breakfast are great additions. I had a Q bed & pvt bath for $115/ nt. Internet did not work, however. Used my iPhone hotspot. I was not asked about any disabilities when registering. While I look healthy, I have significant arthritis which is flaring at present and was assigned a 4th floor room (walk-up). Though 2 young people and a woman younger than I were at the registration desk, no one offered to help me with my bag.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I had a brief, pleasant stay at Irving House which boasts a courteous staff, lovely rooms and a fantastic breakfast spread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice little place to stay near Harvard

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We found the hotel staff to be friendly and courteous and helpful overall. All the nearby hotels are pricey so we were not expecting anything fancy at this price. Our room was on the 4th floor. You have to carry your own luggage up to your rom. We were there during the late summer and it was relatively warm in our room despite AC. The hotel staff got us a fan, which got the job done. The free parking is a big plus since most others charge for parking. Breakfast was actually pretty good. Bath room is small and has a shower but no tub. Room was clean. Overall a cute place, a little old, like a BnB, but you have to know it's nothing like a big hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Extremely loud air conditioning very unfriendly staff. Terrible breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: I liked Harvard square, the area where the hotel is situated. The room is clean.
Cons: Staff need training in being more welcoming and helpful
Location: Lots of things to do around the area from museums to shopping and very close to public transport
Very expensive for a closet sized room and rather aloof staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint, convenient to Harvard, not luxurious

Posted May 13, 2016
Quaint, clean and safe B&B. It's an old house which means you can hear muted noise from other rooms (footsteps, muted voices). Front desk staff could be trained to be a bit friendlier, but they were professional. Breakfast is pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable and convenient

Posted Apr 15, 2016
We are a family of 4 with 2 teen boys. The room was very large and had a queen bed and a set of twins. The inn was walking distance from the Red T line and was easy to get around even for a first timer. Would definitely return