Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Walking distance to Harvard campus

Posted Apr 25, 2017
This is where you want to stay if you are visiting campus. It's a very short walk from the guesthouse to campus. Clean rooms, friendly staff and awesome breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I think this is not hotel, but bnb.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
no elevator (ooops, my room in 3F), uncomfatable bed, noise after room, terrible food.. In my opinion, inn is better than irving house.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, tiny room. A little bit noisy

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location and the breakfasts were good. Nice lounge.
Cons: price, size of room. but a minor quibble.
Location: Harvard Art Museum and Harvard Sq
2nd time we've been there. Nice people but a little on the expensive side for the size of the room. No elevators, so you should be fit. Rooms vary in size. We had a decent sized room for 2 of us the first time but a tiny one the second time. If you like the bed and breakfast experience and have stuff to do around Harvard, it's a good to ok choice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive for quality of rooms

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The people at the Irving house are great, but many of the rooms are not. The quality and comfort of the rooms is extremely variable which is a big gamble for the price.
5 out of 5
by Flavia

Comfortable and Clean Hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
It was amazing! I would indicate to everyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice B&B style stay!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Clean and wonderful staff! Snack and hot beverages were always available.
Location: Cafe just around the block, Harvard near as well as museums and activities. Shopping and food less than a 10 minute walk.
Friendly and accommodating staff! Good location to all things Harvard Square. Very clean! Room size was just perfect for me. Temps outside were subzero and funny enough in my room it was sometimes a bit too warm. There was no way to regulate the temperature other than to open a window.
5 out of 5
by Laura

Great little gem...

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
This was a last minute trip with my daughter. The location was perfect to walk into Harvard Square, the T, etc. The accommodations were bright and cheerful, clean and the service was great. We enjoyed our breakfasts as well as the tea/coffee/muffins served throughout the day. IWhile the parking was tight, it was on location and free which is hard to find in the city. I will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Felicia

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Cute old place, showing its age but very clean. The guy working the front desk was extremely helpful when I arrived soaking from rain and needed dinner recommendations. Good breakfast. Poor sound insulation, as to be expected from a historic building.
4 out of 5
by Ece

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy affordable place to stay in Harvard

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Really pleasant and affordable place to stay near Harvard. Convenient location for Harvard University (5 minutes walk from Harvard Square, with a choice of shops and restaurants). Breakfast was well stocked and fresh. The shared bathrooms were kept very clean and there was always a free bathroom when I needed one. Wifi worked well and was relatively fast. Room was a bit on the small side but had good storage and desk with a couple nice lamps to make it feel cozy. Only downside was the walls are quite thin (as other reviews have also mentioned) so I could hear my neighbors quite a lot, although with some ear plugs I had no trouble sleeping. For me, overall I had a very comfortable stay and would definitely consider staying here again in the future.