Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly area

Still a nice place to stay

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: What's not to like? Great place!
Cons: Parking is available just below the street level but is 'tight' and challenging.
Location: Boutiques and small neighborhood restaurants are right on nearby Massachusetts Ave. MBTA or Bus96 to Harvard Sq.
This recent stay at Mary Prentiss Inn [MPI] was a 'follow-up' to our earlier September visit to this Inn. It was a really nice stay once again. Quaint and historic with some modern niceties for comfort. Breakfast is truly consistently delicious and ample servings. What is such a reflection of the warmth in this Inn is the staff that works there. Such really warm, nice, courteous and accommodating folks! Some of the staff have been employed over ten years at MPI. Strongly recommend MPI for a really nice stay in the historic Cambridge area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Lovely B&B Close to Harvard

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: Quaint, great location, clean, comfortable
Cons: Wish the room had a full length mirror
Location: Close to Harvard and the T. Lots of food and shopping close by.
Loved this B&B. My room was private and well appointed. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alison from NYC

Great spot. Shh, don't tell!

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Great, cute hotel. Cute often goes with tired or dirty. Not this one. Cute = great, charming, attention to detail. I wish I could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lukewarm recommendation, with caveats

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
A charming B&b with a great location. However, two major issues: 1) the floorboards everywhere creak and I was awakened throughout the night by people walking by. 2) the earliest breakfast offered is at 730am, and there is no alternative. So if you have a flight before 930am or a meeting downtown before 9am, you will be paying for a nice meal that you will not be able to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Gutes Hotel mit freundlichem Service.

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Gutes Hotel mit freundlichem Service und Charme liegt c.a. 10-15 Min zu Fuß zum Harard Square. 5 - 10 min zur U-Bahn (red line). Frühstück ist gut und kann auch auf in kleinen Innenhof/Terasse eingenommen werden. In direkter Nähe gibt es alles was man benötigt. Einziger Minuspunkt: Wir hatten Zimmer unter dem Dach, so dass aufrecht Duschen nicht wirklich gut möglich hat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
We so enjoyed the charm of this historic building, and felt warmly welcomed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia area, PA

Mary Prentiss Inn is a charming B & B

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: See above.
Cons: Parking accommodations were limited and challenging. The B&B has seemed to try making use the available 'footprint' of the existing area.
Location: See above.
Mary Prentiss Inn (built 1843) is a really nice, comfortable B&B which reflects the charm, the architecture and the sense of by-gone era but with current creature comforts. On a quiet street but near stores and transportation to Harvard Sq. or Boston. Not ultra-modern in any way but really nice, clean and super well-maintained. Our room reflected more of the turn-of-the century in 4 poster bed, linens and wall paper. The Common Room off the patio and Garden Room were beautiful and welcoming; this is where breakfast and afternoon tea were offered. Good food; great baked cookies, etc. The housekeeping staff kept the place spotless often without notice. Inn's front desk persons were welcoming and informative. Lindsay was just outstanding in her professionalism and personal warmth. Our wait-staff Odair could not have been more warm and helpful [shout out to Brazil, smile]. Parking while offered free is very limited and challenging. Gratefully we 'lucked out' in this area. We will return in next several months. Mary Prentiss Inn is a very nice B&B!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Denmark

good choice

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
great breakfast