Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The shower was amazing. The bed was comfortable. The morning staff was very accommodating and friendly.
Cons: I do not know what was up with the night staff person. But the same treatment needs to be given to everyone who walks in the door. Get better internet
Location: Great location
When I arrived at night the man at the desk seemed totally taken aback as if he had seen a ghost. I am a Black male but would like to think this had nothing to do with it. During check in he kept losing his train of thought and seemed spooked. Very bizarre. He gave me my key took me to my room. While in my room I heard him telling another person who was checking in all about the guest house (breakfast in the morning, the kitchen area, etc.) all things he neglected to tell me so I came out of my room and in front of this lady, asked him very nicely to tell me all the things he just told this lady (who happened to be white) that he did not tell me. He promptly apologized and proceeded to give me the normal details anyone would normally get checking in. The room looked clean but smelled horrible. Internet went out in the night and did not return until morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Excellent guest house with a great location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Parking right out back (for a fee) made life so much easier.
Cons: The rooms (at least ours) was a bit small, but that's to be expected in an old building.
Location: Very close to mass transit, BSO, Berklee, New England Conservatory. An easy walk to Fine Arts Museum, Northeastern, Boston College, Fenway, Cambridge.
Oasis is a perfect spot for a Boston visit. We received a friendly welcome and it was so easy to come and go - to do all that we wanted and needed to do in the course of three days. I will definitely return to Oasis next time I'm spending time in Boston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you Douglas! We're so pleased that you gave us a top rating, and truly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, NJ

Nice hotel and close to the center of the city

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Nice breakfast
Cons: Please make room warmer
Everything was fine, nice complex, nice stuff and good breakfast, except the room I lived in got no heat. Kind of cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you for your good rating and your feedback Vera. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the staff and the breakfast. We're sorry that your room wasn't warm to your liking. Occasionally guests close the heating vents and your room may have been overlooked for re-opening them, in which case we sincerely apologize. We also offer space heaters to guests who prefer extra warmth. We hope to have you stay with us again, we promise to make your stay just right! Thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Very clean room and very quiet. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Eric T, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude manager.

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: I can't submit the review without rating the hotel facilities, but I wasn't even able to get in.
Worst experience ever!! My niece was supposed to meet her friend in this B&B, so I made a reservation for 1 room and planned to add more rooms for 4 more people(my 80-year-old parents and my 10-year daughter) later. The flight got delayed and arrived at midnight. Called the 800 number to confirm if it was still open for check-in. The answer was yes. I also asked on the phone to see if it was possible to get another room or an upgrade, but the man on the phone hang up on me. The taxi took us there but the man was mad when he saw all of us. I said since I already booked one room, I would drop off my niece only. However the man said he didn't want any of us staying there. The taxi driver was shocked to hear this and he took us to the nearby Hilton!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Small comfortable room, good location

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Small room but comfortable. Continental breakfast was a big spread. Good location- near Hynes, symphony hall, shopping and restaurants (incl some cheap eats!). Easy walk to T. Would def stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Front Desk Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for feedback, we're very pleased to know that you stay was comfortable and that you found the breakfast to your liking! We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West

Excellent location, decent price

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The main person I interacted with was very helpful & pleasant (Eric, I think?). I liked the building, the location, having breakfast downstairs.
Cons: Breakfast could be more varied (though with eggs every day). Better soap. Better heating.
Location: It's quite near the Boston Public Library, lots of fancy shops & restaurants. Near a T station, on the Green line.
The room I had was pleasant, possibly a little bigger than some (though the one across the hall did look bigger), with a decent bathroom. I was in the Adams building. (They have 2 buildings next door to one another.) My room was noticeably cold, but they gave me a space heater & extra blanket, so it was OK. (The ceilings are high & the only 2 vents were in the ceiling; presumably the whole floor is like that. Probably the floor above has its vents in the floor.) The breakfast is nice, & fairly healthy. (On the first 2 days there were HB eggs, but none for the last 2 days.) If you stay there as long as I did, it will start to look unvaried, as the choices don't change (unless they disappear). If you get your own bathroom, there is shampoo provided (no conditioner), with very small, brittle soaps that immediately break into shards. But overall it's a good deal, very good location. I can imagine staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Eric and the Front Desk Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you Joanne for your gracious and honest feedback. We strive to make our guests happy and will consider your feedback as we continue to make improvements. Our Adams building is undergoing renovations now and will be completed in February sometime. Thanks again, we are happy you stayed with us and hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

A Great and Affordable Place to Stay in Boston

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff, and the cleanliness of the premises throughout.
Cons: If you have a large or valuable car, use the garage down the street and not the tight spaces in the alley behind the guest house.
Location: The aquarium in Boston is a treat. Where else can you see a 90-year-old turtle which weighs 550 pounds???
My daughter and I booked two rooms at the Oasis Guest House while in Boston to visit family over Thanksgiving. We could not have been more pleased by the spotlessness of the guest house throughout, and especially the impeccable condition and cleanliness of our rooms. One of the owners staffed the management office during the daytime for some of the time we were there, and other staff were on duty at other times. All were friendly and helpful. The daily breakfasts of fresh coffee, pastries, rolls, muffins, breads, cereal, and hard boiled eggs were all fresh and of superior quality. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Richard, Hotel Management
Thank you Seth, for your feedback and positive words. We greatly appreciate it and are so pleased that you and your daughter found the guest house clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Ok hotel close to Harvard Medical School

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Close to Harvard Medical School
Cons: Provide door locking bolts so that I can lock the door from inside when I am inside the room.
The biggest problem is that there is no door locking bolt from the inside of the room. Therefore, anybody who has the key can open the door from outside. So, the biggest let down is privacy/security concerns.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by Front Desk Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you, Rashmi, for your feedback and rating. Following recent renovations, the door security bars needed to be re-sized, and are being corrected. Thank you again, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed the service and coziness of this hotel. Location was perfect for walking to close by attractions in Back Bay and Fenway. Whole Foods and CVS are just right down the road. The only downside was the room size was small and that A/C had no control so we had to open the windows to get airflow but ended up having to close them because of the road noise and people walking. Front desk service was awesome though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and 4-start rating. We are sorry that you found the room size a little small, and issues with the air conditioning. Our room vary in size to meet varying guest needs, so perhaps next time contact us first and we will be sure you find a larger room. Air conditioning is centrally controlled by zones throughout the property, and can be adjusted by contacting the front desk. Thanks again, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again!