Ratings based on 1,501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
We needed a hotel for an overnight stay before leaving for Nantucket. We'd stayed at Kimptons before, and never been disappointed. The Onyx was no exception...well situated in the North End, within walking distance to all the great Italian and Seafood restaurants. Would definitely recommend the Onyx...quiet, well appointed and great location. Oh...and the staff was super cool and helpful with dinner suggestions and directions!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Jessica Lavin - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the stellar review. I hope you had as much fun on the island as you did at the Onyx. Save travels, Jessica
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Not worth the money

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The room was small. Beds were very uncomfortable. Trash not emptied. Lamps didn't work. Had to ask twice for soap and shampoo. Valet parking is not optional and additional outrageous fee added daily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by jessica.lavin@onyxhotel.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry it was not what you expected and there was some challenges with service. I hope you had a great time in Boston. Best, Jessica
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C I

Onyx July

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Good location. Very quiet. Very central. I would definitely recommended this hotel for business or pleasure. The Kimpton Brand is never disappointing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county, CA

Got better

Posted Jul 20, 2016
When you check into a hotel, you want to feel happy that you chose it when you arrive. I did not initially feel that way when we arrived. I don't normally write reviews, but this was my first real vacation in 3 years and I was so disappointed. However, Harold made all the difference. He moved us to a different room, we were able to use kayaks at the sister hotel, he seemed to genuinely care about our experience, and all and all he made it a great experience. I just want to say thank you. Your customer service is truly appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
I really appreciate you taking the time to write this review even if it is your first. I am sorry that you didn't feel the connection when you first arrived, and I'm happy to see that Harald was able to change that around for you. It makes a huge difference, and knowing your experience will help correct it. Thanks again, Jessica
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Great customer service Harold the manager was very helpful we left our iPad and they sent immediately. The room service was great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for reaching out and I'm happy to see you were reunited! Come back soon! Jessica
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel while visiting Boston.

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Highly recommended. Was very close to all the sights and history of Boston. This location is on Portland St. in the North End.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Jessica - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5 stars, and great review :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nee york

Quite hotel and a helpful staff

Posted Jun 24, 2016
I like staying in onyx hotel especially some of their staff like the reception are very kind and helpful, but I have some concern ,the room is very small and the Windows we can't open even the curtain because it over sees the other room as if no privacy at all, so we can't open the curtain window at all our 5 days stay ,the chair for the office is vey big , not suitable for the place, always hitting our feet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Jessica - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for giving us such valuable feedback regarding your stay with us. I appreciate it very much. Safe travels!
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Chicago, IL

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice and the front desk staff has excellent restaurant recommendations.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Jessica Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome note Andrew, sounds like you had a great time! Jessica
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel!

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
Easy to access metro. Bery kind staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Jessica Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience with us! Safe travels, Jessica
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brutal

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible service by the staff who dont care to help clients or help with peoples needs knowing people are coming from out of town and spending alot of money to stay at their hotel. The lady at the desk refused to serve me because my booking was under my bosses name then sent me away, lucky for me my bosses wife was walking by and she was registered under the booking, i then went back on hotels.com and saw my name. I was also disappointed that my wake up call didnt come through and the clock in room 209 doesnt work. I stay at nice hotels all over the country and would not recommend this hotel go to one of the other hotels in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Jessica Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. It is very important for us to know and I'm very sorry that your experience was not was you expected. We will be reviewing your comments with our operations team to ensure this does not happen again. Best wishes, Jessica