Ratings based on 1,742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Beautiful hotel . Service is uneven but I would go again .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but not 4 star

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Find location and ok hotel. For an American hotel to get 4 or 5 stars IMHO you must have a real nice bath and a separate 🚿 shower. Seemed old.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The worst travel experience ever

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Nothing
The worst travel experience ever. Starts with bed smell in the hallways. Continues with slow, almost clogged drains, broken toilet. Reported problems to the front desk, nothing happened. The real "masterpiece" was blowing fan instead of the air conditioner in the restaurant. And that was on the top of the waiters bad attitude, whose vest had stains all over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of character

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Cons: Better internet
My stay was lovely, the only down side of my stay was the Internet was terrible,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Ol' Lady

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Only stayed at the Taj for one night, and I enjoyed the stay. The rooms were large and clean but the hotel is definitely past it's prime. It has a faded grandeur and is in desparate need of an upgrade. I loved the wide corridors and understated elegance, the four poster was the most comfortable bed I have slept in, and the cleaning staff were lovely. Easy access to high end shopping, walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Loved Boston it is such a great city! Taj Boston hotel could not be in a better location the Back Bay Area is so beautiful with loads of places to eat and shop!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

A jewel fronting Boston Public Garden

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Classy and charming hotel in perfect location in front of a beautiful park, close to shopping, great food, train station. Gorgeous room. Great soaking bathtub. Excellent staff. Made our stay very memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Celebrating a 50th Birthday...

Posted Aug 26, 2015
The former Ritz-Carlton is a lovely place to stay. It's location is perfect - right across from the public garden - and the amenities are nice. These days the clientele is heavily non-US with families and business professionals. Our breakfast was expensive but WONDERFUL as with the wait staff. A very enjoyable experience....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice top end hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Overall the room and staff were great. We had a room overlooking the Common and it was very nice ... great view and surprisingly quiet. Our only complaint was that the restaurant was very overpriced for the quality and so we went out to the neighborhood restaurants which were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: More restaurants in the hotel- perhaps morning cafe/in- room coffee maker.
Location: Everything in walking distance- all tourist destinations, excellent shopping, restaurants, public transportation-trolleys, subway, etc. perfect locati
Great hotel/ very convenient location/ very attentive staff/ from arrival to departure- everything was excellent! Would definately stay again! Great stay !