Ratings based on 2,426 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with no parking lot and expensive valets

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Worst since it had no parking lot and can't access valets entrance. I had to find the public parking and walk down to hotel 10 min for in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bingham maine

It was absolutely amazing !

Posted Feb 16, 2017
It is a beautiful place ! People are amazing ! I will be staying there again ! Absolutely love it there !! Rooms are beautiful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great place to stay in Boston!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Terrific hotel! Friendly and helpful staff! Room was clean and neat. Our go-to hotel when visiting Boston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Delightful Stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Close to Public Garden on Newbury Street in Boston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: clean, great & friendly staff
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect location, right across from Central park
We had a great experience and the staff was so helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inconsistencies at the Taj

Posted Feb 4, 2017
I've stayed twice recently before at the Taj. Each time I check it, it seems like a different hotel (which was in this case not a great thing). Last time, newspapers delivered to the door each morning; a breakfast room set up on the second floor. This time I was told there would be no newspapers (quote "we are changing with the times"- ironic when they aren't delivering the Times!). Instead they write some code on the keycard holder to read papers online (gee, thanks- I already know how to look online). But then mysteriously a paper appeared on Friday morning on the doorknob! And then I went down to the second floor for breakfast- a nice setup for those wanting a buffet. And there was nothing, and no sign. So back down to the main floor café, which was ok. And then there's the rooms- kind of stale decor, tiny bathroom this time, and the amenities had changed from nicer Molton Brown to more generic Gilchrist and Soames. Not sure what is up, but the management is not keeping on top of things. Check-in experience was also bad- there were issues about the rate, but the desk clerk was not very understanding about my confusion with the application Expedia's points. Oh well, I will probably try another hotel next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to shopping

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very nice staff. Great room and a super comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best location.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Needs renovation. Found hallways and rooms to be dirty
Location: Everything is right there
Excellent location. Lacks attention to detail but extremely pleased with staff and accommodation. Can't beat the view of Boston Commons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
This hotel is dated and needs rehab , staff very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They're milking their location

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Stayed in an executive suite. Spacious enough, but dimly lit, and the place looks straight out of the forties. Not in a retro sort of way, but in a "Geez, Grandma and Grandpa haven't done much with the place" kind of way. Bathroom was plain and small. Staff was friendly but failed on little things you would expect from a "luxury" hotel. I arrived early, and the woman who checked me in said they would call my cell when the suite was ready (I needed to move a business conversation from lunch to the suite when ready). They didn't. I had to step away from my meeting to call, only to find out that the room was in fact ready. I booked the room for two people (my wife joined me that evening), but there was only one robe. And so on. Also, food was awful. The next day, my wife had breakfast in The Cafe, which was not at all the quality you'd expect for $30--right down to the fruit plate where a blueberry was stuck to cantelope by mold. The place is long in the tooth. Time for an overhaul.