Ratings based on 2,459 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

good service, mediocre hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This hotel cost more than it should have. The staff was extremely pleasant and service was wonderful, but the building itself just feels outdated. Couch was uncomfortable and windows were very drafty and wind could be heard howling outside all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Have stayed over 5 times and will keep coming back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, NY

No Change in 37 years

Posted Mar 5, 2017
I started staying at the Ritz Carlton 37 years ago: they have kept all of the best hotel in Boston. The bar is wonderful: sitting and looking out on the Common, with great wines and real almonds! There is no better breakfast anywhere. The food is in keeping with the setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Location: Right on Boston Common, walking distance to great restaurants and shopping
Excellent service, the deal with the included breakfast was amazing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Real Luxury

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Cons: Some maintenance details (we got locked in the room after the door knob broke...
Location: Perfect location, very central still quiet
Exceptional service, loved the real fireplace and the "firewood menu"
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Maine

Huge Disappoint & Hotel Very Apathetic

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Cons: Room security, customer service, staff followup - you're only as good as your response when there is a customer problem.
I decided to stay at the Taj to really treat myself during an overnight trip. I found the hotel to be upscale, if a bit dated and run down, the views top notch and the service prompt. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room clean, save for a few strangers hairs left in the shower. My main issue is my room was entered was Housekeeping Staff and an expensive bottle of wine taken. We immediately called the front desk, spoke with several people and were assured a resolution. It's now been nearly a week and despite dropping a whopping $600 between the room and meals at this place in one night, I've yet to hear a peep. I would not stay at this hotel in the future. You have many options in the same area for half the price and none of the hassle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

An excellent hotel reminiscent of the old Raj days

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I loved the free shoe shine service. Great facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from caoe cod

Excellent staff!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet
Very accomadating staff. Hotel has old world charm, but the internet needs to be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel, short walk to restaurants, park, shopp

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I always enjoy staying at the Taj Boston. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city and many of its rooms offer a beautiful view of the Public Gardens. The staff is always very friendly, personable and helpful. They have a nice exercise room that does not get too crowded and is kept clean. The only issue I've ever had here is the sinks getting clogged (two different stays) and the shower water pressure is a bit light.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with no parking lot and expensive valets

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Worst since it had no parking lot and can't access valets entrance. I had to find the public parking and walk down to hotel 10 min for in and out.