Ratings based on 2,473 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

The Taj Hotel is the best hotel in Boston

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location and the condition of the facilites.
Location: Walking distance to Newbury street shops, Copley Plaza and Prudential Center. Nice restaurants and coffee shops in the area.
The Taj Hotel is very well located, next to shops, restaurants and the Park. The hotel staff is very friendly. And they have an awesome Indian restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect location for Boston Marathon

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: LOCATION!
Cons: Unfortunately, we were there during a period of construction next door to our room! We suffered two early mornings of construction noise.
Location: Across the street from the Public Garden and Boston Common. Walking distance to Freedom Trail, Cheers, and Boston Marathon Finish line.
Amazing location, great view, clean room, and a friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Fantastic Location and Amazing Views of Boston

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location.
Cons: Friendlier doormen.... but it IS Boston. (hahaha)
Location: There are a ton of great restaurants, wonderful and unique shops, the Boston Garden and near the theater district. The BEST location ever!!!
For some unknown reason, I was upgraded to a suite on the 11th floor overlooking the Boston Garden. WOW!! The view was spectacular. The room was large and comfortable. I didn't use any of the restaurants but the location was perfect (I had business a few blocks away) and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Old world luxury

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Very cheerful and respectful.
Cons: I'm a bit of a clean freak, and room (while by no means dirty) could use a more thorough deep clean.
Location: Boston's Public Garden & Common (Swan boats). Newbury Street and 1 block from Boyleston Street for shopping/restauants. Very walkable.
Overnight stay. Wonderful location across from Public Garden. Exquisite grande dame hotel (former Ritz Carleton). Other than spotty wifi - excellent stay. Working fireplace with complimentary firewood/lighting service 24 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the park

Posted Apr 13, 2017
I booked two nights, the prince of the second night was higher than the first night. You settled us in the same cheep room two days.But no one explained how to deal with the more money that I had paid
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Good. Old hotel with little updates but spacious and great location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in need of some attention

Posted Apr 7, 2017
I have stayed here twice before, and was looking forward to my trip. However, when I got to my room I noticed a horrible decline in the place. The decor was plain, the bathroom grout had mildew, lots of crud under the sink, cracked tiles, $25 light fixture over the sink, bath faucet an inch off the wall, shower trickled from scalding to tepid, half the TV channels were missing, fully stocked minibar but no kettle or coffee. For what they charge for the room this was a huge disappointment. There are many boutique hotels in the area, so don't waste your money and stay elsewhere until this hotel gets renovated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Great hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The staff at the Taj is the best! Makes all the difference. This is,my go to hotel in Boston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r

Location Location Location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
I Stay for 5 nights. Great location. Good service. Breakfast lack of creativity, specially coming from this kind of brand.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

good service, mediocre hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This hotel cost more than it should have. The staff was extremely pleasant and service was wonderful, but the building itself just feels outdated. Couch was uncomfortable and windows were very drafty and wind could be heard howling outside all night.