Ratings based on 1,740 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lots of character

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Cons: Better internet
My stay was lovely, the only down side of my stay was the Internet was terrible,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Ol' Lady

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Only stayed at the Taj for one night, and I enjoyed the stay. The rooms were large and clean but the hotel is definitely past it's prime. It has a faded grandeur and is in desparate need of an upgrade. I loved the wide corridors and understated elegance, the four poster was the most comfortable bed I have slept in, and the cleaning staff were lovely. Easy access to high end shopping, walking distance to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Loved Boston it is such a great city! Taj Boston hotel could not be in a better location the Back Bay Area is so beautiful with loads of places to eat and shop!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

A jewel fronting Boston Public Garden

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Classy and charming hotel in perfect location in front of a beautiful park, close to shopping, great food, train station. Gorgeous room. Great soaking bathtub. Excellent staff. Made our stay very memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Celebrating a 50th Birthday...

Posted Aug 26, 2015
The former Ritz-Carlton is a lovely place to stay. It's location is perfect - right across from the public garden - and the amenities are nice. These days the clientele is heavily non-US with families and business professionals. Our breakfast was expensive but WONDERFUL as with the wait staff. A very enjoyable experience....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice top end hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Overall the room and staff were great. We had a room overlooking the Common and it was very nice ... great view and surprisingly quiet. Our only complaint was that the restaurant was very overpriced for the quality and so we went out to the neighborhood restaurants which were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: More restaurants in the hotel- perhaps morning cafe/in- room coffee maker.
Location: Everything in walking distance- all tourist destinations, excellent shopping, restaurants, public transportation-trolleys, subway, etc. perfect locati
Great hotel/ very convenient location/ very attentive staff/ from arrival to departure- everything was excellent! Would definately stay again! Great stay !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Public Garden.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: This building is old but very clean and kept up. The room was kept tidy by the staff.
Location: Right off the public garden and Boston Common.
We got in late and need to eat. They directed us to a place open till 2 AM close by. Bell men were very helpful. The location was convenient to everywhere we went. Didn't need a car. it was near the subway, tour trolleys, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Within walking distance of so many things to do.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Liked being so close to the lovely park, Beacon Hill with its fine restaurants, and right next to shopping.
Cons: Wifi reception was not consistent.
Hotel staff was so helpful in giving us information on sightseeing, trains etc. We were in a lovely. Room that overlooked the park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful and Quiet Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The shower could be more powerful, maybe with an attachment if you need to do your hair.
Location: Near high end and high street clothes shops, restraurants, parks, metro stations and Beacon Hill.
Stayed at the Taj for a work trip. The kind staff, pretty decor and large, bright room all exceeded my expectations. I found my room to be a very cheerful sanctury after a busy working day. The natural light was excellent (very sunny), the air conditioning (in two speeds) was very powerful and the bed very comfortable, good, large TV. The shower in the marble decorated bathroom could have been more powerful but it was very adequate. The bathroom was very spacious with all the usual toiletries one would expect. Breakfast at the weekend was a la carte but with large portions in grand surroundings of The Cafe, i wasn't complaining. During the week, I opted to have the continental buffett breakfast on level 2, very good choice of fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, coffee, cold meats etc. Generally, I can't fault the place, it ticked all my boxes: very quiet, clean, opulant, safe area, discreet and polite staff. Also, it was close by all the major clothes shops, cafes, transport links, and restaurants. Beacon Hill was a short walk away and Boston Public Garden (a very pretty park) was across the road. Perfect, will stay here again if I return. A very postive experience.