Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and food

Posted Jan 17, 2017
This centrally located hotel has great food and attentive staff. I had a view of the park which was an upgrade. The bed was comfortable. The food in the cafe and room service were both outstanding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Grand old hotel that has seen Better days

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This ex-Ritz Carlton property looks great on the surface, but then it all gets a little disappointing. Just basic stuff like no coffee maker in the room... but you can have one if you explicitly ask for it. But how would you know? Net-net... great views of the common from a tired hotel P.S. My wife claims there were bed bugs... she got got bit bad
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Hotel needs a major update. Staff and location are fantastic. Fireplace is a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Mixed review - overall OK but room to improve

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Last stayed here in 1984 for our wedding night when it was the Ritz. Great history, location, and usually service. Always love breakfast here.
Cons: In general the staff was quite good but my review does indicate some areas which could be better.
Wonderful greeting from Lindsay the doorman. Arrived at front dest at 2:00 PM where a young woman informed me after her greeting that check in was at 3:00 PM and I should comeback then. I returned at 4:00 PM and new clerk Art informed me that a room was not yet ready and I could wait in the Bar. I asked if Art would comp 2 cocktails while we waited and he said yes. Moved into our suite which was lovely. Later we found the bedroom heat did not work would and called for engineering who came right away. asked if we'd like a space heater? Really? I said no and they moved us to another similar room with heat. Dinner in the restaurant was very good but the wait for the check after dinner was awkwardly long and I needed to ask for the check. Breakfast including gratuity was included in my package. I asked the waiter how this would be accomplished. His supervisor informed me that breakfast was not included. I asked him to check again as it was on my signed confirmation. He came back and said yes it was but gave me a dollar amount that was not listed on the confirmation. Enjoyed service and a delicious breakfast of Blueberry Pancakes, a Salmon Omelette, Juice and Coffee. When we attempted to check out the front desk clerk said the system was down and they could not print my bill. They asked for my email, which they already had, and asked if it could be emailed. I said yes and have still not yet received it. Five days past departure. Valet was prompt and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Staff are great. Billing, hotel systems not so.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Staff. Our suite was exactly what we wanted.
Cons: See above
Location: Excellent
The staff was knockout. Jack, Peter, Keaton in particular. thought we booked through hotel. Turned out to be Expedia and the booking was nit correct. Took me and my daughter literally hours to fix. Then even when everyone said it was fixed at checkout with limited time to get to airport early in the morning. Another nightmare with the same problem terrible. The hotel provided everything we needed. With exception of above and also when bar was busy service was horrible. Unobliging, slow, understaffed. William a bellman was also very helpful. So great staff. Some bad systems and some times insufficient staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Centrally located and elegant hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The reception desk staff and the housekeeping staff were friendly and professional. The room had an elegant old world feel about it and the amenities were a notch above most hotels. The hotel was centrally located so the we could easily get on the public transportation to get to the museums and the shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Back Bay

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Relaxed and friendly in great location. Poor service in dining room on two occasions during our last stay. Food in dining room is mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

First class, great location, very pet friendly!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Historic hotel with great charm. Staff is very accomodating and they are very pet friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was topened notch. Excellent service.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Staff was excellent. Top notch. Views of Boston Common were unbelievable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Location: Great location; close to activities to walk to.
a little too pretentious for my taste. no in-room coffee; must order room service. parking was $50/day every 24 hours. bathrobes are a great amenity - these weighed a ton and were about 10 sizes too big. bath products/amenities were way too scented. would have preferred some basic environmentally friendly products & ability to make a cup of coffee or tea in my room.