Ratings based on 2,507 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel and great location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: everything apart from museums is in walking distance, taxi ride is short and inexpensive to all of the museums and one can walk there on a good day
very enjoyable, beautiful parks right across the street
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are delighted to learn that everything about your stay was perfect! We appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darien Ct

Wonderful old world hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2017
We had a great time at the Taj. Great rooms and location. It is also dog friendly which was wonderful. The excercise room could use updating though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5/5 review, Bill. We're delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. It's wonderful that you enjoyed your room as well as our location. However, we apologize for the issue you experienced with our exercise room and we've addressed your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Kevin Kelleher Hotel Manager kevin.kelleher@tajhotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Very bad service

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Its proximity to the park and shopping streets.
Cons: Service, service, service
It was disappointing the service at breakfast in the restaurant. Lack of attention, no consideration for the guests, tableware missing, had to struggle to be served. Room service was the same or worst. Two occasions that we use it the first one was late to serve with incomplete tableware. The second time the order was incomplete and never came back to complete the order. We had to express our discomfort to the manager in order to be attended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Taj Boston is located in a fantastic area and is a very pleasant, clean hotel with excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review! It's fantastic you enjoyed our prime location and services so much. That's what we like to see! We look forward to sharing another excellent experience with you soon! Have a stellar day! Kevin Kelleher Hotel Manager kevin.kelleher@tajhotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful olde-worlde hotel with real charm.

Posted May 9, 2017
Fantastic hotel, great location, staff couldn't do enough for us, great restaurants/bar. Try and get a room overlooking the public gardens - such a beautiful view. A real cultural experience - something for everyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The worst hotel experience I have ever had

Posted May 5, 2017
Hotel glitch lost our booking even though they were expecting us. Wanted to move us to different hotel at 11pm! Finally accommodated us in a terrible room and moved us the next day, twice, after we rejected rooms that were in appalling condition. Tired hotel, no luxury, torn bathrobes, felt like a hostel with staff who lacked energy or service skills. Had our first night free as a result but when you are prepared to pay $850 a night are you really interested in the money? Will never stay at a Taj again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

The Taj Hotel is the best hotel in Boston

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location and the condition of the facilites.
Location: Walking distance to Newbury street shops, Copley Plaza and Prudential Center. Nice restaurants and coffee shops in the area.
The Taj Hotel is very well located, next to shops, restaurants and the Park. The hotel staff is very friendly. And they have an awesome Indian restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Perfect location for Boston Marathon

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: LOCATION!
Cons: Unfortunately, we were there during a period of construction next door to our room! We suffered two early mornings of construction noise.
Location: Across the street from the Public Garden and Boston Common. Walking distance to Freedom Trail, Cheers, and Boston Marathon Finish line.
Amazing location, great view, clean room, and a friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Fantastic Location and Amazing Views of Boston

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location.
Cons: Friendlier doormen.... but it IS Boston. (hahaha)
Location: There are a ton of great restaurants, wonderful and unique shops, the Boston Garden and near the theater district. The BEST location ever!!!
For some unknown reason, I was upgraded to a suite on the 11th floor overlooking the Boston Garden. WOW!! The view was spectacular. The room was large and comfortable. I didn't use any of the restaurants but the location was perfect (I had business a few blocks away) and the staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Old world luxury

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Very cheerful and respectful.
Cons: I'm a bit of a clean freak, and room (while by no means dirty) could use a more thorough deep clean.
Location: Boston's Public Garden & Common (Swan boats). Newbury Street and 1 block from Boyleston Street for shopping/restauants. Very walkable.
Overnight stay. Wonderful location across from Public Garden. Exquisite grande dame hotel (former Ritz Carleton). Other than spotty wifi - excellent stay. Working fireplace with complimentary firewood/lighting service 24 hours.