Ratings based on 2,200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Location! Location! Location!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Location was a big factor for us in deciding to stay here. It's a beautiful hotel - the 4 star rating definitely shows.
Cons: Better pillows, provide a coffee maker in each room, ceiling fan to circulate the a/c better in the room
Location: The location was perfect. T-stop (Arlington) steps away, located on Newbury/Arlington St.
We've been to Boston numerous times and this hotel is in a perfect location. The T stop is literally a few steps away which is very important to us when visiting Boston. The hotel is right across the street from the Public Garden. The bed was comfortable, but the feather pillows were not supportive. The air conditioner wasn't keeping the room cool enough for us - it's hard to sleep in a warm room (in July) and uncomfortable pillows. The room did not have a coffee maker which was a disappointment for my husband. The staff we encountered were very nice and extremely helpful. Based on location alone we would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Very nice accommodations and perfect location made for a great vacation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Fabulous Experience in Boston

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: I can't think of anything!
Location: Public Gardens, Boston Commons, Liberty Trail, easy access to everything
The Taj is a beautiful, luxury hotel right in the heart of Boston. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the Public Gardens. The entire staff was welcoming and extremely helpful. Special shout-out to James the Concierge, who went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. Will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Perfect everything...hotel...location...service

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The Taj Boston is an absolutely fantastic place to stay for leisure or business. The location is absolutely fantastic with easy access to restaurants and shopping. Staff are very friendly and professional. Food at The Cafe was great (a bit pricey though).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Back Bay, Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: location, morning coffee, newspaper delivered to door each morning, soaps and lotions, comfortable bed
Nice hotel in a perfect location to shops and restaurants. It is easy to walk to most of the tourist sites, across the street from City Park and Boston Commons. Also, it was very nice to have coffee and pastries set up for guests in the lobby each morning. The rooms are nice, comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Nice close to center of town and park

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pleasant hotel, rooms are elegant and cozy, very close to shopping and all the fun restaurants on Newberry Street
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Nice hotel across from Common & Newbury St dining

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Why merely stay in a hotel when you can have "an experience". Truly exceptional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel and GREAT location!

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to attractions, shopping restaurants, The Public Gardens....
Hotel was awesome! Some reviews I read complained about outdated décor and size of bathroom. YES the bathroom was small BUT how much time do you spend in the bathroom? It was very nice and spotless! The décor was NOT outdated, it was not modern but more of a classic, 5 STAR hotel décor. The staff was extremely helpful. I had the complimentary coffee in the morning, I used room service and I utilized the business center. The location was great as I walked to everything and anything I needed was close by. I have no complaints about anything. I would definitely stay at The Taj again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

A grand hotel

Posted May 25, 2016
This hotel has class. It is in the perfect location across from the park And minutes away from all the fabulous stores in Newberry Street. I love this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: maybe update the bathrooms, however, they were very clean
Location: walking distance to many great locations
excellent location! every staff we encountered were exceptionally pleasant. we felt very comfortable, and taken care of.