Ratings based on 2,429 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

An excellent hotel reminiscent of the old Raj days

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I loved the free shoe shine service. Great facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from caoe cod

Excellent staff!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet
Very accomadating staff. Hotel has old world charm, but the internet needs to be improved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Nice hotel, short walk to restaurants, park, shopp

Posted Feb 22, 2017
I always enjoy staying at the Taj Boston. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city and many of its rooms offer a beautiful view of the Public Gardens. The staff is always very friendly, personable and helpful. They have a nice exercise room that does not get too crowded and is kept clean. The only issue I've ever had here is the sinks getting clogged (two different stays) and the shower water pressure is a bit light.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with no parking lot and expensive valets

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Worst since it had no parking lot and can't access valets entrance. I had to find the public parking and walk down to hotel 10 min for in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bingham maine

It was absolutely amazing !

Posted Feb 16, 2017
It is a beautiful place ! People are amazing ! I will be staying there again ! Absolutely love it there !! Rooms are beautiful !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great place to stay in Boston!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Terrific hotel! Friendly and helpful staff! Room was clean and neat. Our go-to hotel when visiting Boston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Delightful Stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Close to Public Garden on Newbury Street in Boston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: clean, great & friendly staff
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect location, right across from Central park
We had a great experience and the staff was so helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inconsistencies at the Taj

Posted Feb 4, 2017
I've stayed twice recently before at the Taj. Each time I check it, it seems like a different hotel (which was in this case not a great thing). Last time, newspapers delivered to the door each morning; a breakfast room set up on the second floor. This time I was told there would be no newspapers (quote "we are changing with the times"- ironic when they aren't delivering the Times!). Instead they write some code on the keycard holder to read papers online (gee, thanks- I already know how to look online). But then mysteriously a paper appeared on Friday morning on the doorknob! And then I went down to the second floor for breakfast- a nice setup for those wanting a buffet. And there was nothing, and no sign. So back down to the main floor café, which was ok. And then there's the rooms- kind of stale decor, tiny bathroom this time, and the amenities had changed from nicer Molton Brown to more generic Gilchrist and Soames. Not sure what is up, but the management is not keeping on top of things. Check-in experience was also bad- there were issues about the rate, but the desk clerk was not very understanding about my confusion with the application Expedia's points. Oh well, I will probably try another hotel next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to shopping

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very nice staff. Great room and a super comfortable bed.