Ratings based on 980 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated in the Financial District

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Close to Gov't center T stop, north Boston and easy access to the airport, staff is incredibly helpful as well
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is excellent

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Room not ready on arrival, returned 2 hours later to be told still not ready! Next day out from 9-4pm when retuned room not serviced by housekeeping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate, NY

PERFECTION

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Check in to Check out, PERFECTION
Cons: n/a
Location: Theater district, walking distance from Emerson College, steps from a metro station. Access to everything.
Ames was located in a beautiful section of Boston, within walking distance from the theater district and Emerson College. The view from the 12th floor was spectacular. The beds were comfortable, and the pillows were the perfect balance of sinky and firm! The bathroom was spacious and supplied with great smelling soaps/shampoos/conditioners and more. The big marble tub was fantastic, and the showerhead was decadent. The concierge was helpful, and the hostess was friendly. The beautiful renovated building was a privilege to spend a night in while visiting Boston. No complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Wheeling, WV

Nice hotel in the heart of old Boston

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the towel warmer in the bathroom. It was so nice to get out of the shower and have a hot towel. Also, the bed and pillows are comfortable.
Cons: I wish breakfast was free every morning. The complimentary breakfast was only one day. The breakfast is $18 itself,
Location: It is right in the center of old town Boston. Everything is beautiful and there are so many places to ss and lots of places to eat.
The hotel as a whole was very nice. The rooms were just the right size if you don't plan on being in them very much. The hotel was also very quiet and the staff are uber nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Better than expected

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location. Comfortable rooms, modern bathrooms, everything works accordingly and staff pleasant.
Cons: Needs to get restaurant and a bar open.
Location: Its downtown you are close to everything.
Great location, good price, met all my needs and then some. Went for a concert at TD stadium easy walking distance and very close to Old North End.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unbearable location

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Everything is great except for the noise from passing T. But it's manageable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Small room, well situated, quiet, low key. We were offered complumentary breakfast which was simple but good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Patricia Berry, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Too long without a restaurant

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Location is great.
Cons: Restaurant!
I've been staying at the Ames a few times a year for work since 2012. When the ownership changed, I was not surprised that the restaurant and room service were out of commission for a period of time. But I can't tell you how many times over the last few years I've been told that "the restaurant is opening soon," only to find out the next visit 3-6 months later that it's still closed. Once it did open briefly, but every item I tried to order was not in stock; no surprise that on my next return, it was closed again. I am in Boston for work, and room service would be so much more convenient than finding a place to eat (alone) every night. Ames used to be my favorite hotel -- very convenient, clean, and awhile back they had very good free breakfast. It's still convenient and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Patricia Berry, Hotel Management
We appreciate you business and loyalty over the years S. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please know that we understand how much the restaurant and room service would improve your stays. That being said, Cultivar, the new restaurant and bar are currently closing in on completion and will be open shortly. Thank you for your patience. We do hope you will visit us again and try them out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wakefield, MA

Stayed for a night for a Christmas party nearby

Posted Jan 12, 2017
The hotel was gorgeous and the location is awesome. I was a little taken aback by the morning staff at the front desk. I called to ask what time check out was at, and was promptly hung up on. Aside from that minor hiccup, the stay was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Patricia Berry, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us Phil. We hope that you enjoyed your Christmas party. Please accept our apologies for the interaction with our front desk. Our team works hard to provide exceptional interactions with our guests and we will work with them to understand what could have caused your experience. Thank you for letting us know.
5 out of 5
by Timothy

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
We've stayed at the Ames 3+ times. Love the rooms, views and looking forward to its near restaurant and lounge !
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your loyalty Timothy! We appreciate being your go to hotel in Boston and can't agree more, the view is amazing. Cultivar will be ready to welcome guests soon; we are excited too!