Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

We loved this style of hotel.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Cons: Open breakfast just a bit earlier.
Great location. Downtown and close to the Common and the train stations. We loved the style and the rooms. I would return!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Quaint and perfectly located

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Almost everything: comfortable bed, perfect location, quiet neighborhood, nearby shops and restaurants, access to public transportation, great staff.
Cons: I had to share a bath, but I knew that when I booked the place, and it really wasn't anything more than a minor inconvenience.
Location: Restaurants, shops, public transportation, historical points of interest. Just about anything you'd want from a visit to Boston.
I really like this place. It's close to public transportation, which is terrific in Boston - you can get anywhere cheaply and quickly. It's in a quiet neighborhood with interesting shops and restaurants easily accessible by foot in just minutes. The ambiance was amazing; it was like having a guest room in a Revolution-era museum. When I come back to Boston (soon, I hope), this will be the first place I look for a room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 12, 2016
The location of the hotel was excellent. I had a shared bath and a twin size bed. The bed seemed smaller than a twin size and was very uncomfortable. It was like sleeping on a rock. I would recommend if your tall then you opt for something with a full size or even queen bed. The bathroom was very clean. Overall nice place but I would stay somewhere else unless if they had a bigger bed available.
4 out of 5
by Timothy from Raleigh, NC

College Club of Boston

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
There for weekend moving my son out of college. Needed a place to stay while there. This was a nice clean place. Hotel staff was helpful and nice. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from San Diego

Liked it very much

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed one night - got in late and left very early. The room was fantastic but I love old fashioned places. Bay window, high ceilings. Friendly staff but this is more of a "your-on-your-own" solution for value or if you are looking for an alternative to a standard hotel. Quiet neighborhood. Had everything I needed and the price was good. Lovely floors, pretty oriental rugs. Comfortable, faded, elegance. If you don't like thin walls or old fashioned surroundings, this is not for you.
3 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

convenient, easy stay

Posted Apr 17, 2016
just touring Boston for a couple of days - my stay was super easy, convenient for walking and for closeness of public transportation; lovely room; so nice to have a 'day room' in which to wait for my ride, after my check-out time; pleasant staff -- perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location. Close to Newbury St, Boston Common

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Proximity to central sites. Clean, friendly staff.
Location: Close to everything. Shopping, parks, sites
Very nice friendly place. My room and single bed was very small but I knew that going in so I can't fault the facility. My floor had a shared bathroom which was kept clean and always available so no issues. Quiet and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: A little be more hospitality, basic stuff, like being kind and friendly, would go a long way. I recommend arriving during regular office hours.
Location: Can't beat the location. Walking distance to many many places.
Housekeeping is excellent, but, as this is not a "hotel," not surprisingly service staff is largely non-existent. In one case, I asked a question about food services and was questioned back as to whether I was a paying guest! In another, I was chastised for having failed to read and absorb the very long winded instructions pertaining to checking in. And whatever you do, after regular office hours, don't lock yourself out if you don't have a charged cell phone in hand. You will be hard pressed to get back into your room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vermont

A gem

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Historic club founded in 1890 by women wanting a place for 'socializing and educating' within a few blocks of the Boston Common on tree lined Commonwealth Ave in Back Bay--and very inexpensive compared to the surrounding (boring big-box) chain hotels. A treasure!